Log in

View Full Version : money in game


kevin90
12-10-2006, 03:14 PM
I'm using minilogin, mysql 4.0.23, EQEmuServerPack-3.6, ActivePerl - 5.8.7 Build 813

Anyone know the db table that contains the players money? I'd like to modify the table a bit to start out my new character.

I'm looking for the sql command syntax or in game #rules syntax. Thanks in advance.

bufferofnewbies
12-10-2006, 03:18 PM
money ingame is encoded into a string file, as far as I can remember. Very difficult to modify.

if you just want to add money, do a #search big bag of
then #si on the big bag of plat's number, and sell it.

make sure you are near a merchant tho.. you will be very heavy.

Cripp
12-10-2006, 03:22 PM
yes like he said.. Money is stored in the player profile which isnt really accessible as far as i know.

kevin90
12-10-2006, 03:26 PM
Well I was able to summon the bag but I was not able to open the item.

Also for some reason when I put my mouse over an item and whether I rt. click or left click, I am not able to see the item stats. Any help on this?

bufferofnewbies
12-10-2006, 03:28 PM
it's not a bag as in container. Just an item that sells for lots of coin.

for item stats, dont click and release. right click and hold for the info to show up.

kevin90
12-10-2006, 03:37 PM
Cool thanks for the tip.

I have to admit, coming back from about 4 yrs. of break, My memory on how to play this game is slowly coming back to me :-)

BTW, is it possible to summon any item in the game? ex. Like a Fungi Tunic or a haste sash that drops off of a Froglok? Let me know hehe. Its the good old days of Kunark.

bufferofnewbies
12-10-2006, 03:41 PM
yep.

if you know the name just do a #search item name here

then #si search number returned

nmts
08-10-2009, 09:56 PM
what file and how is the string stored? It might be difficult to modify, but can it be read?

trevius
08-10-2009, 10:04 PM
It is stored in the character_ table in the big blob there. It can be read if you know how to read structures and hex. I think some of the php tools out there might be able to modify it, but you can't do it by hand.

nmts
08-10-2009, 10:06 PM
why is it stored this way? why not just make it a relationship table?

trevius
08-10-2009, 10:54 PM
I think storing it in the blob was just the most efficient way to do it at the time when that whole system was created. That was years ago when PCs were probably 1/5th the power they are now or less. It has already been discussed to move the entire player profile into it's own table, but that would mean a huge load of work. It would also mean something would have to be written to convert all existing PPs from the blob form into the new table form. And, anytime you are doing massive conversions like that, there is a high risk of running into an issue that could cause both you and your players big headaches. There is a ton of code built around dealing with the PP (player profile) as a blob, so if we changed it, every bit of code that currently uses it would have to be adjusted.

There are some definite benefits to changing it into a table format, but the work required to do so makes it hard to justify. The most obvious benefit is that any data such as coin could be very easily accessed and adjusted on the fly right from the database, or whatever. Another benefit is that we currently only use about half of the PP Blob right now, but we still allot the same amount of space for each blob, just half full of empty data. So, we could essentially cut database sizes by nearly 1 half, which would not only be nice on queries, but would save a ton of space for servers with a large player base (for regular DB backups).

It would be nice to see the player profile converted over at some point, but there is no telling if/when it will ever happen.

BTW, do you have an actual reason for replying to this 3 year old thread? You never actually specified why you were inquiring about the money stuff.

nmts
08-10-2009, 10:57 PM
I want to create a php script to monitor Platinum levels on a server... Can you help me try to decode the blob for the platinum a player currently holds?

basically id like to have a script that can be ran once a day to find out the current platinum on the entire server

trevius
08-10-2009, 11:34 PM
Maybe the query AndMetal posted in this thread can be of help:

http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/showthread.php?t=27660&highlight=SELECT

AndMetal
08-12-2009, 01:11 AM
I want to create a php script to monitor Platinum levels on a server... Can you help me try to decode the blob for the platinum a player currently holds?

basically id like to have a script that can be ran once a day to find out the current platinum on the entire server

It's been a LOOOOOONG time since I've messed with it, but check this out: http://code.google.com/p/customeqemu/source/browse/trunk/includes/profile.php