PDA

View Full Version : Vector Linux

O6scured
02-18-2003, 06:56 PM
http://vectorlinux.com/

Thats the linux I use. Its a type of peanut linux. I'm half a newbie in the linux world... meaning I'm not really a newbie at it just lack the experiance in it... anyways, it really seems like its better than the other stuff like gentoo and slackware especially for servers because its based off of peanut linux which means it runs the minimum system files it can with the main goal to leave as much resources free for the user. It really seems ideal for hosting servers because of that whole goal. Tell me what you think?

Also I think the installer is a little humorous =P

fnemo
02-18-2003, 11:42 PM
I still prefer debian. Minimal too if you wish, with more better security and upgrades (thx apt-get)

just my 2 copper

Trumpcard
02-19-2003, 01:39 AM
Debian is a good, stable distro.. I only prefer gentoo because Im a performance freak.

I've heard about peanut, never really researched it. If it's really stripped down, it's probably great for a server where you dont have much system interaction. Make the system, then drop it and dont touch it for months at a time.

I have a few redhat 6.2 systems that are like that. Havent had to do anytype of systems maintence on them in over a year other than to close a few holes, deleting backups, and add new users.

TheClaus
02-19-2003, 02:53 AM
I find it odd that you put gentoo into the category of not slimmed down. Gentoo is definately slimmed down. You have to install whatever you need to get it to work. So if you don't want extra crap don't install it.

FYI for gentoo to run as EQEMU server I only needed mysql. After I built the box I emerge mysql and ssh (for remote admin crap) and was good to go.

Trumpcard
02-19-2003, 03:42 AM
I love gentoo, but I would never recommend it for a stable server platform.