PDA

View Full Version : Recent PlayerProfile changes


fathernitwit
07-29-2004, 06:55 PM
Hello,

Im new to eqemu, so please excuse any newbieness..

anyways, I just found out about eqemu like 3 days ago, so I have the newest client patches. And of course, I find out that all kinds of stuff is broken. So I have been hacking on it a little...

I have gotten a login server emulator up so that I can coerce the EQ client to connect to my local eqemu server... I can then create a new character without problems... And so I ran into the inability to connect to a zone, like many seem to be experiencing... So i did some research and looking at code, to little avail..

i ended up getting bored, and wondering what ever happened to showEQ... I used to use it when I played like 2 years+ ago, so I went to check out their project, and found a relavent post:
http://www.showeq.net/forums/showthread.php?t=4909&page=1&pp=15

so anyways, the moral of my story is that I got it working. The only change was:

/*0344*/ AA_Array aa_array[122]; // Length may not be right but i assume no class has more than this

uint8 unknown0524[720]; //7-14-04 patch... maybe pet data...

/*not 0588 anymore*/ char servername[64]; // length probably not right


I can now connect to my local zone servers, get logged in, and do stuff. I have never played another eqemu server, so I dont know what is broken or just different.. I can walk around, zone, talk to shop keepers, kill shit, gain a level, cast spells... stuff seems to be pretty functional.

One major problem I had was when I made an elf that started in kelthin (sp?), I was in a black room with a couple faintly lit walls, and I couldent move... so I just made another character :)

I just thought I would share this with you guys, maybe it will help something somewhere... I am now happy as I can log in to my local server. Hopefully it is actually playable for a while, until a more complete update to eqemu comes out.

I dont know if any of you guys keep an active eye on the showeq project, and since they are in a very similar market, why not take advantage of their knowledge. (and im sure code is sharing anyways, their packet header is very similar to eqemu's)

Xabob
07-29-2004, 07:01 PM
Hmmm interesting......someone should look into this

kathgar
07-29-2004, 07:36 PM
Considering two of the main devs have cvs access and are normally in touch with us.. yeah, we do work together.. I wouldn't mind looking at your stuff however.

I also just might to point out that I am a developer for eqemu, my aases are just being stupid.

fathernitwit
07-30-2004, 01:23 AM
I wouldn't mind looking at your stuff however.


What are you interested in seeing? So far, the only eqemu things I have changed are:
1. FreeBSD related compile errors
2. Change auth to use IP instead of what the client gives for login
3. Added that 720 byte buffer above to that structure.

As far as the login server stuff goes, im not convinced that I should be publicly disclosing it, now that I look at it, it should be pretty well covered under the DMCA. But right now it is just echoing back the same packets that eqlive's server does, and I use DNS tricks to make it connect to my server instead of the eqlive one I select.

RangerDown
07-30-2004, 01:39 AM
and I use DNS tricks to make it connect to my server instead of the eqlive one I select.

Just edit your eqhost.txt file and put your server's name and port number in place of the one that's there. That's the official EQEmu supported way of us switching from Sony's servers to Emu servers.

When you edit it though, I suggest using either WordPad or the MS-DOS "Edit" command. It seems Notepad saves CR/LF's in a funny way and the EQ client might reject the file.

Symptoms that the EQ client rejected your changed eqhost.txt file: It'll say something about an invalid eqhost.txt file when you try to log on, and then when you look at the eqhost.txt file again, it's been changed to include an "xp-smitchell" machine. (Most likely an internal SOE dev's machine from back when the login was being tested.)

fathernitwit
07-30-2004, 01:49 AM
I know, the main reason I rewrite is when I select the world... because I cant yet craft world list packets, so I use sony's list, and then change their world's DNS name to point to my local world server, no other quick way to get around that one.

kathgar
07-31-2004, 10:03 PM
I was referring more along the lines of seeing how/how well you code.

Doodman
08-06-2004, 04:17 PM
Nice work!

I've got a mostly implemented login server that will auth with the live client.

It is not "emulating" the loginserver like you talk about. Mine is a complete reverse-engineer of the protocol and the packets.

The way I am currently doing it is to use the encrypted portion of the user/pass packets as an "auth block". It stores it and the related LS account so that it can determine who logged in.

This coupled with the investigation you have done in to the change to EQEMu world/zone to be live compatible might move us to live compatibility. At least until launchpad comes.

Currently, I mostly afk as I just had a baby.. Time will free up sooner or later and I'll complete my loginserver.

wize_one
08-07-2004, 02:35 AM
/hyjack on

congrats doodman, bet your pretty sore just havin a kid and all..8) j/k.. grats daddy!