PDA

View Full Version : How to setup a 0.6.1 DR1 Server for internet play.

Kikaro
09-06-2005, 06:20 PM
When I set up my server I used like 3 or 4 guides and sort of tweaked things here and there. So this is everything I did to get a working server.

**Note** this will set up a 0.6.1 DR1 server. If you are patched to live, you will not be able to play on it. Do not ask me how to patch to 0.6.1 because I will not tell you. Do some searching and you might find a way...

In theory this guide will work with any version you want, just select a different version or EQEmu and choose a matching database. Dont ask me though if you have problems, i am focusing on 0.6.1 DR1.

I am writing this guide in simple terms so that most can understand it. Its a pretty easy process, even to me, and i have no experience with some of this stuff. This guide is for setting up lan and online play so others can access your server. I had absolutly no problems following these steps and I think most people can figure it out.

If you do have problems I wil ltry to help, but it might be a better idea to ask in general support for some issues. I am not the smartest guy when it comes to this I am simply showing you what I did to make it work.

First download and install these.

http://dev.mysql.com/get/Downloads/MySQL-4.0/mysql-4.0.24-win.zip/from/pick#mirrors

I suggest installing MySql to C:\mysql

http://downloads.activestate.com/ActivePerl/Windows/5.8/ActivePerl-5.8.7.813-MSWin32-x86-148120.msi

It doesnt matter where this is installed so go wild. I dont seem to use this so I honestly dont know what it is for. I just installed it because a couple guides said so. So go for it.

Now, once they are installed, go to Start\Programs\Perl\Perl Package Manager

This will bering up a command promt window, type the following:

Install BDI
Hit Enter and wait for it to finish.

Now type:
Install BDB-Mysql
Press enter and again wait for it to finish

Last, type:
Install IO-stringy