PDA

View Full Version : Basic server setup questions

cbodmer
10-25-2006, 11:49 PM
Hi all,

I've been playing around with a local eqemu (0.7.0) server for a few days. I was wondering if some of you could shed some light on these questions:

- What does the server variable "PersistentZoneState" actually do when set to 1?

- What does the server variable "disablecommandline" do? I am not understanding the cryptic description for this variable.

- What's the practical difference between running zones dynamically or statically? Are mobs being moved, corpses timeoutted etc. in static zones even if no player is in it?

- What kind/types of zones are best loaded statically and which zones are best served dynamically? I am looking for opinions here.

Thanks!
-Chris

John Adams
10-26-2006, 05:29 AM
I am no expert, but I'll give this a shot.

- What does the server variable "PersistentZoneState" actually do when set to 1?
My best understanding is that this is like hibernating Windows XP - saves the current state of NPCs, spawns, positions, everything, when you properly DOWN a zone - so when you bring it back up, it's in the same state as before (you do not need to re-spawn the mob you fought for). I have never tried this...

- What does the server variable "disablecommandline" do? I am not understanding the cryptic description for this variable.
In net.cpp, this variable appears to be checked to allow you to do a few things ?at the command prompt of the world server dialog? (not sure):
Worldserver command line commands:
adduser username password flag - adds a user account
flag username flag - sets GM flag on the account
startzone zoneshortname - sets the starting zone
-holdzones - reboots lost zones
As for exactly what they do, or how to use them, I am not clear. I thought you could type in the WORLD.exe box, but maybe it's something non-Windows?