PDA

View Full Version : want to learn stuff useful for making emulators

redwing26
08-24-2006, 11:51 AM
Hi I have programmed for 5 years reasnably intense, Im still a newbie but Im am 3/4 of the way through a crappy pong clone using sdl and visual studio 6. I have also done an hnd in software development and have used c,c++,visual basic,mysql,php and java as well as some other languages.

Once again I stress that I am still learning and new , I have also done some linux assembly language using tasm.

Getting to my question now but I was reading a thread on this site and I noticed one of the admins get a little annoyed because of someones attitude and they started briefly saying some of the stuff they now deal with :-)........well you folks know your stuff I will say that!

Anyway I want to get into the reverse engineering side of things with stuff I own e.g assembly and knowing how to manipulate packets and such.

Now I know that this is NOT in the least bit easy and that it takes alot of time, effort and studying but I was wandering how did people start out who are caable at assembly and packet manipulation? Could they reccomend any good sites for learning stuff that I can actually apply to what Im trying to achieve. I have went to various supposed hacking help groups which I thought would have people there who were into there coding and helping others but all I found were dead links to sites, people who seemed like little kids , and people more interested in critisising the format of a post than actually divulging any information conjucive to learning.

Any help/guidance from any of you gurus out there is much appreciated

Thanks guys
David

sdabbs65
08-25-2006, 01:50 AM
Anyway I want to get into the reverse engineering side of things with stuff I own e.g assembly and knowing how to manipulate packets and such.

Any help/guidance from any of you gurus out there is much appreciated

Thanks guys
David