PDA

View Full Version : login files

mudman
06-01-2002, 11:52 AM
Hi all,

Hi,

I am new to the Emu community. I read the readme.txt very carefully and checked off things as I went. A couple questions, hopefully these have not been asked before too many times, I also read every post to check that but may have missed a couple. I shall just trace the steps in the readme, and mention where I had trouble with "?" after it :

I am attempting to make a server on the eqemu site

Part 1: Setting up to work with emulator
1)eqpatched to current version
2.3)EQW 2.22 downloaded
4)Eqhost.txt modified with eqlogin1.eqemu.org:5999 addresses and saved, (note I made a backup "safe" EQ directory, identical to the EQ files and folders of course), where I plan to run a "emu version" of eq from.

Part 2: Setting up the EQEmu
1)Unzipped eqemu-0.3.3.1-win32.zip to a dir called c:\eqemu, note I dint do anything with eqemu-0.3.3.1-source.zip that is for Linux I suppose ??
2)Copied spdat.eff from EQ dir to c:\eqemu dir
Part 3: mySQL setup
1)Dowloaded and installed mysql-3.23.49-win.zip
2)Copied db.sql to my C:\mysql\bin dir
3)Ran Winmysqladmin.exe and put in PW and username
4..6) Created database eq, and kept Winmysqladmin.exe running in background, green light.
7) ran mysql from C:\mysql\bin, typed "use eq", database changed
8) typed "source db.sql" no errors

Part 4:Setting up EQEmu ini
1)edit db.ini to have mySQL Pw and user names,
2)edit loginserver.ini as follows:

worldname=<<<here I put in my server name I just made up something?
account= left this blank
password= left this blank
worldaddress= I put in the IP my ADSL was currently using, this is a dynamic IP addy ???? not the IP of my PC itself

3) edit Boot5zones.Win9x.bat , since im using win98,
"YourIP" 7995 127.0.0.1"
"YourIP" this text was replaced with my current IP which is dynamic

Part 5. Running the server
1)Ran world.exe, at this point it said done for all but , it did not say Loading spells?