PDA

View Full Version : Server Config Setting to Assign Port Ranges Per Zone Server

trevius
04-23-2008, 01:07 AM
The idea is to have a configuration setting to specify which ports to use for which zone server all in the World Server config. This is so the World Server knows which ports to use when loading dynamic or static zones on separate zone server, and so you can define clearly separate port ranges for each.

The new settings would look something like this:

<zones>
<defaultstatus>0</defaultstatus>
<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
<ports zonea low="7000" high="7049"/>
<ports zoneb low="7050" high="7100"/>
</zones>

With "zonea" being the name of the zone launcher set in the start.bat file (start eqlaunch.exe zonea) of the world/zone server PC and "zoneb" being the name of the zone launcher set in the zone server PC batch file (start eqlaunch.exe zoneb).

I am not a coder at all, so I don't know how hard it would be to get this change working. I think this would make setting up extra zone servers very simple. As it is now, the only way I can see multiple zone server working without any flaws are if you are running them on 2 completely separate networks with separate internet connections and IPs to allow for overlapping port ranges, or to have zones that never ever crash (unlikely).

My understanding of how ports work with multiple zone servers currently:

Basically, the world server will boot up zones on the first port available as defined in the config on the World Server PC here:

<zones>
<defaultstatus>0</defaultstatus>
<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
<ports low="7000" high="7100"/>
</zones>