Log in

View Full Version : No connection to db???


VooodooKiller28
04-12-2004, 05:26 PM
So ive found the REAL problem after much search and fix attempts It says i have no connection to my db but my db is in the same folder as my world.exe and zone.exe and Boot5Zones.exe but not the same folder as My MYSQL . . .
The db is named db.sql
but in MySQLadmin.exe it is named as eq

Wat should i do?
Rename it? :?: :? :?:

And GANDAR i have S-EA-R-C-H-E-D!!!!!
For about 10 hours straight!
So get off my case.

gandar
04-12-2004, 07:43 PM
<sigh> and this would be why I don't usually reply to board support requests on any site... perhaps something in my personality...

I wasn't "on your case". Irregardless, there is no point continuing down that road.

Anyway...

Assuming that you have the MySQL service running, it is immaterial what your database is called.

As an example, the file named db.ini in your EQEmu directory should look like the following:

[Database]
host=localhost
user=username
password=password
database=eq
compression=off

Note that the line database=eq should be database=db on your system if that is what your database is called. The examples and instructions on the site make the assumption that your database is named eq (most tutorials instruct you to name it eq) - so perhaps this is where your confusion lies?

For the record, VooodooKiller28, perhaps I came across a bit rough in my earlier post and if so, I apologize.

If you continue to have problems with this, I would request that you post the contents of you db.ini file and perhaps the other files as well since your server is still not working ( loginserver.ini , miniloginaccounts.ini (if applicable) and output from minilogin.exe , world.exe and boot5zones.bat ).

Also, watch for trailing spaces - mostly a NO-NO in these files, with the exception of the miniloginaccounts.ini file. I had to edit mine on the command line to get it working because W!ndows was putting an invisible <CR> at the end of the lines. Ugh. Vi and edit.com are so much friendlier that way.

Good luck.
~Gandar

Monrezz
04-12-2004, 09:29 PM
db.sql is NOT your database.

DB.ini tells the emulator how to connect to the database, which Mysql is running. If you can't connect to the database, you've either gone wrong in db.ini or you don't have the mysql service running. This is assuming you've created and sourced the database...

VooodooKiller28
04-13-2004, 03:38 AM
Ok well then i found that DB file
heres the location : C:\MYSQL\data\eq
And heres the loc Db.ini file : C:\EQEMU
# READ README.TXT!

[Database]
host=localhost
user=VooodooKiller28
password=thepass
database=eq
compression=off


### --- This file tells world.exe what computer mySQL is on. Host should
### --- be left "localhost" unless mysql is on a differant computer than world.exe.


All the MySQL files are in C:\MYSQL
And The MySQL.exe, MySQLadmim.exe. . . are in C:\MYSQL\bin


Its ok Gandar I was kinda on edge, too many solutions that dont work lol. . .

O should db.ini be in the MySQL folder? :lol:

sheck
04-13-2004, 12:31 PM
# READ README.TXT!

[Database]
host=localhost
user=VooodooKiller28
password=tornado88
database=eq
compression=off




You don't use your forum name and password in the db.ini - you use the name and password for your mysql server. I'm just guessing of course, but dude - if that is your forum name and password, for the love of god, don't tell everyone your password! :)


-Sheck

samandhi
04-13-2004, 10:55 PM
Here is what you need to do (kinda' backtracking to make sure you have it all taken care of)....

First whatever DB file you decide to use db.sql or whatever it is called, you need to make sure that it is UNZIPPED and located in the directory \mysql\bin. Now follow these steps in creating a DB (which, again, you have done, but just to help alleviate ANY confusion as to what to do). Click start>run>type "cmd" (without the quotes) hit enter.. Now in the DOS command window type the following, hitting enter after every line (also note that I have changed the name of your DB so that you can have more than one existing without losing the one you previously had)..
mysql -b -u root mysql (the -b parameter turns off that nasty pc speaker)
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *.* TO <mysql usernam>@localhost IDENTIFIED BY '<mysql password>' WITH GRANT OPTION; (use this only if you havent used it before, and dont use the < and > keys)
CREATE DATABASE eq2;
USE eq2;
source <.sql file that you want to use>;
quit;
Close the DOS command window.
Now browse to your db.ini file which should be located in the same directory as your world.exe and zone.exe, and so on.. Edit this file... Here is how it should look, without the < and > keys:
[Database]
host=localhost
user=<mysql username>
password=<mysql password>
database=eq2
compression=off
Notice that I have changed the eq to eq2 becuse that is what you named the DB in the steps above..... You can have as many different DB's sourced at one time as you like, you just need a unique name for each one... All you have to do to use a different DB (such as switching from eq2, back to eq), is to edit your db.ini file and change eq2 back to just eq.

Hope this helps clear up any confusion you had...:)