PDA

View Full Version : I need help with getting a server


Cari_Moon
08-20-2004, 10:27 AM
Can someone please direct me to a tutorial so i can setup my own server. please make sure the tutorial works.

thank you anyone who helps me

Darkwaters
08-20-2004, 11:14 AM
I posted my response here:
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=16734&start=0&postdays=0&postorder =asc&highlight=

You'll find the answers in this support section Tutorials and Howto

Darkwaters

Darkwaters
08-20-2004, 01:28 PM
Update to the last post I made since Virus's post is missing and no one has said whether I can re-add it back to the forum here is a cut and paste version of the page itself (it was a locked forum so there is only Virus's post).
If someone is not happy that I posted this or I missed a forum rule stating that I cannot quote it here Please remove the post for me so there is no issues. =)
Hope this helps a bit more,
Darkwaters


Virus's Original Post Posted: 05-29-2004 09:12 PM Post subject: Setting up an EQEMulator server as of 06/26/04

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Guide Edited: 5 time(s) in total.

TO POST A QUESTION, This guide requires:
- A computer
- Basic computer knowledge
- Common Sense (please)
- 1+ hand(s)
- 6MB+ HD

See? Easy peasy!

File Setup
First download the latest build (as of today) at
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=15601

Now go to http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/eqemu/EQEmu-0.5.6-Configuration.zip?download and download the latest configuration files.

Now you need a database. You can find the closest database to live at


EDIT: search for it in forums or go to http://ProjectEQ.net and signup then download section for databases. Probably okay to go there I'm not an admin or anything anywhere so please ignore me if this is not acceptable.


Virus's Original Post Posted: 05-29-2004 09:12 PM Post subject: Setting up an EQEMulator server as of 06/26/04 Continued

but if you want to start with an empty database you will use db.sql located in the c:/eqemu folder. Also to get the latest dumped items please download it from
http://www.eqemulator.net/newdumpeditems.sql.gz

Now extract all those files and put them in c:/eqemu.

Now go to
http://dev.mysql.com/get/Downloads/MySQL-4.0/mysql-4.0.20a-win.zip/from/pick
and download mysql and install it.

Server Setup
1. Go into c:/mysql/bin and double click winmysqladmin.exe and when a box comes up asking for a username and password, make one up.

2.Now the window should hide itself, if you want to use the projecteq database take it and move it to c:/mysql/bin. If you want to use a blank database take c:/eqemu/db.sql and move it to c:/mysql/bin.

3. Open up cmd by going to start->run->cmd and type in the following:
Code:
cd\mysql\bin
mysql -u root mysql
grant all privileges on *.* to user@localhost identified by 'password' with grant option;
create database eq;
use eq;
source (db.sql or MW_057DR2_alpha_1.sql depending on which db you decided to use)
source newdumpeditems.sql;
RENAME TABLE items TO items_;
RENAME TABLE items_new TO items;
quit
exit

When you are granting permissions replace user and password with the username and password you created after installing mysql and opening winmysqladmin.exe. A bunch of things should fly by after you 'source' with no errors.

3a. Now go into c:\eqemu and open up loginserver.ini
Code:
### --- This file tells world.exe what loginserver to connect to.
### --- Leave the account and password field BLANK.

### --- Public Login is un-supported as is LAN playing. We recommend using the eqemulator.net Loginserver ALWAYS.

### --- NOTE: You can NOT use the word "Server" in worldname.
### --- NOTE2: the word "Server" is added to each server automatically.

# READ README.TXT
[LoginServer]
loginserver=eqemulator.net
loginport=5995
worldname=Your Server Name Here (do not use the word 'server' in the name)
worldaddress=ExternalIP (http://www.whatismyip.com/)
locked=false

[WorldServer]
Defaultstatus=0
Unavailzone=

[LoginConfig]
ServerMode=Standalone
ServerPort=5999
UplinkAddress=
UplinkPort=
UplinkAccount=
UplinkPassword=

That is how your loginserver.ini should look exept replace Your server name with your server name and ExternalIP with your EXTERNAL IP ADDRESS (ex. 213.243.543.2) not your internal IP.

3b. Now open db.ini
Code:
# READ README.TXT!

[Database]
host=localhost
user=user
password=password
database=eq
compression=off


### --- This file tells world.exe what computer mySQL is on. Host should
### --- be left "localhost" unless mysql is on a differant computer than world.exe.

Thats what db.ini should look like except replace user and password with the user and password you madw when you first opened winmysqladmin.exe.

3c. Now open boot5zones.bat
Code:
REM: ****Read this first!!!****

REM: This file requires your real IP in the place of "ExternalIP" when you are connecting
REM: To the EQEmu Loginserver.

REM: When you are using minilogin, Replace all IP Addresses to say 127.0.0.1

REM: If you still get errors try using localhost instead of 127.0.0.1

REM:--------------Start-----------------------
@echo off

if NOT exist spells_us.txt goto NOSPELL

start zone . ExternalIP 7995 localhost
start zone . ExternalIP 7996 localhost
start zone . ExternalIP 7997 localhost
start zone . ExternalIP 7998 localhost
start zone . ExternalIP 7999 localhost
exit
cls

:NOSPELL
echo You did not copy the spells_us.txt from your everquest directory to this one. Please do so or zones will crash on startup.
PAUSE

REM:---------------END------------------------


4. Now copy the spells files (spells_us.txt and spells_en.txt) from c:/Program Files/Sony/EverQuest/ or where ever your EverQuest is located and copy those files to c:\eqemu.

5. Thats it! Now run world.exe and boot5zones.bat and your all set!

Setting your Server OP
Log into your server, make a character, then disconnect. Now open up a cmd again (start->run->cmd) and write this:
Code:
cd\eqemu
world.exe flag username 255
exit

Replace username with your account name that the admin logged onto the server with. You can use this method to set all your flags, but the easiest way is to go in game and type #flag status username, but you must be that status or above to do it.

Addon.ini
Addon.ini is the gm commands, not all are on there, so if you dont see one on there, just add it like the same format as the others. (ex. #npcspawn isnt on there, just defaulted as 190, but I can do !npcspawn=100 to change the status.

Database Addons
Full Loot Table --
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=13657
Instructions: Go into start->run->cmd
Code:
cd\mysql\bin
mysql -u root mysql
use eq;
source loot_update.sql;
source npc_types_update.sql;
UPDATE loottable_entries SET probability = '##';
quit
exit


A bunch of code should go buy after sourcing both, be patient, they take a while. Replace ## with the probability you want of the items dropping.

Complete EQLive Faction --
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14124
Instructions: Go into start->run->cmd
Code:
cd\mysql\bin
mysql -u root mysql
use eq;
source factionsList.sql;
source add_factions.sql;
source npc_faction_update.sql;
quit
exit

Once again, please be patient with this.

3rd Party Software
Cofrubens Quest Editor --
http://www.technoalchemy.com/eqemu/CQE.zip

Mangoo's Item Editor 2.0--
not finished yet (will update when though)

Router Fixes
Linksys --
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14112

All other errors, please see these links
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=12827

Any additional questions please feel free to post here.

Added 6/7/04 -- If you mess up by mistake, to delete the database Run cmd and type the following.
Code:
cd\mysql\bin
mysql -u root mysql
drop database eq;
quit
exit
[/b]

Added 6/26/04 -- If you want to compile your own binaries, there is a guide at:
http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=15328
_________________
Search pissing you off? Try the Help Center
Server: IRC.EQEMulator.net
Channels: #coe, #eqemu, #help
Circle of Elements Official Website

Last edited by Virus on 06-26-2004 01:21 PM; edited 8 times in total



The above quoted sections are from a member who seems to be here no more. I am not giving support on this post only a quick paste of the page I saved offline for my installation purposes.
Darkwaters

Melwin
08-20-2004, 02:10 PM
This is not the correct forum to ask for help in.

Moved to appropriate forum.

az
08-22-2004, 04:01 AM
Any of you guys (Darkwaters/Melwin) know much about setting up LAN games? If you could correspond with me in email, I'd appreciate it.

I am actually looking for EQEmu 4.4 because I hear it works best for LAN games.

I am just wanting to know exactly what I need over here (we're deployed in Afghanistan) to get this thing to work.

I have HUBs out the ass, computers, and a few copies of EQ that were last patched in April.

I downloaded a few databases (myra's and something else) that i could use as a Db.

I downloaded MySQL 5.0a but could not get EQEmu to download because of bandwidth problems from Afghanistan.

Please, I so badly want to get this thing working.

Thanks and please help,

Jason

johnsonjas@kaf.afgn.army.mil

If you need to email the files, great. I will accept anything or any help.