Log in

View Full Version : Activating linux files?


Spike
09-16-2004, 11:28 AM
How would I go about activation a linux file on a web host server?

It isn't going to be on my free hostultra account, but on my pay account on hostultra.com. I want to basically activate a dedicated linux file...

Install instructions:

On your linux box:
-Create a directory for the game. example:
mkdir /usr/local/games/ja
-Copy the linux binary into this directory
-Mark the file as executable. example:
chmod a+x /usr/local/games/ja/linuxjampded
-Create the 'base' directory. example:
mkdir /usr/local/games/ja/base
Note, YES, it is case sensitive and the program will look for all lower case
-Copy the files from the base directory of the retail CD into the
base directory you just created. In particular, the assets0.pk3, assets1.pk3 and assets2.pk3
Yes, you need all of them...
-Copy the libcxa.so.1 to your lib directory if it doesn't already have it. Example:
cp libcxa.so.1 /usr/lib



That's the instructions, how would I use it to activate the linux file?

If you could show me through example that would be of great help, maybe helping me understand it more.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
THIS IS MY FTP

placida.fu8.com >

www
tmp
public_html
public_ftp
mail
etc
.trash
.sqmaildata
.neomail
.htpasswds
.htmltemplates
.gnupg
.fantasticodata
.autorespond
libcxa.so.1
config.php
.spamkey
.phpchats
.mailboxlist
.lastlogin
.cpanel-ducache
.contactemail
.autorespond-loopprotect

sotonin
09-16-2004, 12:17 PM
you can't do anything through ftp.

You have to have shell access and log in via secure shell.

wize_one
09-16-2004, 12:48 PM
perl, a users dream and a system ops nightmare

Spike
09-16-2004, 02:02 PM
I'm sorry world builders but... can you talk in newbie language really quick cause, im just one giant newbie at this whole webpage stuff. Shell? Perl? What? How do I use this stuff?

sotonin
09-16-2004, 02:05 PM
well linux is a command line operating system at heart.

shell is like a telnet for logging into linux command prompt.

imagine logging into dos prompt on a remote machine from your home pc. its like that. it plants you right into the file system of the server.

most hosts do not allow this. if they allow any shell it's very restricted and you can only access your little folder. more than likely you cant put ANY files into /usr/bin and the like. you need your own server for that stuff.

So you're likely shit outa luck. =(

Spike
09-16-2004, 02:15 PM
Nothing inside of my webhoster's control panel will allow me to activate a linux file?

http://img42.exs.cx/img42/8465/untitled486.jpg

daeken_bb
09-16-2004, 02:27 PM
If you mean 'execute', then you'll either need to write a script to execute it remotely, or have shell access... I think you're SOL on both counts.

govtcheeze
09-16-2004, 04:01 PM
If you have access to php (http://us4.php.net/manual/en/ref.exec.php)

eq_addict_08
09-16-2004, 08:04 PM
hehe, looks like it was set up for web site devevopement. Prolly get tiked at you for the cpu/mem usage you would get hosting an emu server from there...

Spike
09-16-2004, 11:22 PM
daeken_bb - Could you perhaps write a script for me, and tell me how to work it?


govtcheeze - I do have access to php, would it be a .php file to activate it? If so, what would I put into the .php file. Or, could you make me one and tell me how to work it?



Thanks for any help.

daeken_bb
09-16-2004, 11:29 PM
Read the manual page for exec() and figure it out.. you're not going to learn anything by having someone else do it for you.

Spike
09-16-2004, 11:47 PM
Just tell me if I am correct here...

The file is called jampded

start Notepad.exe minimized in the background:
$WshShell = new COM("WScript.Shell");
$oExec = $WshShell->Run("jampded", 7, false);

start a shell command invisible in the background:
$WshShell = new COM("WScript.Shell");
$oExec = $WshShell->Run("cmd /C dir /S %windir%", 0, false);

start MSPaint maximized and wait for you to close it before continuing the script:
$WshShell = new COM("WScript.Shell");
$oExec = $WshShell->Run("jampded", 3, true);

daeken_bb
09-16-2004, 11:51 PM
Heh, linux doesn't have COM... just use exec()

sotonin
09-17-2004, 01:04 AM
it wouldnt work anyways spike you would need to put those files it says into /usr/bin which i guarantee you dont have access too. you're screwed man you need your own server

wize_one
09-17-2004, 06:30 AM
start Notepad.exe minimized in the background:


yup thats linux alright