PDA

View Full Version : What IP's Go Where?

Creylin
09-30-2006, 09:40 AM
Well, dispite my complete newbism, I think I'm getting close to having a private server using MiniLogin up and running. However, I'm having a problem.

It looks like the server is coming up, and my MiniLogin console is saying not only that they server is connecting, but also the client. I do get a TCPConnection::RecvData(): Connection timeout every now and then. That a worry?

Anyway, dispite the New client connection message on the MiniLogin console, whenever I get to my server select screen, I don't see any server's listed.

I don't know what's wrong, however, if I can keep all these IP's straight, I might be able to figure it out.

First, in the MiniLogin LoginServer.ini, there are 2 IP's to be set:
loginserver=<IP>
worldaddress=<IP>

Are both of these the router IP, or the machine IP (ifconfig)? I assumed router IP.

Secondly, in the eqemu_config.xml, there's 3 IP's to be set:
<address>IP</address>
<localaddress>IP</localaddress>

<loginserver>
<host>IP</host>
<port>5999</port>
</loginserver>

For address and host, I went router IP. For localaddress, I went machine IP.

Finally, there's the minilogin_ip you place in the accounts table. The MiniLogin setup said to use the IP that showed up on the console when the client connected, so I used the router IP since that's what was showing up.

Did I get those right? Could that be my problem or am I looking in the wrong place?

Any help would be appreciated, even if it's, "You moron! Didn't you see this post??!!" I did some searching, but I always seem to miss it when I'm sure I've looked everywhere. Same thing happens with the car keys and TV remote. Wife thinks I'm blind.

Thanks,
Crey

John Adams
09-30-2006, 06:36 PM
Try the WIKI - there are a few new "guides" up for Windows and Linux that might be helpful. I think the Linux guide is still a work in progress, but there are older ones that should still apply.

Creylin
10-01-2006, 12:43 AM