Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::General Support

Support::General Support Post all topics here having to do with errors while trying to connect to an EQEMu server but not about the setup/running of the Server itself.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2019, 07:18 PM
Quientus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 23
Default Question regarding GM status

Greetings,

So one of my players (GM) asked me if there was a way to make the #gm off command "work", as to not still showing up as GM ?

Even though he uses the #Gm OFF, he still shows up as GM to players who do a /who command (when in same zone), the /who all command doesn't show him as GM when he as it toggled off.

So I was wondering if it is possible to fix this ? or does he have to make a completely new character, if he wants to play as a "regular" joe ?

Thanks in advance !

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2019, 09:07 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,741
Default

I added it to my list of things to look at..

..someone else may get to it before me.

(I've never paid attention to see if this is happening...)
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-30-2019, 04:19 AM
Quientus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uleat View Post
I added it to my list of things to look at..

..someone else may get to it before me.

(I've never paid attention to see if this is happening...)
Thanks for the swift reply, and for looking into it - I'm still a newb when it comes to coding and such, and don't wanna mess too much around with a working a server lol
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-30-2019, 09:35 AM
joligario's Avatar
joligario
Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,403
Default

Perhaps he actually isn’t turning off GM mode. If his window is defaulted to group (or other channel) it won’t pick it up. To be sure, have him target himself and do /say #gm off.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-30-2019, 03:26 PM
Quientus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joligario View Post
Perhaps he actually isnít turning off GM mode. If his window is defaulted to group (or other channel) it wonít pick it up. To be sure, have him target himself and do /say #gm off.
It's the same regardless of which window he writes it in.

I logged on to the account and tried myself ... It says "no longer GM", yet when you do a /who (while in the same zone), he will still pop up as "GM" tagged ...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2019, 08:14 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,741
Default

I had to take a nap..some of the results I was getting earlier were .. illogical...

Both '/who' and '/who all' are matched in their behavior for gm flags.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-31-2019, 04:01 AM
prestanneth
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 25
Default

GM off could set like hideme in the account table like /hideme or GMHideMe() func
- think that removes from /who, cant remember ever using, maybe useful..


KentaiVZ
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-01-2019, 08:34 PM
Quientus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by prestanneth View Post
GM off could set like hideme in the account table like /hideme or GMHideMe() func
- think that removes from /who, cant remember ever using, maybe useful..


KentaiVZ
Its a possibility, however .... that makes him invisible to all the players ... - however not the mobs ... ><
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2019, 01:52 PM
boxedguy
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Washington
Posts: 12
Default

My account status is set to 255 and with #GM off I can't see my own GM tag after I zone. I can still see account status 255 but that is just a gm privelege I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2019, 06:38 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,741
Default

GM off you shouldn't be pegged as a GM.

The /who (all) gm should only find gm-flagged players..not statused ones.
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-02-2019, 08:49 PM
spiritchaser
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 29
Default

Unless someone is using the gm #who instead of the regular /who all. I'm using updated, compiled source and the whole who business seems to be working good. As far as that #gmhideme, it's not all that cracked up to be anything too usefull. It's just an uber invis. A regular player can still do a /who all and see the toon listed, so it really doesn't hide a known GM name, even if the gm tag is off, his name still shows up on a who all.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-02-2019, 09:19 PM
Uleat's Avatar
Uleat
Developer
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,741
Default

That does need to be reworked...
__________________
Uleat of Bertoxxulous

Compilin' Dirty
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-02-2019, 09:51 PM
spiritchaser
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 29
Default

That whole GM thing with the green flag above your head is more of a novelty than anything. At the very most, the tag can verify the identity to a player. Other than that, the only good use I found for having #gm on, is freely being able to wander around a zone without mob aggro, while I get things worked on. I would think logs are more practical than having the time to play sneak and hide trying to catch players breaking server rules. Just my opinion anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-03-2019, 12:59 PM
Scorpious2k's Avatar
Scorpious2k
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 1,068
Default

Having GM also turns on the official GM commands in the client. I get a lot of use out of some like /goto
__________________
Maybe I should try making one of these servers...
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-03-2019, 01:58 PM
spiritchaser
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 29
Default

Oh definately, the whole GM command system has some advantages for everyone's individual needs. I have little hotkeys made up for common uses, but I make up some for frequent travelling when I am working on a zone. Like right now, I am doing some things in the ecommons tunnels, so the hotkey is made for #zone ecommons x,y,z putting me where I need to go. For what I am doing, I don't necessarily need a status above 1, I just need the command settings adjusted to make all the #commands available to me. I have hotkeys made up for things like #reloadquest, #repop, and many other ingame editing commands, but I very rarely need the #gm on so I don't really use it much. I have things adjusted so I don't get those annoying dev stat windows that pop up now when a gm targets an npc, or player. But I'm sure many are enjoying that kind of thing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3