Log in

View Full Version : Possible fix for 2006 error in mysql


Shawn319
04-08-2002, 01:44 AM
From Trumpcard.



Mysql has a very explicit permissions system for security, even if you have set the username/password, you may still get the 2006 error
if mysql thinks you are coming in from another machine.

The fix for this is very simple..

type mysql from the c:\mysql\bin directory


Need to set the permissions on user at that ip..


mysql>GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON eq.* TO someid@localhost
IDENTIFIED BY 'somepass' WITH GRANT OPTION;

or, the less secure but more useful technique that will allow you to log on with that user name from any machine.

mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON eq.* TO someid@"%"
IDENTIFIED BY 'somepass' WITH GRANT OPTION;

This option is useful if you are wanting to run EQAdmin from a different machine than your database box, or running your world/zone servers on a seperate box than your database.

Note, if you dont use the database name 'eq', you can replace whatever it is in the example above. Some people have suggested using *.*, but I discourage that as it gives someone the ability to drop your entire database if they could figure out the db password/userid. This might not be an issue for some people but alot of us use mysql for more than just the emulator..

Shawn319
04-18-2002, 06:37 AM
Also, Try running Winmysqladmin.exe in the backround or minimized if all elce fails.

veggita2099
04-25-2002, 03:39 AM
Should this say Query OK 0 rows effected in 0.0 sec when your finished??

Shawn319
04-25-2002, 03:49 AM
as long as it didnt say syntax error your fine.

that message is normal.

Trumpcard
04-25-2002, 05:20 AM
Here is the way to test your EQEMU id /password


cd to mysql/bin

mysql -u <user id> -p

It will ask for the password.

If it lets you in, your permissions are probably good.

If you get an 'Access Denied' , you need to apply the permissions fix.

Void
04-30-2002, 07:56 PM
****EDIT****

Im too stupid for words , fixed my problem i hope , i appologize for taking up space on your message boards lol.

Void

P.S. my problem was that i had tabbed a space after my user name in db.ini , and that was what was causing my problems.

Trumpcard
05-01-2002, 12:03 AM
Happens to the best of us man.. Whitespace errors are usually the hardest to catch.

Vn188zV7ZPc=
05-01-2002, 05:14 AM
thx for the tab after name fix idea =(
i was going bonkers trying to figure out what i had wrong.....

Arcalyn
05-31-2002, 04:41 PM
Good INFO!

chocobo
06-01-2002, 11:03 AM
Now what does this fix?