PDA

View Full Version : New, Improved PEQ Database Editor available (beta)


mystic414
04-04-2005, 06:47 PM
Information about the official PEQ Database Editor has a new home over on the ProjectEQ Forums at http://www.projecteq.net/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=29.

I posted a guide to installing Apache/PHP on Windows, as well as an Installation Guide for the Editor itself. Hopefully that will help out anyone who wasn't able to use the editor because they didn't know how to set things up.

Please check it out, and post any comments/suggestions/bugs with the editor over there, where it will be easier to keep track of.

For everyone's convenience, I still plan to post here about significant upgrades to the editor, but let's use the other forum for discussion of anything else editor-related.

Thanks!

sirreality
04-04-2005, 06:55 PM
Very well done! This tool really makes it easy to dig into the database and make changes and customize things. It's also nice to get a better view of things from the database and their interactions, like faction is so much easier to understand through this tool, just the presentation of information alone is worth a look!

Thanks, keep up the good work!

Belfedia
04-05-2005, 10:37 AM
Just need to add Config.ini in archive , because Peq_backend.php don't work and default login and pass is huge backdoor :p i want make some user login and pass :)
How i can change admin login and password ?

This editor is wonderfull, i can win many time in my db editing :) Many many many thanks to you :)

mystic414
04-06-2005, 07:28 AM
Sorry, the .zip file had an old version of peq_backend.php in it. It's been fixed if you want to redownload it. Otherwise, just change line 7 of your peq_backend.php from config.ini to config.php, and that will fix the problem.

The default login/pass is there for convenience for those who only use the editor on their local computer (not over the internet). If you don't want it there, just edit config.php and change

$login_name = 'admin';
$login_pw = 'password';

to

$login_name = '';
$login_pw = '';
peq_backend.php will let you remove the default login to the editor and add a different one.

Belfedia
04-07-2005, 12:08 AM
That work fine, many thanks :)

KhaN
04-13-2005, 10:55 PM
Nice job mystic414.
Personally, i would have prefer all of this in C++, but all know i like to complain.

I hope you will continu to work and improve it.

bushman77
04-14-2005, 07:39 AM
ok i've setup webserver and php now when i try to run peq_editor.php in browser i get the following errer

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING, expecting ',' or ';' in g:\Archive\Brads\peq\peq_editor.php on line 448

if i am correct this is the line corrosponding to the error
<td colspan=\"2\" align=\"center\"><br><div class=\"table\"><a href=\"peq_editor.php?guest=login\">Click here to login as a guest</a></div></td>

mystic414
04-15-2005, 07:43 AM
KhaN: Don't know C++, but the editor's open-source so feel free to do what you want with it :P

bushman77: I don't know what that error is complaining about. But, please try replacing line 448 with:

<td colspan=\"2\" align=\"center\"><br><a href=\"peq_editor.php?guest=login\">Click here to login as a guest</a></td>
and let me know if that gets rid of the error.

Thanks for the feedback, all!

sirreality
04-17-2005, 12:45 PM
Any time i create, edit, delete, or otherwise alter a tradeskill recipe via the tradeskills page, i get the following error (this one is after creating a new tradeskill):

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at d:\htdocs\peqeditor\header2.php:7) in d:\htdocs\peqeditor\peq_lib\tradeskill.php on line 746

I googled the error and most of the things i found said it could be due to something simple, like an extra space or newline around the <? and ?> tags, so i removed any instances of this condition, but that didn't help.

The error occurs in every function for tradeskills in the call to header(). I tried a few things, but I'm not getting anywhere. Has anyone else experienced this error?

EDIT - This problem has been resolved in the current release of peq editor. Please disregard.

thanks

Sakrateri
04-20-2005, 10:31 PM
hey , sorry to bother but I have apache installed no prob but when I go to install PhP it says "Error trying to access the local web service:GetObject Failed, You will need to configure IIS via the mangment console" Well I dont know what that means nor can I find any managment console to even try to fix it lol, When i go to look at the peq_editor.PhP file in firefox browser its just a jumble of words , guess its not showing my PHP . So what do i need to do here?

mystic414
04-21-2005, 03:58 AM
Sakrateri: Uninstall PHP from Add/Remove Programs in the Control Panel. Then reinstall it, and when it asks you what http server you have installed make sure to select Apache (IIS is selected by default I believe).

Once that's done, edit your httpd.conf file for the Apache server and add the following lines anyplace in the file (just change "c:/php/" in the following code to where you told it to install PHP):

# PHP stuff
ScriptAlias /php/ "c:/php/"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php
Action application/x-httpd-php "/php/php.exe"
Hope this helps

Sakrateri
04-21-2005, 04:37 AM
Ok , thanks alot Mystic. I will try that soon as I get home today.

Sakrateri
04-21-2005, 09:43 AM
Ok i did that , have the same thing , Whats a public HTML directory? mabey thats the problem?


If i click on header2 a screen comes up that looks nice, like a web page , and has some links on the side like faction , looteditor and such and i can click them but then it says the file /c:/peq_editor.php?action=18$url\cannot be found. please check the location and try again.

but if i click peq_editor.php it just looks like a note pad of jumbled stuff

mystic414
04-21-2005, 02:20 PM
1. Search your httpd.conf for "DocumentRoot". That is the directory out of which Apache will serve your web files. You need to put all the files for the editor in there.

2. Make sure Apache is running (should be a shortcut somewhere in your start menu that says something like "start Apache in console").

3. Open your browser and type "localhost/peq_editor.php" in the address bar. That should be all you need to do if you sourced the sql files into your database and edited config.php properly.

Sakrateri
04-21-2005, 09:47 PM
Ok Im sorry, I did that and when I type that in the address bar I get

The requested URL /php/php.exe/serverstatus.php was not found on this server.
and then under that it says: Apache/2.0.54 (Win32) Server at localhost Port 80

appriciate the help , this looks like a great thing to have , soon as I can get it working.

UPDATE: Ok , there was no application named php.exe, it was php-cgi.exe , I renamed it to php.exe and now i am getting this when I type in the address bar what you said to put

Fatal error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\peq_lib\database.php on line 8

This is what is on line 8 of that file

$link = mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass);

Im not sure what the prob is there though now ?

Belfedia
04-21-2005, 11:19 PM
I found many tutorials with my search button engine (google) :p

http://www.webmasterstop.com/48.html
http://internetmaster.com/installtutorial/
http://www.thesitewizard.com/archive/php4install.shtml

Hope with this link you have all explain about apache/mysql/php install and configuration for use Peq editor :)

mystic414
04-22-2005, 08:09 AM
Thanks for those links, Belfedia!

Sakrateri: Try running through those tutorials. Hopefully they will get you going. Also, you can try reading through the README.txt or install.txt files for apache and php and they should help too (I hadn't installed PHP on Windows before, but the install.txt file from php was enough to get me up and running. Check it out).

Sakrateri
04-22-2005, 09:23 AM
Ok , thanks alot both of you . More stuff to learn cheers :)

I have learned how to use more programs and apps in the time I have been running an EMU server then I think I have learned my entire life lol

mystic414
04-26-2005, 07:32 AM
I edited the first post to this thread with a link to the PEQ Editor's new home on the ProjectEQ Forums: http://www.projecteq.net/phpBB2/viewforum.php?f=29

I'll still post here about significant upgrades to the editor, but any other discussion should take place over there where it will be easier to keep track of.

I've been getting a lot of positive feedback about the editor, so if you've not tried it out yet, please do so! Also, I wrote up a new Windows Apache/PHP Installation Guide over there as well, for those of you who might have had trouble with that.

Any moderators want to sticky this thread? :)

duke_nemmerle
06-27-2005, 04:05 PM
Ok Im sorry, I did that and when I type that in the address bar I get

The requested URL /php/php.exe/serverstatus.php was not found on this server.
and then under that it says: Apache/2.0.54 (Win32) Server at localhost Port 80

appriciate the help , this looks like a great thing to have , soon as I can get it working.

UPDATE: Ok , there was no application named php.exe, it was php-cgi.exe , I renamed it to php.exe and now i am getting this when I type in the address bar what you said to put

Fatal error: Call to undefined function mysql_connect() in C:\Program Files\Apache Group\Apache2\htdocs\peq_lib\database.php on line 8

This is what is on line 8 of that file

$link = mysql_connect($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpass);

Im not sure what the prob is there though now ?

You've probably already figured this out, but you've helped me a lot without knowing it. In most installs of php for win you have to enable mysql in a manual install try out http://www.php.net/mysql for details on doing this. It's fairly painless and worth it as this is an awesome tool

t7x53
01-22-2006, 07:12 PM
wrong place!