PDA

View Full Version : Bot Discussion

bad_captain
07-19-2011, 04:59 PM
Since there has been some bot interest lately and I actually have a bit more time (I started a new job and am still working part time at my old job, and I have an 8-week old baby :D ), I wanted to try and organize some discussion regarding bots and some of the work being done. I was given commit access to the svn a few months ago, which was right before all of my changes, but was able to post some of my work with bot spells, healing, etc.

I would like to maintain a wishlist of enhancements for bots, with discussion, comments, and code, if anyone has any (or at least a link to a thread that contains it). This would be easier if I was a forum admin for the bots section so I could just continue to edit and maintain one post, but we'll do with what we have. I want to have opinions on some of the things we're working on and any ideas that may make bots even better than one person may envision. Criimson has a good starting list here. (http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=33789)

From my own experiences and some of the recent discussion, I think one of the biggest improvements that can be made is handling how bots cast spells ( or not cast them ). After reviewing the work done by Pfyon and Criimson, here (http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=33868) , here (http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=33827) and here (http://www.eqemulator.org/forums/showthread.php?t=33354), I would suggest a few changes that would be more generic, but more powerful.