Go Back   EQEmulator Home > EQEmulator Forums > Support > Support::Windows Servers

Support::Windows Servers Support forum for Windows EQEMu users.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-18-2017, 06:59 PM
GRUMPY
Discordant
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 446
Default WORLD:Expansion Settings (overruled by default))

This is just something I noticed that "might" help people who are having trouble getting custom expansion settings to work.

I am not sure about the peq database that Akka's installer downloads, but the one I got from daily dump (feb 22) has one
of the rules from ruletypes.h not in the rulevalues table by default World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings
This, when set to true, overrides the World:Expansion Settings. In ruletypes.h it is set to true by default.
(I confirmed this today)
Code:
 RULE_BOOL(World, UseClientBasedExpansionSettings, true) // if true it will overrule World, ExpansionSettings and set someone's expansion based on the client they're using
For those who might not be aware, you may want to simply add this rule in your rulevalues table and set the value to false.
World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings false
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-25-2017, 08:21 AM
Didymus's Avatar
Didymus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GRUMPY View Post
This is just something I noticed that "might" help people who are having trouble getting custom expansion settings to work.

I am not sure about the peq database that Akka's installer downloads, but the one I got from daily dump (feb 22) has one
of the rules from ruletypes.h not in the rulevalues table by default World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings
This, when set to true, overrides the World:Expansion Settings. In ruletypes.h it is set to true by default.
(I confirmed this today)
Code:
 RULE_BOOL(World, UseClientBasedExpansionSettings, true) // if true it will overrule World, ExpansionSettings and set someone's expansion based on the client they're using
For those who might not be aware, you may want to simply add this rule in your rulevalues table and set the value to false.
World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings false
I love you! This problem was killing me for the longest time. No one could really help me solve this problem. Thank You sir!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-25-2017, 10:11 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

Wow nice find. I will check my database from akka installer today and see if this is in it. Hopefully it will work for me but I highly doubt expansion settings work with titanium at all anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-25-2017, 10:13 AM
Didymus's Avatar
Didymus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 12
Default

It worked right away for me =D
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2017, 10:15 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didymus View Post
It worked right away for me =D
On titanium?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2017, 10:24 AM
Didymus's Avatar
Didymus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NostalgiaEQ View Post
On titanium?
Yes it works as far as i can tell
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2017, 10:44 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didymus View Post
Yes it works as far as i can tell
Wow! If so Grumpy hit the jackpot!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-25-2017, 10:51 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

I can confirm that in the latest Akka/PEQ database World:UseClientBasedExpansionSettings is not there. So it should be added.

Excellent find, this has been a problem plaguing the community forever!

Question: What is the difference between rule sets 1 and 10? (default and eqemu default)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-25-2017, 11:02 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

for reference:



Cheers, yeah I've taken a look at that list and tried so many combinations.

Quote:
Expansions
Default: 511

Accessible expansions for all players.

0 - Classic
1 - Ruins of Kunark
2 - Scars of Velious
4 - Shadows of Luclin
8 - Planes of Power
16 - Legacy of Ykesha
32 - Lost Dungeons of Norrath
64 - Gates of Discord
128 - Omens of War
256 - Dragons of Norrath
512 - Depths of Darkhallow
1024 - Prophecy of Ro
2048 - Serpent's Spine
4096 - The Burried Sea
8192 - Secrets of Faydwer
Quote:
Locate variables table within Database. Then locate varname Expansions:

It is this variable that you need to change to restrict certain expansions (Classes/Races). Here is a few variables that will help you get started:

1 Default
2 EQ Only
3 EQ / Kunark - Enables Iksar Race Only
4 EQ / Luclin - Enables Vah Shir Race + Beastlord Class Only
5 EQ / Kunark / Luclin - Enables Iksar & Vah Shir Race + Beastlord Class
.
..
...
19 EQ / Kunark / Luclin / Ykesha - Enables Iksar & Froglok Race Only
20 EQ / Luclin / Ykesha - Enables Vah Shir & Froglok Race Only (No Iksar) + Beastlord Class
21 EQ / Kunark / Luclin / Ykesha - Enables Iksar, Var Shir, & Froglok Races + Beastlord Class Only
...
....
.....
255 Enables All Expansions + Berserker Class
I think the one directly above is from the old wiki. There's a million links to it.
Old broken wiki link

Lastly, there is this thread:
Is there any way to actually turn off expansions?

Like the OP in that thread, I don't understand where the 16383 comes from. I know the formula in post #3 (2^X-1 where X = Expansion Number. In this case X = 14) is where it comes from, but why is the expansion 14?

I've tried switching the expansion number, with limited success (from 1 - 8192, everything seems random. Some disable at high numbers, and really low numbers). Like I said in my first post, I can get it to disable berserkers and drakkin, but frogloks are always disabled too. I can also get it to disable vah shir and iksars, just can't get the right combination..

Edit: Just to clarify. 31 gives me everything but drakkin, frogloks and berserkers. 32 gives me base EQ from what I can tell (no iksar, vah shir, froglok or drakkin), 33 gives me Kunark.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-25-2017, 11:19 AM
Didymus's Avatar
Didymus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Hmmmm!

Maybe i am being a retard here but for some reason the expansion rule in variables dont seem to matter anymore.

Its all classic no matter what number i add
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 03-25-2017, 11:26 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

I made sure in my variables table expansions was set to 0 and in rule_values table World:ExpansionSettings set to zero.

And.....


IT WORKS! With titanium!


edit: well at least 0 expansions works! I'll try to get others to work.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-25-2017, 11:30 AM
Didymus's Avatar
Didymus
Fire Beetle
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 12
Default

Yeah i want kunark but i cant get it to work. Urrrg!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-25-2017, 11:33 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

YES! Hallelujah! It works it all works even with Titanium! The variables table expansions doesn't matter just World:ExpansionSettings now. We are saved! THANKS GRUMPY!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-25-2017, 11:33 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didymus View Post
Yeah i want kunark but i cant get it to work. Urrrg!
Yikes ill test it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-25-2017, 11:36 AM
NostalgiaEQ
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: us
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didymus View Post
Yeah i want kunark but i cant get it to work. Urrrg!
IT WORKS! Put in 1 in World:ExpansionSettings!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 PM.


 

Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
EQEmulator is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Except where otherwise noted, this site is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
       
Powered by vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Template by Bluepearl Design and vBulletin Templates - Ver3.3