Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Archives > Archive::Development > Archive::Quests

Archive::Quests Archive area for Quests's posts that were moved here after an inactivity period of 90 days.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2004, 04:36 PM
dank
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default Problem installing IO::Scalar

perl installed without problems, but when i try to "install IO:Scalar i get this error..
Code:
IO-stringy-2.109/README
Removing previously used \.cpan\build\IO-stringy-2.109

  CPAN.pm: Going to build E/ER/ERYQ/IO-stringy-2.109.tar.gz

Checking if your kit is complete...
Looks good
Writing Makefile for IO-stringy

IBM(R) Program Maintenance Utility for Windows(R)
Version 3.50.000 Feb 13 1996
Copyright (C) IBM Corporation 1988-1995
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp. 1988-1991
All rights reserved.

        @ C:\Perl\bin\perl.exe "-MExtUtils::Command" -e mkpath blib\lib
NMAKE :  fatal error U1081:  '@' : program not found
Stop.
  "C:\perl\nmake.exe"  -- NOT OK
Running make test
  Can't test without successful make
Running make install
  make had returned bad status, install seems impossible

cpan>
any suggestions...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-07-2004, 08:50 AM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

it sort of looks like you have an @ in your config in place of a program and or path
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-07-2004, 10:19 AM
Eglin
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 168
Default

rofl... ibm make? sux to be you


j/k. the make dependency is a mistake on the part of cpan. it would make a lot more sense to use perl to automate the install. whatever the case, just untar the archive and copy the modules to an appropriate location.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-07-2004, 01:55 PM
farce
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 126
Default

you need a copy of nmake...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2004, 03:16 PM
samandhi's Avatar
samandhi
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,056
Default

What is happening is you left out a step after installing perl. Well, you also have to have a copy of nmake.exe. Here is a quote to help you. And the link to download nmake.exe is here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurker_005
To get perl installed and working

Download activestate perl 5.8 msi package Then install using the default settings for everything. Now reboot so path changes take affect.
Congradulations, Perl is installed.

Now to install IO::scalers
You will need a copy of nmake.exe if you don't have one. nmake.exe save with a .exe extension.
Type the following in a dos window

Code:
perl -MCPAN -e shell

hit enter on all config defaults except for location of nmake.exe
Put quotes around the path to your nmake.exe if it includes spaces

Code:
install IO::Scalar

Wait till it is done, and says "install OK"


Perl problems people have had
If perl isn't installed propperly the zone windows will seem to just disapear after starting up.
Zone.exe with perl quests requires perl58.dll to ONLY be in your perl\bin directory. Make sure you do not have another copy on in your windows\system32 (or elsewhere in your path) Note that is perl58.dll
While IO::scalers is not required for perl quests, the precompiled exe's that were released with perl scripts also included the perl plugins as well, which do require IO::scalers to be installed for perl. To test if IO::Scalars is installed type the following in a dos window

Code:
perl -MIO::Scalar -e "print 'AOK'"
If you get an error it isn't working. See above for how to install IO::scalers
And if you havnet compiled eqemu to be perl enabled, you will have to follow this guide (as Im not sure if there are any perl enabled binaries out YET in the 0.5.3 versions).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lurker_005
You either have to download the pre-compiled binaries with perl support, or you have to compile the binaries yourself.

Right now by default perl is not enabled when you compile. You will need to define EMBPERL for perl quests, and/or EMBPERL_PLUGIN for perl plugins (remember plugins require IO::Scalers)

To create another build configuration with perl support in VC++6
open the server (or zone) project
menu-- build,configurations
select zone-win32-Release and press add
set the configuration name to Relase with Perl
set copy configuration from zone-win32-Release
menu-- build,set active configuration
select zone-win32-Relase with Perl
menu-- Project, settings
Select c/c++ tab
with the category pulldown reading General add ,EMBPERL,EMBPERL_PLUGIN to the end of the Preprocessor defines
Change category to Preprocessor and put c:\perl\lib\core in the Additional include Directories
select the link tab
change the category to input and put c:\perl\lib\core in the Additional library path
Close window
menu-- project, add to project, files
select zone\embparser.cpp make sure it has insert into: zone selected
do the same for embperl.cpp embparser.h and embperl.h

Now you can build a zone.exe with or without perl support. It will put the zone.exe with perl in a sub directory of the zone source. This is how I set it up so that it worked. If there is a "proper" way please let me know.

If compiled with perl quest, all quests must be in perl format. the *.qst files will not be read!
__________________

Quote:
Analysis paralysis will keep you from failing, but it will also keep you from succeeding.
  • L.L. CoolJ
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-07-2004, 04:16 PM
dank
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Code:
it sort of looks like you have an @ in your config in place of a program and or path
yeah thats what what i thought it was....but i followed lurkers walkthru to a tee and also added the path to winrar for tar and zip files, with " signs like this "C:\program files\winrar\winrar.exe"
i placed nmake.exe in c:\perl\namke.exe
Eglins response seem pretty viable (<---is that a word)
although i didn't understand what u meant, i should untar what now... with a name like eglin i would guess u know alot about linux and thats cool, when i started to toy with linux i had a neverending bout with some crap about "make" and .makefile or something like that, i would be gracious if u could give me a quick rundown on what modules i need and if putting them in my \perl\bin directory would be the appropriate place to place the modules
thanks
also...i need to have perl enabled binaries...i hope i don't need to go sofar as to install cvs and all that...but if so i guess i can stumble through it....
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-07-2004, 07:06 PM
samandhi's Avatar
samandhi
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,056
Default

Ok here goes.

What you need to do is to take that nmake.exe file and put it not in C:\perl but in C:\perl\bin directory.... Now run the config of perl and leave EVERYTHING as default, including the nmake.exe because it will find it this way... NOW try installing your IO::Scalar....

Oh one thing you have to change if you are behind a router, you will have to put your proxy (read, your ip address of your router to act as a gateway) Otherwise leave everything alone, it will do it all on its own beleive it or not..
__________________

Quote:
Analysis paralysis will keep you from failing, but it will also keep you from succeeding.
  • L.L. CoolJ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-07-2004, 10:40 PM
dank
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

ok i moved nmake.exe to the bin dir and then after i typed install IO::Scaler i got this message, i don't know if its good or bad...come to think of it if this installed correctlly does this mean i now have to install everytime i start the server or do i just start cpan.bat in the background, i am unsure of what i have to so after i have completed this portion...i have several .pl files in the \eqemu\quest directory...what is the next step?
oh yeah the error or non-error or whatever this is.....
Code:
IO-stringy-2.109/t/Common.pm
IO-stringy-2.109/t/IO_WrapTie.t
IO-stringy-2.109/COPYING
IO-stringy-2.109/contrib/
IO-stringy-2.109/contrib/Clever.pm
IO-stringy-2.109/MANIFEST
IO-stringy-2.109/README.system
IO-stringy-2.109/Makefile.PL
IO-stringy-2.109/README
Removing previously used \.cpan\build\IO-stringy-2.109

  CPAN.pm: Going to build E/ER/ERYQ/IO-stringy-2.109.tar.gz

Checking if your kit is complete...
Looks good
Writing Makefile for IO-stringy
    -- OK
Running make test
Bad command or file name
   test -- OK
Running make install
Bad command or file name
   install  -- OK

cpan>
i know i am close to the solution, and am eager to begin writing my own quest...eqemu is my passion!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2004, 07:39 AM
farce
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 126
Default

you dont have to do anything with perl after you install the necessary modules.

read the perl quest howto and try them.. if they work.. then your install worked.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2004, 04:48 PM
Lurker_005
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tourist town USA
Posts: 1,671
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dank
i got this message, i don't know if its good or bad...
Exit cpan, and close the doe window. The install is done, now "to test if IO::Scalars is installed type the following in a dos window"

Code:
perl -MIO::Scalar -e "print 'AOK'"
And it should respond with AOK
__________________
Please read the forum rules and look at reacent messages before posting.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-08-2004, 09:49 PM
samandhi's Avatar
samandhi
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dank
i know i am close to the solution, and am eager to begin writing my own quest...eqemu is my passion!
If you read my erlier post that was quoting a tutorial, you would see that for one, you have it right, secondly you would also see the command how to test it... Not trying to offend, but people that want help simply need to READ, hell I put it all in this one post for you....


[edit]
Quote:
Originally Posted by dank
.i have several .pl files in the \eqemu\quest directory...what is the next step?
Nothing, your done, just make some more quests or whatnot.. as long as those .pl files are in the right place (which it looks like they are), you are all set.
__________________

Quote:
Analysis paralysis will keep you from failing, but it will also keep you from succeeding.
  • L.L. CoolJ
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-08-2004, 10:31 PM
dank
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

ok, that responded with:

Code:
Microsoft(R) Windows 98
   (C)Copyright Microsoft Corp 1981-1999.

C:\>perl -MIO::Scalar -e "print 'AOK'"
Can't locate IO/Scalar.pm in @INC (@INC contains: C:/Perl/lib C:/Perl/site/lib .
).
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted.

C:\>

also when i restarted cpan.bat and it told me that i should try install Bundle::CPAN, which i do, after it downloads for a short time it gives me this message:
Code:
CPAN-1.76/README
CPAN-1.76/SIGNATURE
Removing previously used \.cpan\build\CPAN-1.76

The bundle file "\.cpan\Bundle\CPAN.pm" may be a broken
bundlefile. It seems not to contain any bundle definition.
Please check the file and if it is bogus, please delete it.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

The bundle file "\.cpan\Bundle\CPAN.pm" may be a broken
bundlefile. It seems not to contain any bundle definition.
Please check the file and if it is bogus, please delete it.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

The bundle file "\.cpan\Bundle\CPAN.pm" may be a broken
bundlefile. It seems not to contain any bundle definition.
Please check the file and if it is bogus, please delete it.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

The bundle file "\.cpan\Bundle\CPAN.pm" may be a broken
bundlefile. It seems not to contain any bundle definition.
Please check the file and if it is bogus, please delete it.
Sorry for the inconvenience.

cpan>
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-09-2004, 12:58 AM
Scorpious2k's Avatar
Scorpious2k
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,067
Default

It still doesn't know where nmake is because it keeps that in a config file.

I would uninstall/get rid of perl. That's extreme and there is another way to do it, but this is safest and easiest. Then reinstall it

Next run the perl -MCPAN -e shell. When it asks you if you are ready to manually install... in the words of Nancy Regan.. just say no. It will find nmake and make the config correct.

Then you can do the install IO::Scalar. It should work. Test it as Lurker_005 says above.
__________________
Maybe I should try making one of these servers...
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-09-2004, 06:21 AM
samandhi's Avatar
samandhi
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,056
Default

Quote:
in the words of Nancy Regan.. just say no.
LOL
__________________

Quote:
Analysis paralysis will keep you from failing, but it will also keep you from succeeding.
  • L.L. CoolJ
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-11-2004, 10:27 PM
dank
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Default

ok i deleted \perl and \.cpan and reinstalled perl, place nmake in /perl/bin and typed perl -CPAN -e shell, said no to the manual config
Code:
IO-stringy-2.109/README 
Removing previously used \.cpan\build\IO-stringy-2.109 

  CPAN.pm: Going to build E/ER/ERYQ/IO-stringy-2.109.tar.gz 

Checking if your kit is complete... 
Looks good 
Writing Makefile for IO-stringy 

IBM(R) Program Maintenance Utility for Windows(R) 
Version 3.50.000 Feb 13 1996 
Copyright (C) IBM Corporation 1988-1995 
Copyright (C) Microsoft Corp. 1988-1991 
All rights reserved. 

        @ C:\Perl\bin\perl.exe "-MExtUtils::Command" -e mkpath blib\lib 
NMAKE :  fatal error U1081:  '@' : program not found 
Stop. 
  "C:\perl\nmake.exe"  -- NOT OK 
Running make test 
  Can't test without successful make 
Running make install 
  make had returned bad status, install seems impossible 

cpan>
back to the original error...
i am gonna see if i can find a perl forum or something, will keep reply if i hit on anything...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:19 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3