Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Quests

Archive::Quests Archive area for Quests's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #16  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:04 PM
jimbox114
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 231
Default

I actually changed it to scribe instead of spells thinking the same thing. However handing them the item don't scribe the spells still. Going to try changeing there name to something else and see what it does.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-06-2004, 01:30 PM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbox114
I actually changed it to scribe instead of spells thinking the same thing. However handing them the item don't scribe the spells still. Going to try changeing there name to something else and see what it does.
Heh

Quote:
However handing them the item don't scribe the spells still.
However, handing them the item doesn't scribe the spells still. Im not too great at sentence control so I dont critique others for it but spelling....ugh that just bugs me.

Quote:
changeing there
You mean changing their. Let me guess? Are you 10-13? (Not as an insult, just curious).

Anyway, I plan to use scribespells(); soon here in one of my quests so ill report back to this thread on the effectiveness via 5.7-DR6 stock source.
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-06-2004, 02:35 PM
killspree
Dragon
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 776
Default

Guys, this forum isn't for critiqing whatever elementary school teachings there are in various countries - it's for quest creation. Lets keep it to that, thanks!
__________________
Xeldan
Lead Content Designer
Shards of Dalaya
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-06-2004, 02:42 PM
sotonin
Demi-God
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,177
Default

ya typos happen. sorry i started it. but i just critiqued his Code. There's nothing i hate worse than being on a server and seeing blatantly mispelled words in the quests.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-06-2004, 10:48 PM
cofruben
Old-EQEmu Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 323
Default

Try changing the scribespells function(parser.cpp) with the contents of #scribespells command.You will need to enter an integer as argument to tell the level.I hope I have not so much english faults lol.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 08-07-2004, 06:34 AM
jimbox114
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 231
Default

I tried changing the quest around, and I even made a whole new npc (A_Teacher_of_Magic) and still get the same thing. I tried it with the 65 in there, and I tried it without anything in it, here is what I have right now:

sub EVENT_SAY
{
if ($text=~ /Hail/i){quest::say("Hello $name, are you interested in having your spells [scribed]?");}
if ($text=~ /scribed/i){quest::say("You have come to the right person, however I need you to do me a small favor. I do not like those thieves that have been hanging around the sewers. You do know where I am talking about right? It is the ones to the left of the gates of Freeport which lead you to North Freeport. Anyways bring me one of their daggers and I will teach you all the spells that a $class can use.");}
if ($text=~ /just do it/i){quest::say("You don't have to get nasty $name, fine here is your blasted spells!"); quest::scribespells();}
}
sub EVENT_ITEM
{
if ($itemcount{1451} == 1){quest::say("Thank you for your assistance $name. As promised here is your spells.");
quest::scribespells(65);
quest::exp(25);}
}

When I say "Just do it" I don't even get the text. When I hand item 1451 in, I don't get no text and I don't get the exp either. Basically the only reason I have the exp in there is just to see if any of it works. Pretty much all it does right now is responds to hail and scribed. You know, now that I think of it I don't think there is any servers that has a working spells scriber? Is this possibly a command that simply don't work as part of a quest atm? Might just end up doing like scorp2k does and just have gm's do it.

On the brighter side got some of my quests working that I couldn't get to work before. Penfrost's Quest can now be completed.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 08-08-2004, 07:04 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

Code:
# perlQuest
#Quest by Cisyouc of Prexus II
sub EVENT_SAY
{
if($text=~/hail/i){quest::say("Greetings, $name. If you would run me a small task, I can teach you the [magics] of a $class.");}
if($text=~/magic/i){quest::say("You shall learn the Magics when I am comfortable, here. Bring me the dagger of thieves of North Freeport, and I should be ready.");}
if($text=~/just do it/i){quest::say("Now, now. No need to get testy. Here you are.");quest::scribespells();}
}
sub EVENT_ITEM
{
if($item1 == 1451){quest::say("Ahh, another fiend slain by the Heroes of Freeport. Thank you my friend, you are welcome here in Freeport.");quest::scribespells();}
}
Do NOT change this quest without trying it first (unless I made a syntax error I didn't catch) because the issue might be a buffer overrun on the server. Just a thought.
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 08-08-2004, 11:26 AM
jimbox114
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 231
Default

I copied it and put it in there. Does nothing when I say Just do it and does nothign when handed item 1451.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 08-21-2004, 10:01 AM
chanceibmny
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 15
Default

Thanks for the ideas guys I just started working w/ jimbox114 and I've done a few quests of my own so hopefully between the 2 of us, we can get this working (&lt;3 quests in every aspect) And dont worry, I'll teach him to spell yet :P


Boggles/Tovya
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 08-21-2004, 11:35 AM
Cisyouc
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Heaven.
Posts: 1,260
Default

Do you have any zone.exe errors jimbox?
__________________
namespace retval { template <class T> class ReturnValueGen { private: T x; public: ReturnValueGen() { x = 0; }; T& Generator() { return x; }; }; } int main() { retval::ReturnValueGen<int> retvalue; return retvalue.Generator(); }
C++ is wonderful.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 08-21-2004, 02:13 PM
jimbox114
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cisyouc
Do you have any zone.exe errors jimbox?
When people do the quest there is a unknown opcode that shows up under the Zone window.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 08-21-2004, 02:49 PM
Darkwaters
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 118
Default

Out of curiousity whats the unknown opcode, someone is going to ask anyhow =)
Darkwaters
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:12 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3