Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Development > Development::Development

Development::Development Forum for development topics and for those interested in EQEMu development. (Not a support forum)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2019, 04:04 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 157
Default NPC's falling through floors in Burning Wood

Some NPC's in Burning Woods work great until they start to flee. The moment they begin to flee, some NPC's (not all) will fall through the floor, then pop back up on the ground about 10 seconds later. I can see them at this point, but I cannot hit them anymore.

I've seen it happen to Wurms and Giants so far. Doesn't seem to happen to other races yet.

Any ideas what would cause this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-29-2019, 07:52 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 872
Default

I've been having this problem for months. Have tried different map files from various years. Have tried generating new map files. Have mentioned it a few times in Discord.

No solution yet. Temporarily just made all the npcs no-flee.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-29-2019, 09:04 PM
Huppy
Dragon
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 933
Default

I desperately tried to replicate your issue. I went into Burningwood with a non-gm toon and pulled a ton of mobs, (wurms, giants, etc.), over 45 minutes. None of the fleeing mobs ever went into the ground. I tried both RoF2 and Titanium client, using current source and database. I tried ..... lol
__________________
Don't hate the dev...hate the game ....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-30-2019, 11:46 AM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 872
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Huppy View Post
I desperately tried to replicate your issue. I went into Burningwood with a non-gm toon and pulled a ton of mobs, (wurms, giants, etc.), over 45 minutes. None of the fleeing mobs ever went into the ground. I tried both RoF2 and Titanium client, using current source and database. I tried ..... lol
Yeah. I even rebuilt a lot of the grids just to be safe. Tried static grids and dynamic pathing. Still having the issue lol.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-30-2019, 04:33 PM
Huppy
Dragon
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrsschb View Post
Yeah. I even rebuilt a lot of the grids just to be safe. Tried static grids and dynamic pathing. Still having the issue lol.
I'm actually suprised to hear of anyone still having any serious issues with mobs dropping, especially since the Navmesh system came along last year. I really haven't run into much of that in a long time. But all that work done on the mob movement overhaul last december seemed to help out a lot.
__________________
Don't hate the dev...hate the game ....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-30-2019, 04:47 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 157
Default

It's really tough to replicate because it doesn't always happen. Even for me, it happens SOMETIMES, but it does happen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2019, 05:06 PM
Huppy
Dragon
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by strugglegenerator View Post
It's really tough to replicate because it doesn't always happen. Even for me, it happens SOMETIMES, but it does happen.
Ya, but I have a test server here that I play on all the time, and I never see those issues. It used to be a problem a long time ago, but since many updates done to the source code in the last year, I don't see it anymore, in any zones.
__________________
Don't hate the dev...hate the game ....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2019, 05:50 PM
Huppy
Dragon
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 933
Default

Something that is really unfortunate on these forums, is when a server is having some kind of glitch or issue, not too many of the other servers are willing to chime in and let us know how many are having the same problem, and if not everybody, then figuring out what the difference is. Like now, there is 140+ active servers. But even the PEQTGC, is that server having this problem ? We use the same stuff they have. (database, code, etc).
__________________
Don't hate the dev...hate the game ....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2019, 06:22 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 872
Default

The real kicker is that it only happens in a single zone.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-30-2019, 06:23 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 157
Default

Yup. Only in Burning Woods.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11-30-2019, 06:25 PM
Huppy
Dragon
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 933
Default

Curious, have you guys updated your maps since July ? (burningwoods was added then)
__________________
Don't hate the dev...hate the game ....
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-30-2019, 06:28 PM
chrsschb's Avatar
chrsschb
Dragon
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: GA
Posts: 872
Default

Yeah, that map was added because of me reporting this issue.
__________________
Clumsy's World: Resurgence
Clumsy's World [2006-2012]
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-30-2019, 06:31 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 157
Default

I started my server on May 31st, 2019.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-30-2019, 06:35 PM
Huppy
Dragon
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 933
Default

Actually, I got the date wrong, the .nav for burningwood was commited Aug 27
https://github.com/Akkadius/EQEmuMaps
__________________
Don't hate the dev...hate the game ....
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-30-2019, 06:40 PM
strugglegenerator
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Riverhead, New York
Posts: 157
Default

So that update doesn't happen automatically? I need to manually overwrite the nav folder and the tools folder with the files supplied in the github link and then reboot my server to see if it fixes Burning Woods?

Just trying to understand the workflow here as I've never done that type of update yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:56 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3