PDA

View Full Version : A complete Linux Guide Needed

Beretta
04-04-2004, 04:20 PM
I have been browsing the forums for about 8-9 hours and have only found old guides that arent very helpful, yet I have also found only bits and pieces of different tips and tricks. I am asking that a skilled linux participant create a complete noob guide to installing a server on Linux.

I am running Fedora Core 1, which ive been told is Red Hat 9.2 but im not sure.

I would love to host a dedicated server, have nothing but time to make accurate databases, creating new and diverse items, etc. but . . . i am having the hardest problem running this under linux. I have gotten a server to work under Windows XP . . that was uber easy thanks to the step by step noobs guide. However, as many of you know, windows takes up BOATLOADS more memory just to stay running, then linux usually ever needs, hence the linux server would run faster, creating better gameplay for all.

I hope no-one gets aggrevated by this post, but i do feel this is needed.

Thank you for your time

Beretta

smogo
04-04-2004, 04:59 PM
this is not an attempt to write such guide at once, just a few hints :

- getting the thing run under linux isn't much more complicated than under win
- if you got it running under win, you've been through most trouble that can happen on any system, so 90% work will be piece of cake for you

Now, the steps...

you need same services available as win :
- mysql database (can be hosted on a remote win or nix machine, for a start, if you don't want to fiddle with this for now)
- perl installed if to use the perl quest variant. This can be done through your distro menus. After that you have to install IO::Scalar, just like in windoze
- minilogin to run LAN. It can be run in linux, using wine, but still you may think this is a bit complexity for a start, so i recommend running it on a seperate win box, or use public EQEMu login servers