PDA

View Full Version : Question on changing databases


Jermanfu
06-04-2002, 06:58 AM
Is there a way to change databases but keep your character and account info from an older database?

Shawn319
06-04-2002, 08:22 AM
in db.ini change

database=eq

to whatever DB u want.

Trumpcard
06-04-2002, 08:45 AM
mysqldump eq account > account.sql
mysqldump eq characters_ > char.sql

then, create your new database, say eq2.

Then,

mysql eq2 < account.sql
mysql eq2 < char.sql

that should put your old accounts and charcaters into your new database...

then follow shawns directions above

Shawn319
06-04-2002, 09:29 AM
Oh yeah he's right. i didnt listen to the question very well =P

Lurker_005
06-04-2002, 10:16 AM
Originally posted by Trumpcard
mysql -f eq2 < account.sql
mysql -f eq2 < char.sql


Otherwise it will stop because the tables are already there.


Also you can dump it in 1 command,
mysqldump eq account character_ > accounts.sql
then
mysql -f eq2 < accounts.sql

Same thing as what trumpcard posted, just a little shorter :p

Jermanfu
06-05-2002, 08:38 AM
great! Thanks for all the responses guys :)