Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Feature Requests

Development::Feature Requests Post suggestions/feature requests here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-24-2010, 01:40 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

I have a proposition:

If variable size cannot be changed to a larger one, I would propose a work around:
-we add a table to DB called XP_curve
-in this table we have 3 columns: Level, XP_needed, XP_per_NPC

so for example: Level (2), XP_needed (5000), XP_per_NPC (500)

what this means, is that Lev 2 takes 5000 XP to achieve, and level 2 mob gives 500 XP.

This way, I can scale down entire table, lowering Xp need per level, and xp per npc lev, in order to fit MORE levels into XP variable so it doesn't roll over (why use 5000 and 500, when you can do 50 and 5?)

This will also allow LIVE-like servers to stay with live-true XP curve, while custom server can fine-tune their XP curve, and smooth out hell levels, or in fact add more of them, anyway they like

You could also create such things, as 0 XP per specific level npcs, using this table, if needed and so on.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2010, 07:29 PM
blackdragonsdg
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 654
Default

ChaosSlayerZ, some of what you are talking about is already possible to do. Changing the xp needed per level and the amount of exp an npc gives out is easy to achieve without adding new fields. Simply changing the modifiers in the source accomplishes that task. I can already level to 253 by experience. Maintaining a live like exp curve is possible but will take lots and lots of tuning of one of the modifiers.

I have read several times on these forums that some of the server administrators have already accomplished leveling to 100 and beyond. Exactly how they did it on their servers is unknown but I have already posted how I achieved that task. My method was not flawless but it does work.

However I do agree that it would be alot easier if it were possible to control those changes in the database.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-24-2010, 08:00 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

yeah that the problem - doing your own source changes puts a tremendous overhead on server maintenance.
and every time you want to stay up to date with Emu source improvements, you have redo all these changes manually and hope you don't break something.

Not to mention my one extra table, allows fine tuning of XP curve on the fly, without the need to ever touch the source and screw something up, given our primary devs would be willing to implement this feature

My C coding skills are not at the level where I would feel comfortable, of running my own source, hence I am totally dependent on official Emu devs
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-26-2010, 04:59 PM
Caryatis
Dragon
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Milky Way
Posts: 541
Default

Nobody is going to add that table to the official source though as nobody would want to adjust exp levels on the fly as you suggest. Why? because screwing with the exp curve means all existing chars get messed up, either losing levels on death or losing levels when you ding, etc. Many things get messed up for existing chars when you change the exp curve.

Blackdragon posted a workaround for what you need and if you want you can adjust those levels as you see fit. Secrets has also posted his source on how he got to level 65k.

You can see people who wanted this change bad enough to learn the very basics of coding(look at what blackdragon posted, its not advanced enterprise level C++ coding, its basic 'if-then' statements, anybody can understand that), if you wanted this change on your server then it wouldn't be an issue for you to spend a few hours of your time to learn how to do it. Which is alot more effective than putting in your sig to get somebody else to do all the work for you and posting for over a year hoping somebody notices.

Quote:
doing your own source changes puts a tremendous overhead on server maintenance.
As somebody who freely admits to not being knowledgeable enough to change his source code, Im curious how you can be knowledgeable enough to know how much effort is involved in keeping custom source updated(its not hard at all).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-26-2010, 05:26 PM
blackdragonsdg
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caryatis View Post
Secrets has also posted his source on how he got to level 65k.
Where was that posted at? That could give me an answer to one of the problems I encountered changing the source to go to level 254.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-27-2010, 01:00 AM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caryatis View Post
Nobody is going to add that table to the official source though as nobody would want to adjust exp levels on the fly as you suggest. Why? because screwing with the exp curve means all existing chars get messed up, either losing levels on death or losing levels when you ding, etc. Many things get messed up for existing chars when you change the exp curve.
not unless you starting off a fresh a server with no chars

Quote:
You can see people who wanted this change bad enough to learn the very basics of coding(look at what blackdragon posted, its not advanced enterprise level C++ coding, its basic 'if-then' statements, anybody can understand that), if you wanted this change on your server then it wouldn't be an issue for you to spend a few hours of your time to learn how to do it. Which is alot more effective than putting in your sig to get somebody else to do all the work for you and posting for over a year hoping somebody notices.
This is a problem in Emu coding which wasn't addressed back in day cause no one cared for going over lev 70 at the time. Now, with all the catching up with SoF and SoD, the live cap has hit level 90, and you WILL have to change the code in order to catch up.
But if devs would have thought about planning one little variable like 5 years ago - we would not have this problem today.
So yeah, I do hope SOMEONE, from official devs, will finally notice this.


Quote:
As somebody who freely admits to not being knowledgeable enough to change his source code, Im curious how you can be knowledgeable enough to know how much effort is involved in keeping custom source updated(its not hard at all).
while i do not work C code myself (oh I know C, I just choose never to mess with custom changes outside of official code), at THF we have lots of custom coding which makes its hard to keep up to date with official updates, and Lilu, our boss, as already pulling his hair out over this. So, trust me, I know what I talking about =P
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-28-2010, 04:44 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

yeah thats why I am trying hard to get KLS attention to make this fix official
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-29-2010, 11:02 PM
ChaosSlayerZ's Avatar
ChaosSlayerZ
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Umm
Posts: 1,492
Default

btw there is a rule which controls XP loss on death, you may want to take that into account when changing the modifier
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-31-2010, 08:26 PM
Astal
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 236
Default

So has anyone actually figured out what should be done exactly, I looked at secrets post on page 4 (im not good with C++) im gonna maybe try and implement it. All i need is level 100, but im getting a bug when i go past like 80ish.

When i attack a creature, my hp regens the exact amount ive lost when im higher than level 80 until my hp is at like 50% then it works as if it were normal



Edit:

Ok it seems to be a problem with the client i assume? Since live only goes up to 85 atm?

Anything past 85 bugs out on the display. I guess there is no way around that. Anything past 90 causes HP to regen back any damage taken until my hp is below 50% ish.

If anyone knows hot to fix this please let me know. Im trying to allow my server up to level 100
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-31-2010, 10:56 PM
blackdragonsdg
Dragon
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 654
Default

Short answer is yes, it is possible to level to 100 and beyond. What I posted above will get you to max 253. There are other work arounds, one of which allows you to level up to 65535 I believe it was and it can probably be expanded beyond that if you really wanted to.

The hp flux sounds like an older emulator bug that was fixed. If your display is cutting off hp, mana and endurance values then mod the display to allow for larger numbers.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:42 PM
Akkadius's Avatar
Akkadius
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MN
Posts: 2,071
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Astal View Post
So has anyone actually figured out what should be done exactly, I looked at secrets post on page 4 (im not good with C++) im gonna maybe try and implement it. All i need is level 100, but im getting a bug when i go past like 80ish.

When i attack a creature, my hp regens the exact amount ive lost when im higher than level 80 until my hp is at like 50% then it works as if it were normal



Edit:

Ok it seems to be a problem with the client i assume? Since live only goes up to 85 atm?

Anything past 85 bugs out on the display. I guess there is no way around that. Anything past 90 causes HP to regen back any damage taken until my hp is below 50% ish.

If anyone knows hot to fix this please let me know. Im trying to allow my server up to level 100
You start opening a can of worms post level 86, I have ways of showing information to clients but it's not the most efficient way to handle it. You cons are also completely jacked.

Both two small things in my opinions that I could have generated in a utility window for players but just letting you know ahead of time it's not clean cut.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:55 PM
Astal
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 236
Default

Yeah im probably not gonna mess with it right now. I dont really NEED post 85 levels. Was gonna do it if it wasnt a pain hahaha
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:43 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3