Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > General > General::Server Discussion

General::Server Discussion Discussion about emulator servers.
Do not post support topics here.

Old 11-20-2004, 02:56 PM
Wiz
Dragon

Default So you want to manage a server? (Guide)

For quite a while now, I've been observing servers come and go, and noticed a rather common trend of mistakes - in hiring. A lot of servers that had promise (Draclian, several old "Classic" servers, even GuildWars), have toppled and fallen because of mistakes in hiring staff. Corrupt GMs, egomanical hosts, server-hoppers, they all bring their particular brand of disenfranchment.

First, I'll start off with a short introduction of myself, and why you might be served to pay attention to what I have to write. I'm a developer, though it's more a title of recognition for early work on the project. I share my source work with the devteam, but I do not strictly work on the emulator as of present - I'm simply way too busy. I run Winter's Roar (see sig for link) which is at 2½ years, the longest running, most successful (in terms of sustained population) and the first custom-legit server in the history of EQemu, and previous to running WR, I have been involved in and administrated multiple UO servers, as well as being active in the POL development. Before you write an angry reply about how your server is better, I'm not claiming that Winter's Roar has the ultimate combination or the best content or anything else. But it has survived the rocky road littered with the wrecks of servers on all sides. Personal ego stroking concluded, I'll go into the good stuff, aka the actual guide.

Part I - Server Type