PDA

View Full Version : quest::fanfare


BWStripes
07-30-2007, 04:55 AM
Just a nostalgic thing, I know - a quest command to play that trumpeting fanfare you used to get on completing quests :)

- Stripes

cavedude
07-30-2007, 09:48 AM
you mean quest::ding?

Sakrateri
07-30-2007, 05:09 PM
in the words of the immortal Homer Simpson............DOH !

BWStripes
08-01-2007, 04:55 AM
Possibly - with a name like quest::ding() I just assumed it played the level "ding" rather than the trumpet fanfare... heh, and just tested the line:

quest::ding();

in a quest handin - doesn't seem to do anything right now...

If it does actually fanfare, it's fair cop :p

oghog
08-01-2007, 09:59 AM
Never seems to work for me either

DarkGothic
08-01-2007, 12:20 PM
Wear are you placing it in the script? It work fine on my server.

BWStripes
08-01-2007, 08:22 PM
Any NPC, usually in the sub EVENT_ITEM section where handins occur.
e.g. added ding to Zamel.pl in south qeynos when I originally wrote it, and then removed it as it didn't do anything (back in v0992).
Faction hits and exp appear correctly, however.

Feel free to shift this to the support section :)


sub EVENT_ITEM {
if($itemcount{13713} == 1){
quest::say("Yes, I do believe this was the child's dress. Here, take this as your share of the reward. Her father will be heartbroken..");
my $ZamelReward = int(rand(100));
if ($ZamelReward<=35){
quest::summonitem("10320","1");
}
else {
quest::summonitem("10018","1");
}
quest::givecash("0","4","0","0");
quest::faction(36,5); #Guards of Qeynos
quest::faction(9,5); #Antonius Bayle
quest::faction(53,-1); #Corrupt Guards of Qeynos
quest::faction(33,-1); #Circle Of Unseen Hands
quest::faction(217,5); #Merchants of Qeynos
quest::exp("100");
quest::ding();
}
}

DarkGothic
08-02-2007, 06:31 AM
Ok here it is tested it on my server works well, I all ways place it as the first (quest:: ) and remember it just ( quest::ding )nothing after ding.


Code:
sub EVENT_ITEM {
if($itemcount{13713} == 1){
quest::ding
quest::say("Yes, I do believe this was the child's dress. Here, take this as your share of the reward. Her father will be heartbroken..");
my $ZamelReward = int(rand(100));
if ($ZamelReward<=35){
quest::summonitem("10320","1");
}
else {
quest::summonitem("10018","1");
}
quest::givecash("0","4","0","0");
quest::faction(36,5); #Guards of Qeynos
quest::faction(9,5); #Antonius Bayle
quest::faction(53,-1); #Corrupt Guards of Qeynos
quest::faction(33,-1); #Circle Of Unseen Hands
quest::faction(217,5); #Merchants of Qeynos
quest::exp("100");
}
}

#End of updated file Zamel.pl

oghog
08-02-2007, 06:52 AM
Thanks for the info DG, Ill test this on one of my scripts tonight!

oghog
08-02-2007, 12:05 PM
Still no luck, I even copied and pasted your script on an NPC and did the hand in of the small dress after doing a #reloadpl and it did everything but make the sound.....


Im clueless at this point...

Edit:

Im using the titanium client as well.

John Adams
08-02-2007, 12:14 PM
Feel free to shift this to the support section :)
Moved to Quest Q&A (until it turns out to be a bug ;))

BWStripes
08-03-2007, 09:44 PM
This does not work for me either. Will try the windows server version later, as I'm running my testbed on Linux.

Edit: Doesn't work against the latest windows server either.
Might be a client issue. Since I'm using a flat, unmodified titanium install, I'm stuck :/

inkubus
08-03-2007, 11:56 PM
hehe wow i miss that fanfare sound! do doododododooo!

oghog
08-05-2007, 05:20 PM
This does not work for me either. Will try the windows server version later, as I'm running my testbed on Linux.

Edit: Doesn't work against the latest windows server either.
Might be a client issue. Since I'm using a flat, unmodified titanium install, I'm stuck :/


Same here, running vanilla titanium.

BWStripes
08-11-2007, 04:18 AM
I should have started by looking at the obvious.

Anyone running titanium is out of luck. quest::ding uses the sendsound() function, which picks up an opcode (I know, what doesn't?).

Line 383 of patch_Titanium.conf:
OP_Sound=0x0000

Whereas anyone running 6.2 gets:
OP_Sound=0x4a1d

i.e. No opcode for Titanium, no ding/fanfare. Darnit :p

ChaosSlayer
01-18-2008, 07:23 PM
is there still no way to play quest sound?
perhaps by somehow using build in mp3 player to play a file stored localy when quest calls for it?