PDA

View Full Version : Failed to connect to database: Error: #1251


mrichburg
04-12-2007, 08:42 AM
I've been getting following error message when I run EQEmu:
Failed to connect to database: Error: #1251
(Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client)

Here my setup:

Op System: Windows 2000 Server
EQEmu Version: EQEmu-0.7.0-992
DB Version: peq (downloaded April 10th using WinCVS instructions)
MySQL Version: 5.0.37-community-nt
MySQL Admin Version: 1.2.11

I issued the following command in the MySQL Command Client:
GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON peq.* TO eq@localhost IDENTIFIED BY 'eq' WITH GRANT OPTION;

In the MYSQL Admin, I set the password to eq for the eq user

In have the following in my eqemu_config:
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>eq</username>
<password>eq</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>



Can anyone suggest any tips or tell me what I'm doing wrong?

techguy84
04-12-2007, 04:08 PM
Run this code first,

SET PASSWORD FOR 'eq'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('newpwd');

Where it says 'newpwd' type in your password that you used when you ran the Instance Configuration Wizard. Type it in between the ' marks and make sure they are still there otherwise the query wont complete. IF that dont work try this one and keep reading.

SET PASSWORD FOR 'root'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('newpwd');



Once that is done, I would suggest changing your xml to reflect this

<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>INSERT YOUR PASSWORD</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>

The reason being is that when you install SQL, your automatticaly given the Root account. Then you run the Instance Config and set the password for that account.

You then take this information and plug it into your xml like above. Hope this helps, and I hope you make it farther than me with the 992 release of the emu as I cant seem to get it going.

mrichburg
04-13-2007, 09:21 AM
Thanks for the response. That seemed to do the trick.

Darquedante
01-08-2009, 04:47 AM
Where do you run that code?

KLS
01-09-2009, 04:28 AM
That's mysql prompt. Mysql has a prompt typically at (%MySQLDir%)/bin/mysql.exe.