Log in

View Full Version : error 2006..


gater1234
04-07-2002, 10:58 AM
my friend keeps getting this error, hes using a dialup modem and I'm using cable so I don't know how to help him. He has done everything step by step, and has winmysqladmin running, with a green light, with both the program and server as green light. He is using the IP from the database thing and has put that IP under the loginserver.ini, but when he connects he still gets all these errors from world.exe:

LoginServer.ini read.
Failed to connect to database: Error: Access denied for user: 'yoann08@localhost
' (Using password: YES)
Loading items...DB Query Error
Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
Error in PopulateZoneLists query 'SELECT MAX(id) FROM items' #2006: MySQL server
has gone away
done.
Loading guild ranks...DB Query Error
Error #2006: MySQL server has gone away
Error in GetGuildRank query 'SELECT id, eqid, name, leader, rank0title, rank1, r
ank1title, rank2, rank2title, rank3, rank3title, rank4, rank4title, rank5, rank5
title from guilds' #2006: MySQL server has gone away
done.
World server listening on: port 9000
Connected to LoginServer: eqlogin.gotfrags.com:5999

Shawn319
04-07-2002, 11:23 AM
You dont need winmysqladmin running (readme says to close it).

your problem is this "Failed to connect to database: Error: Access denied for user: 'yoann08@localhost"

This is caused by not entering the correct login/password in db.ini (it requires the mysql login/pass) or your friend didnt read section in the readme about setting up db.ini (probably didnt because he didnt listen to the Close winmysqladmin part).

try setting host=localhost and if that doesnt work try using 127.0.0.1

Read_Me_txt
04-07-2002, 02:26 PM
If you check your Login name and its the same, try changing your User name and password so that you dont have and numbers behind it. I had trouble opening my database when i had numbers behind my username and in my password. Removed the numbers and it worked fine.

Cast_The_Exiled
04-07-2002, 03:09 PM
i'm getting the same problem.... tried everything.. Shrug. I have no number in my user name, and db.ini is ok with Mysql username / pass.

Im running it on Windows xp... does it matter ?
Thx for your help

C_T_E

Trumpcard
04-08-2002, 12:49 AM
Shawn, can you put this fix in the readme, or make a sticky or something? This question is frequently asked...

Mysql has a very explicit permissions system for security, even if you have set the username/password, you may still get this error
if mysql thinks you are coming in from another machine.

The fix for this is very simple..

type mysql from the c:\mysql\bin directory


Need to set the permissions on user at that ip..


mysql>GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON eq.* TO someid@localhost
IDENTIFIED BY 'somepass' WITH GRANT OPTION;

or, the less secure but more useful technique that will allow you to log on with that user name from any machine.

mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON eq.* TO someid@"%"
IDENTIFIED BY 'somepass' WITH GRANT OPTION;

This option is useful if you are wanting to run EQAdmin from a different machine than your database box, or running your world/zone servers on a seperate box than your database.

Note, if you dont use the database name 'eq', you can replace whatever it is in the example above. Some people have suggested using *.*, but I discourage that as it gives someone the ability to drop your entire database if they could figure out the db password/userid. This might not be an issue for some people but alot of us use mysql for more than just the emulator..

Paradyme
04-09-2002, 10:12 PM
where exactly do you type that?

ibleet
04-10-2002, 05:04 AM
Start mysql.exe and you've found your answer. :)