PDA

View Full Version : Return of Sharedmemory error


Belfedia
09-16-2005, 01:58 AM
Some problems with my debian 0.6.2 install

First start of world :

[Status] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_world.log
[Status] Using database 'eq1' at localhost
[Status] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.6.2-DR1
[Status] Loading opcodes..
[Status] libEMuShareMem.so loaded
SharedMemory->datasize(0) != iSize(131852), We can rebuild him faster better STRONGER!
Or not.. restart all servers on this machine
./worldstart: line 3: 2501 Segmentation fault ./world

i use this start script :
#!/bin/sh
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:.
./world


If i restart script no more problem but !!!
Zone can't start, after emusharem loading i have segmentation errors :(
But if i start zone.Exe on windows, i can connect to linux world lol

I think it was a emusharemem problem but i don't find which ???

cavedude
09-16-2005, 05:14 AM
You and I are having similar problems, my man. I'm trying to get the binaires up on my FC4 box so I can transfer them over to a dedicated server so users can test out our work for the server pack. I had the shared memory error a few times, but like you after a script restart it doesn't come back. My big problem though is libEMuShareMem.so doesn't load for world. I don't get any errors which makes troubleshooting tough it just never finishes loading. Zone comes up fine, but obviously it can't connect to world. The problem I know is in the library but where is what got me. I had to make some changes to the code just to get it to compile and I thought I broke something but I think there is something non-linux friendly in the code somewhere. I'm going to continue to work on it when I get home from work. I'll share any info I compile with you when I do.

Belfedia
09-16-2005, 02:28 PM
I read some old post with the same errors on this bug for old eqemu version,
but my mind don't understand how the problem can be handle :(

Belfedia
09-17-2005, 02:43 AM
That not a world issue i think, because i have two computer
One on linux and one on windows...
World on linux
Zones on Windows that work !
World on Windows
Zones on linux that not work !
and also always the emusharemem error with zone on linux.
Perhaps an emusharemem error ?

This old fix from doodman don't work with this issue :
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/showthread.php?t=14366&highlight=isize

fathernitwit
09-17-2005, 03:27 AM
you need to ensure that you are running cleanipc after you shut things down... and using ipcs to ensure that all shared mem segments are gone. If anything windows should be broken, both me and doodman use linux and so does the PEQ server... trust me, it works.

Belfedia
09-17-2005, 12:47 PM
Ok i show mem segment broken with ipcs command (0).
I remove it with ipcrm -m shmid.
But World start make same error at the first start :(
and zone don't start (4067 segmentation fault).
Cleanipc is a command ? or i make right ?
No more i find cleanipc.cpp and i compil it :)
But after use cleanipc.
I have SAME error on first world run.
I have SAME segmentation error on zone run.
That's make me mad lol.

Belfedia
09-18-2005, 10:31 AM
OK ! that more clear ? or not lol
I use now cleanipc (compiled with G++ cleanipc.cpp -o cleanipc).

World start first time with sharemem Isize error. Second time it work.
with Spell_us.txt size :4276 ko
i have zone working without segmentation error
when i log my char -> segmentation error crash zone
with Spell_us.txt size : 4771 ko
Zone crash at start -> quest compiling and segmentation error
(see http://eqfroggy.ath.cx/download/Zone_log.txt )
the two spell_us.txt come before 09/13/2005 patch and working with windows release.
I hope this tests help for explain what is wrong ?

gwerrae
09-19-2005, 09:42 AM
Nitwit

Care to share the setup of your linux box where you run eqemu ?

mainly :
Distribution
Kernel (even config file)
GCC version
GLIBC Version

and anything you find relevant

cavedude
09-19-2005, 02:49 PM
I know this doesn't help anybody else but I just wanted to let you know about my solution. About a month ago my system started crashing while playing games or doing heavy video/audio encoding. Memory tested OK so I disabled my L2 cache. My system hadn't crashed since and I saw no speed decrease at all including source code compiles so I had forgotten about it. I was doing some work on the installer and realized MySQL was sourcing very slowly, I then realized I had disabled my L2. Booted to BIOS, re-enabled it and MySQL's speed went back to normal. I started the server script and sure enough, it came up without a hitch. Sorry I couldn't help out.

gwerrae
09-19-2005, 11:14 PM
The segfault only occurs after a fresh boot, once one world has been executed, no other world will segfault.

You can find a trace of the first launch here :
http://www.kabalo.org/download/trace.zip

the trace was obtained with "strace ./world 2> trace"

After the first launch, here is the ipcs :

maz@Froggy:~/server-0.6.2$ ipcs

------ Shared Memory Segments --------
key shmid owner perms bytes nattch status

------ Semaphore Arrays --------
key semid owner perms nsems
0x4f01ce17 0 maz 666 1

------ Message Queues --------
key msqid owner perms used-bytes messages

So, only a semaphore, no memory. If I run cleanipc, it is deleted.

If I then launch wold (it qworks, I have no semaphore, and some memory :

maz@Froggy:~$ ipcs

------ Shared Memory Segments --------
key shmid owner perms bytes nattch status
0x4f01ce17 32768 maz 600 131860 1
0x4901ce17 65537 maz 600 23621072 1
0x5a01ce17 98306 maz 600 18249725 1
0x4701ce17 131075 maz 600 96012 1

------ Semaphore Arrays --------
key semid owner perms nsems

------ Message Queues --------
key msqid owner perms used-bytes messages

If I stop world (Ctrl-c), and run cleanipc, there is some memory left :

maz@Froggy:~$ ipcs

------ Shared Memory Segments --------
key shmid owner perms bytes nattch status
0x4701ce17 131075 maz 600 96012 0

------ Semaphore Arrays --------
key semid owner perms nsems

------ Message Queues --------
key msqid owner perms used-bytes messages

Belfedia
09-20-2005, 08:05 PM
I'm trying to work on woody debian and Eqemu works !!!
i have some strange problems with connection only :
Zoneserver SetConnectInfo: 192.168.0.1:32980: eqfroggy.ath.cx:6992
192.168.0.1:32970: TCPConnection::RecvData(): Connection timeout
Removing zoneserver from ip:0.0.0.0 port:0 (eqfroggy.ath.cx:6991)
Hold Zones mode is ON - rebooting lost zone
192.168.0.1:32980: TCPConnection::RecvData(): Connection timeout
Removing zoneserver from ip:0.0.0.0 port:0 (eqfroggy.ath.cx:6992)
Hold Zones mode is ON - rebooting lost zone
192.168.0.1:32979: TCPConnection::RecvData(): Connection timeout
Removing zoneserver from ip:0.0.0.0 port:0 (eqfroggy.ath.cx:6991)
Hold Zones mode is ON - rebooting lost zone
192.168.0.1:32977: TCPConnection::RecvData(): Connection timeout
Removing zoneserver from ip:0.0.0.0 port:0 (eqfroggy.ath.cx:6993)
Hold Zones mode is ON - rebooting lost zone
192.168.0.1:32978: TCPConnection::RecvData(): Connection timeout
Removing zoneserver from ip:0.0.0.0 port:0 (eqfroggy.ath.cx:6994)
Hold Zones mode is ON - rebooting lost zone
192.168.0.1:32976: TCPConnection::RecvData(): Connection timeout
Removing zoneserver from ip:0.0.0.0 port:0 (eqfroggy.ath.cx:6990)
Hold Zones mode is ON - rebooting lost zone

and zone don't restart but i can connect to server.

Perhaps debian sarge with core 2.6 have problem ?

Belfedia
09-20-2005, 09:43 PM
Ok i don't know why, but

I compil Zone, world and Emusharemem on a Debian woody
Emulator working :)
I copy same zone, world and Emusharemem on a Debian sarge
Emulator working :)

I think something is break when i compil emulator on my debian sarge, perhaps my install, or other things, i don't know but now froggy work on linux :)

thanks to all for help & advice :)

Dakaar
09-22-2005, 09:49 PM
I think im basically screwed running FC3 =(

Belfedia
09-22-2005, 11:44 PM
I'm not linux expert, i know only debian, not FC3, but Fathernitwit say right when he say source is functionnal on linux. Need to adapt your linux i think, but i can't help for that :(
Have you use this ? : http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=LinuxServer
that thelp me a lot.

cavedude
09-23-2005, 01:03 AM
Nah, I'm on FC4 and my server is (now) running beautifully. FC3 isn't that much different so you're not screwed. You just have to have a little patience.

Dakaar
09-23-2005, 05:47 AM
Nah, I'm on FC4 and my server is (now) running beautifully. FC3 isn't that much different so you're not screwed. You just have to have a little patience.

Care to give me some hints I resolved almost every single warning in the code and all that are relevant to where im crashing =P

Belfedia
09-23-2005, 08:12 PM
For my version on debian sarge , i thave strange thing who stick hehe
When i start server on linux box :
#!/bin/sh
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:.
./world

#!/bin/sh
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:.
./zone . server.eqfroggy.ath.cx 6990 192.168.0.1 &
./zone . server.eqfroggy.ath.cx 6991 192.168.0.1 &
./zone . server.eqfroggy.ath.cx 6992 192.168.0.1 &
./zone . server.eqfroggy.ath.cx 6993 192.168.0.1 &
./zone . server.eqfroggy.ath.cx 6994 192.168.0.1 &

i have some segmentation error, and i lost some zone exe

When i start it with Putty on my windows computer, that work fine
i supose my starting scripts are'nt perfect :p

Belfedia
09-29-2005, 06:26 PM
No more error since CVS was update, all source is fine, i can compile it and use without error now :) thanks !