PDA

View Full Version : Trying to fix up my first quest....

Hamarabi
05-09-2006, 07:15 PM
I posted earlier with regard to a typo in Dargon McPherson's "deliver an elixir to young warriors" quest and it seems there is more wrong with this quest than first appeared. I appologize for starting another thread, but I didn't think my request for help would be noticed with the other post's topic.

After I gave Kylan ODanos the note, I went over to Dargon McPherson and got the elixir quest, so I could work on faction. I proceeded to Everfrost to do my first turn-in to Talin ODonal and when I gave him the elixir, nothing happened. So, I set out to try to fix my first quest and I need a little guidance, if anyone is willing. I am not a programmer, but I am willing to learn, just like everyone else.

With that in mind, could you please take a look at what I have toward's the bottom of this post and give me some advice as to why this turn-in does not work?

Looking at the original code, it is obvious why the turn-in doesn't work. Talin wasn't programmed to accept anything or do anything else except say "Brrrrrr!! Grr.. Grreetings. It is freezing out here!!"

Original Code Was:
sub EVENT_SAY {
if($text=~/Hail/i){
quest::say("Brrrrrr!! Grr.. Grreetings. It is freezing out here!!"); }
}
#END of FILE Zone:everfrost ID:4881 -- Talin_ODonal

I took a look at the example quests on this page : http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=QuestSimpleExamples

The bone chip turn-in seemed like the perfect example, but it did not work as planned. I just cut and pasted the example and edited to suit the quest. I changed the Itemcount, faction, and summonitem variables, with information I gathered about the quest.