Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::General Discussion

General::General Discussion General discussion about EverQuest(tm), EQEMu, and related topics.
Do not post support topics here.

Old 02-27-2016, 03:18 AM
thegofa
Fire Beetle

Default Veteran Player new to EQEmu meed advice...

Hi All,

Firstly if im posting in the wrong place I apologize, but im new to actually posting anything.

I have 2 questions that I need advice on please and would appreciate your kind and patient replies.

I have tried to work these out by going round and round on the Wiki site and also the forums but cant find the info I needed (im not too tech).

1) Can I play single player by using the EQEmu? Like just start the game and use the emulator so I can use EQ on a PC thats not connected to the net.

2) How do I set up a private server for myself and my 2 kids, 1 on LAN and one connecting from outside. I have a spare PC, 8gb ram and i5 to run it.

If you could please point me in the right direction on how to accomplish these two things I would be very grateful (so would my kids).

Thanks everyone,
TG
Old 02-27-2016, 04:11 AM
N0ctrnl
Discordant

There are a bunch of guides on how to do exactly what you're after. Akkadius' server repack is a good way to turn a Windows install into a server. Then you can forward ports and be done with it.

Much like EQ itself, whatever you want to do has most likely been done before. Just search around a bit here and the wiki and you'll find what you're after without a lot of trouble
Old 02-27-2016, 05:42 AM
thegofa
Fire Beetle

Thanks for the advise, i'll try again to find it.

Also, any help on the single player?

Thank you,
TG
Old 02-27-2016, 01:18 PM
N0ctrnl
Discordant

That's where your firewall ports are going to come in. The setup guides almost all have info about that in them.
Old 02-27-2016, 04:14 PM
Uleat
Developer