PDA

View Full Version : Stuck on Debian Install Guide

Jack Daniel
07-27-2008, 03:21 PM
Yes I am new to linux and I am using this guid

http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=DebianLinuxServer

Two things so far I need after downloading the two map files what directory do I put them in.

Next about Mysql which one of the .sql filename?

is it for the ls command the file named peqdb_1119a.sql.gz sorry im cornfused

Source the Database

Once the files are in the right place, open a terminal window and type:
cd /home/eqemu/server/database
ls
mysql -u root -p

Then type in your root password for mysql when prompted

once you get the "mysql>" prompt, you are ready to setup and source your database. Type the following:
create database databasename;

You can set the "databasename" to whatever you want to call your database. I named mine after my server name. Then type:
use databasename
source databasefilename.sql

The databasefilename.sql is the filename that should appear from the "ls" command you issued above. This is the database file that you moved into this directory. PEQ and AX have more than 1 database files that are required to be sourced, but if you are using a backup of your own database, you will only need to source 1 file. Sourcing times will vary depending on the stats of your server and the size of the database. Some can take quite a while!

trevius
07-27-2008, 06:13 PM
You are pretty close. You need to have your .map files installed into your /home/eqemu/server/maps directory. Make sure that you are unzipping the files if you are downloading them in a zip or gz format. You should have a couple hundred files in that directory once they are all unzipped.

And, yes, you need to download the peqdb_1119a.sql.gz file and save it in your /home/eqemu/server/database directory. That is a zipped file, so you need to unzip it. I think you can run a command like:

tar peqdb_1119a.sql.gz