Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Quests

Archive::Quests Archive area for Quests's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-11-2004, 11:14 AM
nadr man
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 37
Default .pl??

hey! just got perl installed and everything working, but i logged into my server to find that my quests don't work. Lemme explain my setup..

my everquest directory (my client) is located in D:\Everquest. My Server is at D:\Server-EqEmu. Within D:\Server-EqEmu i have 3 folders. One is D:\Server-EqEmu\Eqemu (this has the world.exe, zone.exe, ect. files). One is D:\Server-EqEmu\mysql (holds the db stuff). And the other is D:\Server-EqEmu\perl (holds perls stuff).

In D:\Server-EqEmu\Eqemu i put the perl58.pl file, but deleted it due to it crashing the zone.exe files. I also put a plugin.pl in this folder...i read this plugin.pl sends the quests to the server (not sure if the plugin.pl is causing a problem, it was sent to me...not sure if i need to edit more than the server name..).

Thing is the quests aren't working. Perl is installed. IO::Scaler is installed. and my quests are in D:\Sever-Eqemu\EQEmu\$EQEmuDir$\Quests. I was unsure why i needed to name the folder $EQEmuDir$, but was told to do so in another post describing the perl system. I have a quest called default.pl in my nexus folder to set the quest for the zone just to test it...

Quote:
#default.pl
#test quest to make sure quests are working
sub EVENT_SAY {
if($text=~/Hail/i){quest::say("Shhh... I am trying to test out questing!");}
}
simple hail quest.

My zone window:

Quote:
[Status] CURRENT_ZONE_VERSION: EQEMu 0.5.7-DR3
[Status] Loading Variables
[Status] Loading zone names
[Status] Loading items
[Status] EMuShareMem loaded
[Status] Loading npcs
[Status] Loading npc faction lists
[Status] Loading loot tables
[Status] Loading doors
[Status] Loading guilds
[Status] Loading factions
[Status] Loading corpse timers
[Status] Loading what ever is left
[Status] Loading commands
[Status] command_init(): Warning: Command 'help' defaulting to access level 0!
[Status] command_init(): Warning: Command 'version' defaulting to access level 0
!
[Status] command_init(): Warning: Command 'serversidename' defaulting to access
level 0!
[Status] command_init(): Warning: Command 'loc' defaulting to access level 0!
[Status] command_init(): Warning: Command 'flag' defaulting to access level 0!
[Status] command_init(): Warning: Command 'si' defaulting to access level 0!
[Status] 163 commands loaded
[Status] Loading embedded perl
[Status] Loading perlemb plugins.
[Status] Entering sleep mode
Connected to worldserver: 127.0.0.1:9000
Shows that perl is enabled...

Lastly, i put .pl after my quests (example: 183017.pl would be a filename), but the document itself stays as a text file. I would think it would be a perl file...but either there's something wrong with plugin.pl or there's something wrong with my file setup.

Any help would be great.


command promt:

i enter perl -MCPAN -e shell

i get this:
Quote:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mark>perl -MCPAN -e shell
Terminal does not support AddHistory.

There seems to be running another CPAN process (pid 1612). Contacting...
Other job not responding. Shall I overwrite the lockfile? (Y/N) [y] y

cpan shell -- CPAN exploration and modules installation (v1.7601)
ReadLine support available (try 'install Bundle::CPAN')

cpan>
thinking that's suppose to happen, i enter install IO::Scaler, i get this:

Quote:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mark>perl -MCPAN -e shell
Terminal does not support AddHistory.

There seems to be running another CPAN process (pid 3872). Contacting...
Other job not responding. Shall I overwrite the lockfile? (Y/N) [y]

cpan shell -- CPAN exploration and modules installation (v1.7601)
ReadLine support available (try 'install Bundle::CPAN')

cpan> install IO::Scalar
CPAN: Storable loaded ok
Going to read \.cpan\Metadata
Database was generated on Fri, 11 Jun 2004 19:35:49 GMT
IO::Scalar is up to date.

cpan>
plugin.pl:

Quote:
$SERVER="Nads_test_area";
$version="0.0.1";

@remove=("job","mrace","interest","guild");


#this is the main controller routine for default quests
sub dispatch{
my($pack, $filename, $line, $subr, $has_args, $want_array)=caller(1);

#$debug && quest::say("[debug]in dispatch");
#$debug && quest::say("[debug] package : $pack");
#$debug && quest::say("[debug] subroutine : $subr");

#get all variables in caller's scope
# first, we want to cleanup what was set by previous call
undef $job;
undef $interest;
undef $guild;
undef $mrace;
#$debug=0;

no strict 'refs';
my $package;
($package=$subr) =~ s/::\w+// ;
my $stash = *{$package . '::'}{HASH};
my $n;

foreach $old (@remove){
defined ${$old} && eval { "undef $package"."::"."$old"};
}
foreach $n (keys %$stash) {
my $fullname = $package . '::' . $n;
if( defined $$fullname){
$$n=${$fullname};
# potentially unsafe, don't do :push(@remove,$n); for the moment

#uncomment to get report of what is available
#quest::say("$n -> $$n (eqiv to $fullname)\n");
}
}

$debug && quest::say("checking event");

#this looks for the correct routine to use, based on l=globals and event type
if(defined $subr){
my $event;
if($subr =~ /EVENT_SAY/) { $event="say";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_SLAY/) { $event="slay";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_DEATH/) { $event="death";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_SPAWN/) { $event="spawn";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_ITEM/) { $event="item";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_ATTACK/) { $event="attack";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_WAYPOINT/) { $event="waypoint";}

#now lookup the routine, and return after first match.
#the following assumes npc have a $job, $mrace and $guild global
# This is where precedence takes place :
# first look for an interest oriented event, then a job oriented match,
# then race dependant, then guild ...
# whatever you set as a global category for the mob
# If guild behaviour is more important (or more specific)
# than race or job, for example, move the line up.
# zone usually comes last, as it allows to reproduce the genuine
# 'default.pl' behavior.
# returning ensures you don't get 2,3 or 4 answers for an event

#$debug && showvars();
#$debug && showfuncs();
defined $interest && defined &{"$interest$event"} && &{"$interest$event"} && return;
defined $job && defined &{"$job$event"} && &{"$job$event"} && return;
defined $mrace && defined &{"$mrace$event"} && &{"$mrace$event"} && return;
defined $guild && defined &{"$guild$event"} && &{"$guild$event"} && return;

#eventually revert to the standard per-zone default.pl
defined &{"$zonesn$event"} && &{"$zonesn$event"} && return;

# we came here if there was no match (i.e. no specific routine
# for that event)
# do nothing then ? or ...
defined &{"default$event"} && &{"default$event"} && return;
}

#we very unlucky to get here
}


sub showvars{
my($pack, $filename, $line, $subr, $has_args, $want_array)=caller(1);
#get all variables in caller's scope
no strict 'refs';
my $package;
($package=$subr) =~ s/::\w+// ;
my $stash = *{$package . '::'}{HASH};
my $n;
foreach $n (sort keys %$stash) {
my $fullname = $package . '::' . $n;
if( defined $$fullname){
$$n=${$fullname};
#uncomment to get report of what is available
quest::say("$n -> $$n (eqiv to $fullname)");
}else{
#defined &$fullname && quest::say("function $fullname is defined");
if(defined @$fullname){
quest::say(" list \@$fullname : (". join(",",@$fullname) . ")");
}
if(defined %$fullname){
quest::say(" hash \%$fullname : (");
foreach $k ( keys %$fullname){
quest::say(" $k => ${fullname}->{$k} ");
}
quest::say(")");
}
}

}
}

sub showfuncs{
my($pack, $filename, $line, $subr, $has_args, $want_array)=caller(1);
#get all variables in caller's scope
no strict 'refs';
my $package;
($package=$subr) =~ s/::\w+// ;
my $stash = *{$package . '::'}{HASH};
my $n;
foreach $n (sort keys %$stash) {
my $fullname = $package . '::' . $n;
defined &$fullname && quest::say("function $fullname is defined");
}
}

#print "starting plugin for $SERVER\n";
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-11-2004, 11:28 AM
Dave987
Discordant
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: England
Posts: 267
Default Re: .pl??

You dont need to name your EQEmu folder $EQEmuDir$ . That was just meaning whatever your EQEmu folder is called.

For example, I might have a quest in

C:\EQEmu\quests\default.pl

Make sure yours are in something like
D:\Server-EqEmu\EQemu\quests\default.pl

This should fix yout problem.
__________________
;o)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-11-2004, 11:37 AM
m0oni9
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 166
Default Re: .pl??

Quote:
Originally Posted by nadr man
Thing is the quests aren't working. Perl is installed. IO::Scaler is installed. and my quests are in D:\Sever-Eqemu\EQEmu\$EQEmuDir$\Quests. I was unsure why i needed to name the folder $EQEmuDir$, but was told to do so in another post describing the perl system. I have a quest called default.pl in my nexus folder to set the quest for the zone just to test it...
$EQEmuDir$ represents your EQEmu directory. For instance, if I run emu from C:\EQEmu, my quests directory will be named C:\EQEmu\quests.

Within this "quests" directory you may create a subdirectory for each zone (ie: feerrott, nexus, potimeb, etc.). You may also place a default.pl file in this directory. Inside each of these zone subdirectories, you may have a perl file for any NPC type that is loaded in that zone.

You may have a structure like the following:

C:\EQEmu\quests\default.pl
C:\EQEmu\quests\nexus\2019.pl
C:\EQEmu\quests\nexus\152013.pl
C:\EQEmu\quests\feerrott\47003.pl
etc..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-11-2004, 11:44 AM
nadr man
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 37
Default

well, i did the D:\Server-EqEmu\eqemu\quests...but still quests don't work.

i'm assuming there's something wrong with perl. Any other ideas would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-12-2004, 06:18 AM
cofruben
Old-EQEmu Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 323
Default

try another event,like spawn_death and then kill a mob,see if that triggers.
Code:
EVENT_DEATH
{
quest::shout("test");
}
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2004, 02:53 AM
nadr man
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 37
Default

nothing works. When i did #reloadquest (or something along those lines) i got "clearing .qst cashe"...i'm wondering if the server's not compiled correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2004, 08:12 AM
cofruben
Old-EQEmu Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 323
Default

#reloadquest is for .qst format I think,reload for PL is not implemented.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-17-2004, 08:38 AM
nadr man
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 37
Default

Well, i just did 2 things.

1. I reinstalled perl -- it went in fine.
2. I downloaded quests from quests.eqemulator.net.

At this point, those downloaded quests don't work. Atm i think it's my plugin.pl causing my problem. I'm using the plugin.pl from The Lazy Perl Quest Writer stickied in this forum.

it looks like this:

Quote:
$SERVER="Khalzed-dur";
$version="0.0.1";

@remove=("job","mrace","interest","guild");


#this is the main controller routine for default quests
sub dispatch{
my($pack, $filename, $line, $subr, $has_args, $want_array)=caller(1);

#$debug && quest::say("[debug]in dispatch");
#$debug && quest::say("[debug] package : $pack");
#$debug && quest::say("[debug] subroutine : $subr");

#get all variables in caller's scope
# first, we want to cleanup what was set by previous call
undef $job;
undef $interest;
undef $guild;
undef $mrace;
#$debug=0;

no strict 'refs';
my $package;
($package=$subr) =~ s/::\w+// ;
my $stash = *{$package . '::'}{HASH};
my $n;

foreach $old (@remove){
defined ${$old} && eval { "undef $package"."::"."$old"};
}
foreach $n (keys %$stash) {
my $fullname = $package . '::' . $n;
if( defined $$fullname){
$$n=${$fullname};
# potentially unsafe, don't do :push(@remove,$n); for the moment

#uncomment to get report of what is available
#quest::say("$n -> $$n (eqiv to $fullname)\n");
}
}

$debug && quest::say("checking event");

#this looks for the correct routine to use, based on l=globals and event type
if(defined $subr){
my $event;
if($subr =~ /EVENT_SAY/) { $event="say";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_SLAY/) { $event="slay";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_DEATH/) { $event="death";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_SPAWN/) { $event="spawn";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_ITEM/) { $event="item";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_ATTACK/) { $event="attack";}
if($subr =~ /EVENT_WAYPOINT/) { $event="waypoint";}

#now lookup the routine, and return after first match.
#the following assumes npc have a $job, $mrace and $guild global
# This is where precedence takes place :
# first look for an interest oriented event, then a job oriented match,
# then race dependant, then guild ...
# whatever you set as a global category for the mob
# If guild behaviour is more important (or more specific)
# than race or job, for example, move the line up.
# zone usually comes last, as it allows to reproduce the genuine
# 'default.pl' behavior.
# returning ensures you don't get 2,3 or 4 answers for an event

#$debug && showvars();
#$debug && showfuncs();
defined $interest && defined &{"$interest$event"} && &{"$interest$event"} && return;
defined $job && defined &{"$job$event"} && &{"$job$event"} && return;
defined $mrace && defined &{"$mrace$event"} && &{"$mrace$event"} && return;
defined $guild && defined &{"$guild$event"} && &{"$guild$event"} && return;

#eventually revert to the standard per-zone default.pl
defined &{"$zonesn$event"} && &{"$zonesn$event"} && return;

# we came here if there was no match (i.e. no specific routine
# for that event)
# do nothing then ? or ...
defined &{"default$event"} && &{"default$event"} && return;
}

#we very unlucky to get here
}


sub showvars{
my($pack, $filename, $line, $subr, $has_args, $want_array)=caller(1);
#get all variables in caller's scope
no strict 'refs';
my $package;
($package=$subr) =~ s/::\w+// ;
my $stash = *{$package . '::'}{HASH};
my $n;
foreach $n (sort keys %$stash) {
my $fullname = $package . '::' . $n;
if( defined $$fullname){
$$n=${$fullname};
#uncomment to get report of what is available
quest::say("$n -> $$n (eqiv to $fullname)");
}else{
#defined &$fullname && quest::say("function $fullname is defined");
if(defined @$fullname){
quest::say(" list \@$fullname : (". join(",",@$fullname) . ")");
}
if(defined %$fullname){
quest::say(" hash \%$fullname : (");
foreach $k ( keys %$fullname){
quest::say(" $k => ${fullname}->{$k} ");
}
quest::say(")");
}
}

}
}

sub showfuncs{
my($pack, $filename, $line, $subr, $has_args, $want_array)=caller(1);
#get all variables in caller's scope
no strict 'refs';
my $package;
($package=$subr) =~ s/::\w+// ;
my $stash = *{$package . '::'}{HASH};
my $n;
foreach $n (sort keys %$stash) {
my $fullname = $package . '::' . $n;
defined &$fullname && quest::say("function $fullname is defined");
}
}

#print "starting plugin for $SERVER\n";
This plugin.pl looks like it's made to call 4 categories (job,mrace,interest,guild). From the point of a perl-idiot, this looks like it could be the problem. If this plugin.pl is incorrect, could someone post the contents of theirs?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2004, 11:50 PM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

Ok , I have everything installed correctly and had no errors on doing it , But when I boot 5 zones it never shows perl enabled, Please help ! i want some quests ...... :(



EDIT : Damn im sorry , I meant to put this is a different thread , I had to many windows open and got confused
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-19-2004, 12:39 AM
nadr man
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 37
Default

in the source code you need to enable perl
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06-19-2004, 07:43 AM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

Ok i got perl enabled now and it says it on my zones "Loading embedded Perl " but not the second line" Loading perlemb plugins"
any suggestions? and thanks for the help
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 06-19-2004, 07:54 AM
nadr man
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 37
Default

do you have a quests folder or any .pl files in your eqemu folder?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 06-19-2004, 11:19 AM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

I have plugin.pl in the eqemu folder and quests in a quest folder and i also have a plugin folder with plugin.pl in that .....not sure how that folder got there
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:41 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3