PDA

View Full Version : editing database files

cylocke
03-07-2007, 04:47 AM
Let me first say this before I get nuked into oblivion

I'm a complete novice at this, learning this very slowly
I'm tried to follow the instructions for the PEQ database editor but haven't gotten anywhere with it.
I'm using an AX database this much I've already figure out.
I'm trying first to set up starting zones and correct some starting items
I can see the database files
.frm
.myd
.myi
with the peticulars to what I need to edit, there's a file for starting items, starting zones ect.
I can't open them.
at present I lack the appropriate software to do this.
I'm probably asking questions that have undoubtedly been asked a billion times, but how are these things done.
I've skimmed over the forums looking for this information but none of it makes much sense to me right now, like I said, still learning how so alot of the terminology makes little to no sense to me.

I have cavedude's server installation, it's set to use AX database and mysql version 4.0.26 is installed (as well as a myriad of other program tools to edit things like tradeskills, quests items ect ect) but I'd like to get the framework for the server done from set one of character creation with the starting zone and starting items for my server, unless I'm putting the cart before the horse on this issue.

I'm sure most of you would probably say, just play on an existing server if I don't understand how to do this, but I'd like to learn how on my own minilogin server.

thanks in advanced for the patients while I learn this process.

kouhei
03-07-2007, 11:09 AM
If I understand your question right you want to edit your database. Best thing to do that with is MYSQL FRONT software. There is a couple other programs out there but I use mysql front since its easier for me to use.

GeorgeS
03-07-2007, 03:00 PM
Download the MySQL GUI Tools 5.0 and you're good to go. Free!

GeorgeS

cylocke
03-11-2007, 04:00 PM
thanks,