PDA

View Full Version : Using Gmax for better zones and objects.

Eredhel
05-25-2005, 06:58 PM
Well I'm completely new to everything but decided to give it a shot! I went through the OZ basic tutorial and then tinkered around on my own for a bit. I realised I might be be able to do something after all, so I started reading up a little bit.

I noticed gmax was suggested to get better meshes and textures so I started there. I was hoping someone could throw out some links, guides, anything for someone like myself. I'm good at burning through message boards and learning as I go, but this is an area where I will have to start from scratch. So any nudges in the right direction will be very helpful.

Anyway, I'm going to start trying to figure out how to use gmax so I can go from there. I'm off to dig in their forums.

Eredhel

Edit: The official gmax tutorials seem to be very helpful, and well worded. I could easily spend some time with this program I think. Would anyone suggest a different program? Or is Gmax more than good enough?

GeorgeS
05-26-2005, 11:51 AM
although I tried gmax in the past, I decided on using truespace as my main editor. I have 3dstudio 3.x and use it rather sparingly.

I do not know to what extent one can create a zone in (g)max - although I wager to say it's likely that's how the 'real' ones were made.

So far I have managed to import the Arena zone into OZ and export that as a S3D for preview. So I guess it's doable. Things like terrains need to be under a specific poly count as well.

I'm creating objects for zones now and should have several 100's for people to try mess with.

Later
George

KhaN
05-26-2005, 03:07 PM
Hello,

In my tutorial, GMax is suggested for 2 reasons
- Gmax use 3DSMax engine, and is very smilar to it
- Its Free.