Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Quests > Quests::Q&A

Quests::Q&A This is the quest support section

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2007, 04:55 AM
BWStripes
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 65
Lightbulb quest::fanfare

Just a nostalgic thing, I know - a quest command to play that trumpeting fanfare you used to get on completing quests

- Stripes
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2007, 09:48 AM
cavedude's Avatar
cavedude
The PEQ Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: -
Posts: 1,988
Default

you mean quest::ding?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2007, 05:09 PM
Sakrateri's Avatar
Sakrateri
Dragon
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England
Posts: 776
Default

in the words of the immortal Homer Simpson............DOH !
__________________
KhepriGames

Game Gallery

My Forums

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2007, 04:55 AM
BWStripes
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 65
Default

Possibly - with a name like quest::ding() I just assumed it played the level "ding" rather than the trumpet fanfare... heh, and just tested the line:

quest::ding();

in a quest handin - doesn't seem to do anything right now...

If it does actually fanfare, it's fair cop :p
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2007, 09:59 AM
oghog
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 42
Default

Never seems to work for me either
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2007, 12:20 PM
DarkGothic's Avatar
DarkGothic
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Wear are you placing it in the script? It work fine on my server.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2007, 08:22 PM
BWStripes
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 65
Default

Any NPC, usually in the sub EVENT_ITEM section where handins occur.
e.g. added ding to Zamel.pl in south qeynos when I originally wrote it, and then removed it as it didn't do anything (back in v0992).
Faction hits and exp appear correctly, however.

Feel free to shift this to the support section

Code:
sub EVENT_ITEM {
  if($itemcount{13713} == 1){
    quest::say("Yes,  I do believe this was the child's dress.  Here, take this as your share of the reward.  Her father will be heartbroken..");
    my $ZamelReward = int(rand(100));
    if ($ZamelReward<=35){
      quest::summonitem("10320","1");
    }
    else {
      quest::summonitem("10018","1");
    }
    quest::givecash("0","4","0","0");
    quest::faction(36,5); #Guards of Qeynos
    quest::faction(9,5); #Antonius Bayle
    quest::faction(53,-1); #Corrupt Guards of Qeynos
    quest::faction(33,-1); #Circle Of Unseen Hands
    quest::faction(217,5); #Merchants of Qeynos
    quest::exp("100");
    quest::ding();
  }
}

Last edited by BWStripes; 08-02-2007 at 04:26 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2007, 06:31 AM
DarkGothic's Avatar
DarkGothic
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Default

Ok here it is tested it on my server works well, I all ways place it as the first (quest:: ) and remember it just ( quest::ding )nothing after ding.


Code:
Code:
sub EVENT_ITEM {
  if($itemcount{13713} == 1){
    quest::ding
	quest::say("Yes,  I do believe this was the child's dress.  Here, take this as your share of the reward.  Her father will be heartbroken..");
    my $ZamelReward = int(rand(100));
    if ($ZamelReward<=35){
      quest::summonitem("10320","1");
    }
    else {
      quest::summonitem("10018","1");
    }
    quest::givecash("0","4","0","0");
    quest::faction(36,5); #Guards of Qeynos
    quest::faction(9,5); #Antonius Bayle
    quest::faction(53,-1); #Corrupt Guards of Qeynos
    quest::faction(33,-1); #Circle Of Unseen Hands
    quest::faction(217,5); #Merchants of Qeynos
    quest::exp("100");
  }
}

#End of updated file Zamel.pl
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2007, 06:52 AM
oghog
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 42
Default

Thanks for the info DG, Ill test this on one of my scripts tonight!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-2007, 12:05 PM
oghog
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 42
Default

Still no luck, I even copied and pasted your script on an NPC and did the hand in of the small dress after doing a #reloadpl and it did everything but make the sound.....


Im clueless at this point...

Edit:

Im using the titanium client as well.

Last edited by oghog; 08-02-2007 at 08:11 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-02-2007, 12:14 PM
John Adams
Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWStripes View Post
Feel free to shift this to the support section
Moved to Quest Q&A (until it turns out to be a bug )
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-03-2007, 09:44 PM
BWStripes
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 65
Default

This does not work for me either. Will try the windows server version later, as I'm running my testbed on Linux.

Edit: Doesn't work against the latest windows server either.
Might be a client issue. Since I'm using a flat, unmodified titanium install, I'm stuck :/

Last edited by BWStripes; 08-04-2007 at 06:09 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-03-2007, 11:56 PM
inkubus
Hill Giant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 146
Default

hehe wow i miss that fanfare sound! do doododododooo!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-2007, 05:20 PM
oghog
Sarnak
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BWStripes View Post
This does not work for me either. Will try the windows server version later, as I'm running my testbed on Linux.

Edit: Doesn't work against the latest windows server either.
Might be a client issue. Since I'm using a flat, unmodified titanium install, I'm stuck :/

Same here, running vanilla titanium.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-11-2007, 04:18 AM
BWStripes
Sarnak
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Finland
Posts: 65
Exclamation

I should have started by looking at the obvious.

Anyone running titanium is out of luck. quest::ding uses the sendsound() function, which picks up an opcode (I know, what doesn't?).

Line 383 of patch_Titanium.conf:
OP_Sound=0x0000

Whereas anyone running 6.2 gets:
OP_Sound=0x4a1d

i.e. No opcode for Titanium, no ding/fanfare. Darnit :p
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

   

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 AM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3