PDA

View Full Version : Your best Local lan setup i can make. It does work


MOHAA
01-20-2003, 04:13 PM
Setting up a local lan! Please understand im useing only 2 pc already setup with a network.
Im useing winME, and useing windows networking, no firewall.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Now i have tried just about everyway to do this. So i find this setup the best way to utlize most of both machines.
I have the world,zones,mysql on the client machine which i will call pc 2. The host machine is pc 1.
The pc 1 will run the internet if i want, since i use a dialup. It will also run minilogin and the EQWs.

First thing you need to do is get the right Files / Tools.

You will install the EQEMU,MYSQL on PC 2.

1. Current EQEmu version (check the site http://www.eqemu.net)
2. MySQL (We will be using MySQL 3.23 in this readme http://www.mysql.com/downloads/mysql-3.23.html)
Important: Make sure you download the correct version of MySQL for your Operating System (i.e. If your on windows, download the windows zip file).
3. A Semi Working Brain

Now we will be splitting up the Installation process into 3 Parts.

Part 1 ( Extracting EQEmu ):

1. Unzip EQEmu to a directory of choice ( we will be using C:\EQEmu\ in this example | http://www.winzip.com )

2. Copy "spells_en.txt" from your EverQuest directory to C:\EQEmu\ ( or wherever you uncompressed EQEmu too)

Part 2 ( Installing MySQL ):

1. Install MySQL ( not difficult like installing any program )
Reboot may be required

2. Copy db.sql (found in C:\EQEmu ) to your MySQL bin directory ( C:\mysql\bin by default )

3. From the MySQL bin directory run/open "Winmysqladmin.exe"
It will ask you for a username / password ( Choose a username / password that you will be able to remember)
Do not give the password out to anyone for any reason because with this,
anyone can log into your mySQL database and change your data.

NOTE: If it does not ask you to enter a username/password or you wish to change it,
delete the file c:\windows\my.ini and re-run Winmysqladmin.exe.

4. Now from "Winmysqladmin.exe" select the Database tab and right click the area for Databases and click Create Database.
Type in "eq" as the database name (without the quotes) and click Create database.

NOTE: You may close Winmysqladmin.exe now or you can hide it
Though some users may be required to leave this running to work.

4a. If u can not select the create database tab, this will solve your problem.
4b. Run "mysql.exe" from C:\mysql\bin directory
Type in "create database eq" without quote, and press enter
Type in "use eq" without quote, and press Enter
Type in "source db.sql" without quotes, and press Enter
A bunch of lines should pass by (that is normal).
If you get an error at this point then you didn?t copy db.sql into the MySQL/bin folder.

6. You may close mysql.exe now (type "exit" and press enter)

Part 3 ( Setting up EQEmu ):

1. Open db.ini ( found in the folder where you unzipped EQEmu C:\EQEmu )
You should see something that looks like

[Database]
host=localhost
user=YourMysqlUsername
password=YourMysqlPassword
database=eq

In the fields where it says "YourMysqlUsername" and "YourMysqlPassword"
put in the username / password you made in Part 2:(MySQL Install)

i.e

[Database]
host=localhost
user=joe
password=blow
database=eq

Save the file after you finish editing it.

NOTE: This file tells the zone servers / world server where to look / access the eq database
make sure you get these right or else it won't work

2. Now open LoginServer.ini ( found in same place as db.ini )
The file should look like this.

[LoginServer]
loginserver=put your IP address of the pc running MINILOGIN, pc 1 will be running it. u may find it by selecting start/run/type winipcfg/hit ente
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=Name of server here
locked=false
account=
password=
worldaddress=Your IP Address here, for the pc running the world.exe, this will be pc 2.

Fill in the "worldname" and "worldaddress" fields with Name of your Server and IP of the computer
which will be running world.exe
Account / Password should be left blank (this is used for Servers with the Green Name)

i.e

[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.0.1
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=Joe Blow's
locked=false
account=
password=
worldaddress=192.168.0.2

NOTE: All servers will have the word "Server" added to server name. So the server would say "Joe Blow's Server"
Do not put the word Server in the world name


3. Right click Boot5Zones.bat and click EDIT (This should open up the file in a notepad)

The file should contain these lines or something similar

start zone . YourIP 7995 YourIP

The first YourIP is the IP Address of the current machine
The second YourIP is the IP Address of the machine running world.exe.
For this example, the IP address is 123.157.127.153. Your IP address will be differant.

start zone . 123.157.127.153 7995 123.157.127.153
start zone . 123.157.127.153 7996 123.157.127.153
start zone . 123.157.127.153 7997 123.157.127.153
start zone . 123.157.127.153 7998 123.157.127.153
start zone . 123.157.127.153 7999 123.157.127.153

u may also put in "localhost" for the IP addresses if the world and zones, are on the same machine.

To find your IP Address follow these steps:

If you are on Windows2000/XP then go to Start, Run and type CMD to open a dos window.
Now type "ipconfig" without the quotes and hit enter.
Your IP Address should be listed under "IP Address"

If you are on Windows 98/ME go to Start, Run and type "winipcfg" without the quotes
and hit enter. Your IP Address should be listed under "IP Address"

Part 4 ( setting up minilogin)

1. ok now on to the pc 1. u will need to make a folder in c:\my documents\minilogin
i use this, because very ezy to find.
2. u will need to extract your minilogin to this folder, make sure it is the update minlogin.
3. Now u will need to make a copy of the loginserver.txt file thats in the c:\Eqemu folder

[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.0.1
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=YOUR SERVER NAME HERE
locked=false
account=
password=
worldaddress=192.168.0.2

U will need to replace the loginserver address with the IP address of the machine running Minilogin, that is pc 1
U also will need to replace the worldaddress with the IP address of the machine running World.exe, that is pc 2

4. Now go to the machine that has c:\mysql\bin file and run the mysql.exe window.
Type in "use eq" without quote, and press Enter
type in "INSERT INTO account" without quote, and press Enter
Type in "SET name='eqemu', password='eqemu', status=200;" without quote, and press ENTER
type in "exit" without quote, and press enter

5. Now is the moment of truth (time to run it and see if it works!)

6. make sure the little stop light is up and running(mysql)
Run MiniLogin.exe on pc 1
Then Run World.exe on pc 2
Then Run Boot5Zones.bat on pc 2

5. Load up EverQuest via EQW or "patchme"
Login using

eqemu as the username and password

NOTE: eqemu account should be flagged 200 *Server Op* status if not

If you want to flag the eqemu account, click Start, Run and type "command" without the quotes and hit enter.
Type "cd c:\eqemu" without the quotes and hit enter.
Type "world.exe flag eqemu 200" without the quotes and hit enter.
this will flag the eqemu account as a ServerOP (all commands).

Status Listing: 0= Normal, 10= PU, 80= Quest Troupe, 100= GM, 101= GM-Events, 150= LGM, 200= Serverop (All commands)



In the EQEmu Directory run "world.exe"
A window should pop up saying :


Using database 'eq' at localhost
EQEMu 0.4.2-DR1
Loading zone names & items...
EMuShareMem.dll loaded.
Loading items from database...
...done.
LoginServer.ini read.
Loading guild ranks...done.
Loading EQ time of day...Reading time file failed, bytes read: 0
failed.
HELP I WORK IN THE EQEMU SWEATSHOP YOUR MY ONLY HOPE
World server listening on: port 9000
Connected to LoginServer: 192.168.0.1:5999


the Boot5zones should look like this:


D:\EQEMU>REM: ****Read this first!!!****

D:\EQEMU>
D:\EQEMU>REM: This file requires your real IP in the place of "YourIP" when you
are connecting

D:\EQEMU>REM: To the EQEmu Loginserver.

D:\EQEMU>
D:\EQEMU>REM: When you are using minilogin, Replace all IP Addresses to say 127.
0.0.1

D:\EQEMU>
D:\EQEMU>REM: If you still get errors try using localhost instead of 127.0.0.1

D:\EQEMU>
D:\EQEMU>REM:--------------Start-----------------------



Using database 'eq' at localhost
EQEMu 0.4.2-DR1
Loading zone names, items & NPCs...
EMuShareMem.dll loaded.
Loading NPCTypes from database...
...done.
done.
If this is the last message you see, you forgot to move spells_en.txt from your
EQ dir to this dir.
Spells loaded.
Loading guild ranks...done.
Loading faction data...done.
Connected to worldserver: 192.168.0.2:9000
Entering sleep mode

the other zones should look like that


now runn your EQW. and play


if u get a 1017 error after selecting the server. u need to flag the database by.

If you want to flag the eqemu account, click Start, Run and type "command" without the quotes and hit enter.
Type "cd c:\eqemu" without the quotes and hit enter.
Type "world.exe flag eqemu 200" without the quotes and hit enter.
this will flag the eqemu account as a ServerOP (all commands).

Status Listing: 0= Normal, 10= PU, 80= Quest Troupe, 100= GM, 101= GM-Events, 150= LGM, 200= Serverop (All commands)

leave that window open and select the first world.exe. window and close it. and then retry the server.


well i hope i didnt leave any thing out.

this set up does work and as i can tell there is no other in the forms like it.

good luck!

singalots
01-29-2003, 05:10 PM
does this come in english? or a video? :?

02-03-2003, 10:20 PM
First off I just wanted to thank you very much for explaining all this, but I do have a few questions.

I started to get very lost after "Part 4 ( setting up minilogin)"

You say to copy the loginserver.txt from the c:\Eqemu folder to PC 1 but you don't say were to copy it to. Do you mean to copy it to c:\my documents\minilogin\?

Now on step 4. You say to open mysql.exe from the c:\mysql\bin folder. And from the command line type in the commands given. Works good until I get to the "Type in "SET name='eqemu', password='eqemu', status=200;" without quote, and press ENTER
type in "exit" without quote, and press enter " and I get an error saying that is not a correct command. Can you please retype the command exactly as they should be typed in. No not type any " ".

Now on step 5. I got totally confused here. What do I need to run and from which location and from which computer.

Once again I am very thankful for this explination but just got those small questions. Thank you! :wink:

Fox
02-03-2003, 11:25 PM
froggy you sure you didn't put ; after the first line?
try this...
INSERT INTO account SET name='eqemu', password='eqemu', status=200;

02-04-2003, 12:13 AM
ok, thank you. I got hat to work now. I think I have everything correct now but when I run the world.exe I receive the error:

Error: LoginServer: :Connect 'TCPConnect: :Connect<>: connect <> failed. Error: 10061'

then some other stuff goes on then at the bottom it says bad password.

and when I run boot5zones.bat I keep receiving the error:

WorldServer connect: Connecting to the server failed. Error 10061
InitWorldServer failed

I know my network is setup fine and I am not using a firewall. If I can just get this fixed I believe it will all work. :) Thank you for your help.

Fox
02-04-2003, 01:02 AM
Looks like you got the ip wrong or something.
You sure you are running Minilogin before you run world?

02-04-2003, 11:42 AM
I went over all the IPs again and check them. They all seem to be correct. I tried entering in 127.0.0.1 when possible and that does not seem to help. Is there anything I need to do with the minilogin.exe program besides run it before I run the other programs on the other computer?

02-04-2003, 01:04 PM
Ok, I fixed all the errors I was receiving except one. (I'm getting closer). The error is when I run minilogin.exe, which works fine, and then I run the world.exe program. I receive error password is bad and at the same time minilogin.exe reports it received connection from the computer running world.exe but also reports password bad. I went through all the files that were mentioned to check the password and usernames. They are correct. I also tried leaving them blank. Let me type up what I have typed up in each file and were it is listed. I am so close. :)

On PC 1:
In the C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\My Documents\minilogin\ folder I have 3 files: LoginServer.ini, MiniLogin.exe and miniloginaccounts.ini.

Inside LoginServer.ini I have:
[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.0.2 (PC1)
loginserver2=192.168.0.2 (PC1)
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=vns (Computer name with world.exe)
locked=false
account=froggyliver (username of mysql on PC2)
password=3123 (password of mysql on PC2)
worldaddress=192.168.0.3 (PC2 with world.exe)

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=

In the miniloginaccounts.ini file I have listed: (192.168.0.2 is PC1 running minilogin.exe and EQW)
192.168.0.2 user1 password1
192.168.0.2 user2 password2
192.168.0.2 user3 password3
192.168.0.2 user4 password4

On PC2:
I have c:\eqemu\ c:\mysql\ (copied db.sql from c:\eqemu\ to c:\mysql\bin folder) and edit the files: Boot5zones.bat, loginserver.ini, and db.ini and have in them the following:

Boot5zones.bat: (I tried the exact IP of PC2 running world.exe also)
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7995 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7996 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7997 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7998 127.0.0.1
start zone . 127.0.0.1 7999 127.0.0.1

loginserver.ini:
[LoginServer]
loginserver=192.168.0.2 (PC1)
loginserver2=192.168.0.2 (PC1)
loginport=5999
loginport2=5999
worldname=vns (PC2 with world.exe)
locked=false
account=froggyliver (username for sql on PC2)
password=3123 (password for mysql on PC2)
worldaddress=localhost (PC2)

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=

db.ini:
[Database]
host=localhost (PC2)
user=froggyliver (username of mysql on PC2)
password=3123 (password of mysql on PC2)
database=eq (name of database on PC2 running mysql)

OK. That is all the files and porgram I currently have and have edit. I hope I explained it well enough so I can get help. Again, the only error I am now reveiving is "bad password" when I run minilogin.exe and world.exe. Boot5zones.bat seems to be working fine. Thank you for your time in helping me with this.

Auldar
02-04-2003, 02:33 PM
Check for white-spaces after your usernames and passwords in those .ini files..

-Auldar

02-04-2003, 06:35 PM
check for spaces and there are not any. Is there another place it is looking for a password at that I may have missed?

Auldar
02-05-2003, 11:51 AM
Check your Winmysqladmin and make sure the username/password you created there matches what you are defining in the .ini files then..

-Auldar

Auldar
02-05-2003, 11:55 AM
Just realised you have Minilogin on one PC, and DB on another.. I've heard that doesn't work...

Still, check your username in c:\mysql\my.ini (or look using winmysqladmin).

If it's correct, try running minilogin/world/zone on the same PC as the DB.

-Auldar

02-06-2003, 11:53 AM
Forget this, lol. Can someone tell me how I can just log into the EQEmu server and play using theirs? Thank you. :)

Auldar
02-06-2003, 02:15 PM
I wouldn't scrap the idea if I were you.. You are very close :)

I would really suggest having Minilogin, World, and Zone all running on the same server as the DB.

I suspect things will start working for you then..

WRT using Eqemu servers.. I don't know.. I think you just download the eqhost.txt and use your forum login name and password.

-Auldar

Castiron
02-15-2003, 05:19 AM
:shock: Does anyone know how to setup aa server with working quests, ie a legit server. when i start up my server the zones are there (zone points are off) but there isnt 1 npc or mob anywhere. just one big empty world. :shock:

MOHAA
02-16-2003, 06:17 AM
ok really sorry i have not answered any of your questions.

now all this works. for starts your local lan has to be already set up and working.

now for the minilog beening on a different pc other then world db or server. well yes it can. the minilog has to be on the server where the eqgame is ran. u have to add the loginserver file to the minligin file to make it work.

it really simple set this up.
pm with complet set up and ill try to walk u threw complete setup.

i have this set up running on 3 different networks and running strong.

Holumsholum
02-16-2003, 04:38 PM
I'm an idiot. I can't even being to get this to work.

I click on the databases tab..I right click EVERYWHERE. I always see either something that says WinNT or Flush Hosts etc. How do I make a new database?!

Auldar
02-16-2003, 04:41 PM
That howto is for an older version of Mysql.

Open a command window, cd to your mysql\bin directory, and type this:

mysqladmin.exe create eq


And you just created your DB.

-Auldar

Holumsholum
02-16-2003, 06:56 PM
Ah thank you. I'm getting most of it now. but I'm using win xp and when I boot5zone they crash.

Lodan
02-16-2003, 10:44 PM
You need the DB addon for NPC's and doors etc.

As far as quests and zone points go I havent had a chance to look at that yet.

rgds

Thunderlord
02-17-2003, 03:46 AM
hi,..

I cant find the files: db.sql , loginserver.ini and boot5zones.bat in the folder C:\EQEmu\ and no where else ..

Can anyone please help and tell me what i can do ??

Thanks

Holumsholum
02-17-2003, 08:37 AM
Id think the best option in that situations it to Re-D/L eqemu files.

Holumsholum
02-17-2003, 09:02 AM
Okay...I can login with EQEmu/EQEmu...and then I get to the character select screen..I select my character. It acts like it's logging into the world...shows the EQ Loading screen. Goes black then boots me back to Server select.

Things that may be doing something:
on minilogin bootup it says: Couldn't open the miniloginaccounts.ini file

The boot5zones file works fine and enters sleep mode..is that supposed to happen?

Shatan
03-15-2003, 07:05 PM
I am trying to set up my server, and I keep runnung into a problem. I can boot the mini login and the world.exe with no problem but when I try to boot the zones it says.

Error Zone bootup FAILED!
connected to worldserver: localhost:9000

I am running XP pro if that helps

Littlekill
03-17-2003, 11:26 AM
That howto is for an older version of Mysql.

Open a command window, cd to your mysql\bin directory, and type this:

mysqladmin.exe create eq


And you just created your DB.

-Auldar

whats a command window and how do i open one.

IALord_Vyper
04-30-2003, 09:07 PM
Command window is (for Win98) start -> run, then type COMMAND.EXE

Drewfus
05-02-2003, 07:53 AM
I was able to get mine working a while back when I was messing with it and it may help if you put everything that is server side (eqemu files and mysql and the database) on one computer and run the game from the other machine. Trying to break it up the way you are doing does not seem ideal. Also trying to run the game from a machine also running msyql is going to give you poor performance if not making you go link dead altogether.

TalabDL
05-03-2003, 03:34 AM
question
I have everything set i get no errors on loading world or zones or minilog. as far as i can tell i have entered all the ips right but when i run eq gives me a 1001 error cannot connect to server ? anyideas?

Stealthfire
08-05-2003, 04:49 PM
Ok im a little stuck here...not sure exactally why this isnt working. Im at the part 2 step 4 where i open winmysqladmin.exe and create the eq database. when i right click on the databases area it dosnt show the 'create database' option. So, i ran mysql.exe like the guide says, however, after typing the final command that says 'source db.sql' i dont get the "bunch of lines" or even an error message. it just shows me the '->' again. I tried adding a few ; here and there but none of that worked. When i typed in 'create database eq;' it told me 'error 1044: acess denied for user '@localhost' to database 'eq'. I did copy the db.sql to mysql/bin folder. Any ideas? Would appricate any replies.

mattmeck
08-05-2003, 05:32 PM
make sure you put that ";" after .sql

Stealthfire
08-06-2003, 02:41 PM
Alrighty...didnt work. Heres what i typed


create database eq;

(now it tells me "access denied for user: '@localhost" to database 'eq')

When i do this...

create database eq
use eq
source db.slq;

It tells me the same thing...whats this @localhost thing that its talking about?

DCM_MrBlob
08-06-2003, 05:38 PM
have you tried loging in as root?
in the command line type this in:

mysql --user=root

that should help

P.S.
If you want to automatically bypass the errors type this in on the command line:

mysql --user=root --no-beep

Stealthfire
08-07-2003, 06:44 AM
Hrmm maybe im typing it in wrong, but when i put the command in it tells me theres a syntax error at line 1. Do i only type in 'user=root' on the command line?

Trinculo
08-10-2003, 05:29 PM
usefrom the command line: mysql -u root -ppassword --no-beep

note: the password has to be right next to the -p
so if your password was blah you would use: mysql -u root -pblah --no-beep

Barench
08-17-2003, 11:44 AM
Does this work for V4.4? Heard MiniLogin no longer works with the new version of the server.

Lovestealer
08-25-2003, 03:00 AM
I tried to setup a own server with client pc (pc2)
but i wanted to use pc2 to play only
should i put the ip address in local lan ip or the internet ip which is connect with pc1?
I tried both with the wimmyadmit program to open the eq database
but it never success once
Is there anyway i can do it?

mollymillions
08-25-2003, 11:40 PM
You can use the computer name instead of the IP address for all clients on the LAN. e.g.

[Registration Servers]
{
"bigbee:5999"
}
[Login Servers]
{
"bigbee:5999"
}

There may be a performance hit but it saves me alternating between the LAN and internet IP addresses as my network configuration changes (no LAN or no internet connection).

Also try using user 'root' with no password for DB access.