View Full Version : winmysqladmin problem
xtestx
03-23-2004, 05:09 PM
the guide i was looking at says start winmysqladmin and enter username / pw. I remember from when I had a server before if you already opened winmysqladmin once before you had to reinstall it so you can re enter username/pw ? well i have reinstalled about 3x and no luck being able to use a different username/pw. I forget what I used before also :\
Anyone know how to fix this so I can enter a new username and password?
Thanks.
Spike
03-23-2004, 05:18 PM
One HARD solution is after uninstalling it, re-start your computer. Go to where you previously had installed the folder at, and destroy it. (sometimes it leaves behined old databases).
One SIMPLE solution is go into mysqladmin.exe, click the My .ini Setup tab, and go down to where you see your username and password. Just edit that, then click the SAVE MODIFICATION button. This should change the pass and username.
Use either one of them, use the hard one if you wanna start off with a clean slate. Use the easy one to keep everything you have but the pass and username.
BTW if this doesn't work, slap me for being a noob please. Just saying some things I have never done before but sound to me like it should work...
xtestx
03-23-2004, 05:31 PM
worked :p put in my new username/pw but when i type
mysql> grant all privileges on *.* to lnlserver@localhost identified by 'my pw here' with grant option;
I put in my password with the two ' ' and without it, both didnt work and both times i got this error
ERROR 1045: Access denied for user: '@localhost' (Using password: NO)
any idea whats wrong?
xtestx
03-23-2004, 05:33 PM
nevermind :D fixed it
xtestx
03-23-2004, 05:37 PM
grrr now i cant get it to source source MW055_alpha_02.sql; ... I have it in my mysql folder, is it suppose to be somewhere else?
Spike
03-23-2004, 05:38 PM
Yes sir I do. I had to same problem and was away for 2 weeks without internet so I made this up. Probobly one of the devs already know this too... heres E X A C T LY what you do.
First go to ur Taskbar down at the bottom and click the START button.
Then, click RUN
click BROWSE...
Look for the mysql.exe file
After you find it click on it and it should appear something like this...
EXAMPLE: C:\mysql\bin\mysql.exe
Now after that command(text) type in -u root
So basically it should look like this (for me, EXACTLY like this)
EXAMPLE: C:\mysql\bin\mysql.exe -u root
You will get a DOS menu. Type in GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES on *.* to 'my username here'@localhost identified by 'my pw here';
Instead of the first star though... I type in my database instead, but that may not be necessary for you...
EXAMPLE: GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES on eq.* to 'my username here'@localhost identified by 'my pw here';
Spike
03-23-2004, 05:47 PM
It should work, just type in use (database name);
EXAMPLE: use eq;
Then type in source (file name);
EXAMPLE: source MW055_alpha_02.sql;
(most likely you forgot to use the database before sourcing the .sql file....)
ALSO the file is SAPOSE to be in the BIN folder right next to the mysql.exe program.
xtestx
03-23-2004, 05:48 PM
I've gotten myself passed that part :) Thanks! Any idea on how to fix the sourcing thing I'm having a problem with? its saying it cant open the file MW055_alpha_02.sql when i type "source MW055_alpha_02.sql;"
xtestx
03-23-2004, 05:49 PM
oh lmao you already posted that k ;p
xtestx
03-23-2004, 05:52 PM
hmmm i did this...
start -> run -> cmd
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Sean>mysql -u root mysql
Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 23 to server version: 4.0.18-nt
Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.
mysql> grant all privileges on *.* to lnlserver@localhost identified by 'my pw'
with grant option;
Query OK, 0 rows affected (0.00 sec)
mysql> create database eq;
ERROR 1007: Can't create database 'eq'. Database exists
mysql> use eq;
Database changed
mysql> source MW055_alpha02.sql;
ERROR:
Failed to open file 'MW055_alpha02.sql', error: 2
mysql>
notice Failed to open file 'MW055_alpha02.sql', error: 2
I have no idea why it isn't working, and yeah I put it in the bin folder
P.S. the reason why it said ERROR 1007: Can't create database 'eq'. Database exists cause I already created it on the passed 5 tries i've done :D
Jezebell
03-23-2004, 05:54 PM
prolly cause the file name is MW055_alpha_02.sql
lol
xtestx
03-23-2004, 05:56 PM
ugh that was a typo i must have done on that try :p the other ones all had correct spelling
Spike
03-23-2004, 05:58 PM
Im not really sure here. My guess would be to first shut off mysql then delete any databases that may have this information already in it. Or, just create a new database.... This is really a last resort though. More of a test...
xtestx
03-23-2004, 07:28 PM
finished setting up server :) but now i cant log in :D Error: 1017 to all who try to login. starting new thread
samandhi
03-24-2004, 05:10 AM
Your problem lies in WHERE you are putting the .sql file (read the db you want to use).. ... You are on the right track though, it doesnt go in c:\mysql but instead c:\mysql\bin That will fix your DB sourcing problem...
And if you are wanting to redo your UN/PW and dont remember it, or just want to do it the easy way, just open up c:\windows and look for a file called my.ini and delete it.. Now run winmysqladmin.exe from c:\mysql\bin and it will ask you for a new UN/PW...
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.