PDA

View Full Version : Before I start

zergling
06-02-2009, 11:55 AM
Hi guys.

Im considering using this install guide
http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=DebianLinuxServer

And I noticed that it uses a command to get the most recent version of MySQL. Which was okay when the guide was written, but would now grab 5.1 which I have heard has issues with the range keyword thing.

Is there a way to specify to get the older version?

I'm starting with a new blank hard drive, so trying to decide between going windows or linux now. I'm new to debian, but have fiddled with Linux a bit a couple years ago for something else. I am a little inexperienced with Linux, but that guide was good enough to make me seriously consider it. Most of the windows guides I have found seem to have some issues at the moment.

Thanks for your time, and any input is appreciated, even "just go make a windows server newb".

zergling
06-02-2009, 12:16 PM
Can't Edit/Delete so figured I would just reply here.

Just noticed some other issues that will be making me not go for Linux. If anyone has power to, you can delete this thread.

pfyon
06-02-2009, 02:32 PM
I used that guide in addition to a couple other linux ones on the wiki for my install on a fedora-based system. Had no problems using the most recent versions of everything (gcc/g++, mysql, whatever else it called for).

There are a few small bugs in game, mobs tend to go through the corners of walls and such, but i'm not sure that's a linux issue and more likely something wrong in the pathing files.

trevius
06-02-2009, 04:24 PM