Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-21-2008, 12:46 AM
Stick001
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .
Posts: 10
Question error msg with start.bat / zone.exe / world.exe

ok so i have the start.bat coding correct but when I run it, the second window "zone.exe" flashs and closes in a flash.

I ran the "zone.exe" in cmd and this is the error msg's i got.

Failed to open log file: logs/eqemu_debug_zone_1432.log
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT] Loading server configuration..
Unable to load 'eqemu_config.xml': Failed to open file
[Debug] [ZONE__INIT_ERR] Loading serverconfiguration failed


I double checked the eqemu_config.xml file and its saved correctly.

below is my code
-----------------------------------------------------------------

<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>The Sand Box</shortname>
<longname>The Sand Box</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<!--<address>69.254.xx.xxx</address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>xxxxxxx</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>

----------------------------------------------

hiding the password and IP for the forum. but the are correct in the real file of course.

any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-21-2008, 04:14 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Well, the IP config you have set in there is commented out anyway, so it isn't being applied. Which is good, because you don't need/want to set to settings anyway unless you are doing some very specific setup and know exactly what you are using it for.

The only thing I see wrong with your config is this:

<shortname>The Sand Box</shortname>

As far as I know, you don't want any special characters (including spaces) in your short name. That is the name your server will name the UI settings files for the characters who join your server. I would suggest trying something simple like "sandbox" for the short name.

You should run your world.exe from command prompt and post the output from that if you are still having issues. It should show your issue in it.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2008, 10:50 AM
Stick001
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .
Posts: 10
Default

well i fixed <shortname>The Sand Box</shortname>
to <shortname>sandbox</shortname>
saved the file and looked it over agian. tried to run the start.bat and still had the same issue, checked the zone.exe in cmd and still same error. and then i run the world.exe its basicly the same sept it is [Debug] [WORLD__INIT]. The full text below.


Failed to open log file: logs/eqemu_debug_world_3500.log
[Debug] [WORLD__INIT] Loading server configuration..
Unable to load 'eqemu_config.xml': Failed to open file
[Debug] [WORLD__INIT_ERR] Loading server configuration failed.

not sure why it would not be "loading" the eqemu_config.xml file. its in the eqemu directory and is saved as a XML file.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-21-2008, 10:57 AM
Stick001
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .
Posts: 10
Default

oh im also running windows vista basic. dont think that would be causing this issue tho.

I also thought maybe I corrupted or tainted the file save, so I pulled a fresh "eqemu_config.xml" file out and replaced the old, reedited it and tried to run the "start.bat" agian, still having the same issues
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-22-2008, 03:59 PM
Riotgamer2212's Avatar
Riotgamer2212
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Windows vista isn't the best for doing anything. it may just be that vista is doing that. i tried vista for a while, i hated it it wasn't good for anything, gaming, development, so it just may be that vista is doing that to you. but may not be i dont know. have you tried downloading or redownloading the lastest version of eqemulator? that might fix the problem
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-22-2008, 05:50 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Ya, I still haven't heard any confirmations of someone being able to get the server to run on Vista. The only other thing I can think of is to make 100% sure your file is saved as an XML extension and not .TXT or .DOC because windows loves to hide "known" extensions.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:10 PM
Stick001
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: .
Posts: 10
Default

ya, im waiting to get my XP PC back up and running. Kinda put my project on hold for the time being. We will see what happens from there i guess hehe.

I do have a 2003 server PC, any idea how well EQemu runs on that? only problem is its just a AMD XP 1.4ghz processor with 3gb ram. not sure how that will handle multi zones running.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-13-2008, 10:52 PM
warsonofrage
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 22
Default

im having a similar issue though on a windows xp box. near as i can tell the config is fine...so im confused. posting config here if anyone can suggest help please im desparate

<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<eq2revelations>whatever</shortname>
<EQ2 Revaltions Custom Legit/PvP>Your server name</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<!--<address>Serving Machines IP</address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<+_+_+_>Your Password</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>

i +-+- the password but otherwise the config is unchanged. in a notepad created xml format.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-13-2008, 11:18 PM
GeorgeS
Forum Guide
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 1,475
Default

Actually everything runs fine in vista - gaming or whatever. Emu 1920x1200 in vista32 looks pretty good.

//
GeorgeS
__________________
Your source for EQ database tools
Toolshop is open for business


http://www.georgestools.chrsschb.com//
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-13-2008, 11:24 PM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Your config is completely wrong. You need to only be changing the stuff in between the 2 identifiers.

So, where you have:
Code:
<eq2revelations>whatever</shortname>
<EQ2 Revaltions Custom Legit/PvP>Your server name</longname>
It should actually be:
Code:
<shortname>eq2revelations</shortname>
<longname>EQ2 Revaltions Custom Legit/PvP</longname>
You don't want to change anything in between < and > on the config, only between > and <.

So, where you have your password is wrong as well. Other than that, it looks ok. Just make sure you change them the right way and they should work.

Also, I wanted to note that it looks like you have a spelling issue in your long name "EQ2 Revaltions Custom Legit/PvP", and that if you are still having problems once your config is fixed, you might want ty try removing the slash between Legit and PvP; "Legit/PvP".
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!

Last edited by trevius; 08-14-2008 at 07:27 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-14-2008, 07:40 PM
koldar
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 45
Default

I see a couple more potential mistakes:
Code:
<!--<address>Serving Machines IP</address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->
This only applies if you are trying to run your own server. I would uncomment both lines and place the actual ip in that first line (not loopback or 127.0.0.1).


Code:
<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>
These two lines do not exist at all in my config.


Code:
<+_+_+_>Your Password</password>
The first part of this should say 'password' not '+_+_+_' to be valid xml - the password should reside where it says 'Your Password'.



Question:
Are you trying to run your own server or connect to EQEMU's public server?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-17-2008, 10:53 PM
warsonofrage
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 22
Default

ok due to being used to the old fashioned config.ini i was thinking that i had to add the stuff inbetween the <> however after the reinstall i looked and saw the comment in server list "peq says to change me" rofl long story short i figured out that part pretty quick. thanks a lot for the help as for the ip stuff im behind a router and i think i need to set up port forwarding which may be the death of me as ive never done that before.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-12-2008, 12:52 AM
Brad1112223
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: --
Posts: 11
Default

I am having a somewhat similar problem. I run world.exe in the command prompt and the prompt says: Unable to load 'eqemu_config.xml' error: the file is empty. I am running:

Active Perl 5.8.2.808
I have the two dll files, my map files, and the spell files in the right place.
EqEmu-0.7.0-1129
MySQL 5.0.67 -win 32

Here is my eqemu config.xml file:

Code:
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>JarksServer</shortname>
<longname>Virtue</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<!--<address></address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>********</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>

And, of course my start.bat file is correct. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-12-2008, 02:33 AM
trevius's Avatar
trevius
Developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 5,946
Default

Copy the text in between the quotes here "eqemu_config.xml" and make sure not to copy the actual quotes. Right click on your eqemu config.xml file in your C:\EQEmu directory and select Rename. Then, highlight the name of the file and right click and select Paste. Then press the enter key. If it gives you a message about renaming the file extension, just click OK or Yes. Then try running your server again and let us know what happens.
__________________
Trevazar/Trevius Owner of: Storm Haven
Everquest Emulator FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) - Read It!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-12-2008, 09:09 AM
Brad1112223
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: --
Posts: 11
Default

I renamed it, though that was its name to start with and it didn't ask me to replace the extension because it already had an xml extension to start with. None the less, I get the same error.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3