View Full Version : world server setup help
les2212
04-23-2007, 01:29 PM
okay i am lousy with sql. i followed the wiki as best i could and fresh installed everything 4 times to try and always got the same result. when i try and log onto world i get this.
[04.23. - 17:30:33] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_error_zone_3776.log
[04.23. - 17:30:33] Failed to connect to database: Error: #1045: Access denied for user 'eq'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
this is my Config.xml and ill tell ya right now im really confuced on this part still.
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>Eversmack</shortname>
<longname></longname>
<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<!--<address>127.0.0.1</address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->
<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account>root</account>
<password>megamanX</password>
</loginserver>
<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>
<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>
<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host> <port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>megamanX</password>
<db>peq</db> </database>
</server>
techguy84
04-23-2007, 04:10 PM
<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account>root</account>
<password>megamanX</password>
</loginserver>
Remove your username and password here, just leave them blank.
Now run this command in mysql
set password for 'root'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('Newpassword');
Also, if you followed my guide, I forgot a step in the original guide so here it is.
Copy your spell_en.txt and spell_us.txt files out of your Everquest Directory to you EQEMU directory. This will fix a Zone.exe crash error.
substituting Newpassword for your password. Leave the ' marks in it also.
HnathBST
04-24-2007, 06:58 AM
It appears that somewhere you have set the username eq for your database...
more then likely it is in your minilogin.ini
just check in there and see what the username and password is. you can change it or you can add that user to ur data base.
personally I have seperate users because its a little bit more secure that way
EQ - has all access to my everquest database.
to set this open up a command prompt:
and type
mysql -u root -p
then your screen should look like this:
Welcome to the MySQL monitor. Commands end with ; or \g.
Your MySQL connection id is 3
Server version: 5.0.37-community-nt MySQL Community Edition (GPL)
Type 'help;' or '\h' for help. Type '\c' to clear the buffer.
mysql>
then type:
grant all privileges on ax_peq to eq@'%';
note: my database is named ax_peq
then to change the password:
set password for eq@'%'=password('eq');
and of course subsitute username and password where applicable.
to test exit mysql and try logging in with eq (mysql -u eq -p) and entering the password.
--hnath
les2212
04-24-2007, 12:56 PM
thank you hnath, that took care of that error. i made sure to add the 2 files also tech. now i have run into a problem many have had with the 1251 error, i have read thru the forums after doing the search and tried there remedy but didnt get any change. should i uninstall mysql 5.0 and go to 4.1 ? last i see thats available. one thing i also notice , the start ms dos promt script. after world fails to load. the next command is:
Wait for World to finish loading... Press Enter when done.
that commands just comes up that wait isnt a valid command and it has me hit any key and tries to open eqlaunch immediatly.
techguy84
04-24-2007, 03:50 PM
the line that says Wait for World to Finish should actually have a echo in front of it. If the guide is missing that I will fix it, but it should read
echo Wait for World to Finish Loading.... Press Enter when its Done!!
Or whatever you want it to say, the echo tells dos that its a text line to display, not a command to run.
The 1251 is where of course, world cant connect to the database. My suggestion is to try one of these two steps.
1. Run this....
Set Password For 'eq'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('newpwd')
and substitute of course newpwd for your eq mysql user passowrd. Any time you make a account for mysql, and using a program that is not built for Mysql 5, but instead 4, liek the emu, you have to use this command to set the password format to the old version of Mysql.
2. try using the root username and the passowrd you assigned it when you ran the Mysql Server Instance Configuration Wizard. Also, make sure that when you did this (ran the wizard), you still disable strict mode, and add Best Support for Multilingualism or UTF8 for short.
After that run that set password command from my other post. Here is the reason
EqEmu is built for Mysql 4.0 and Mysql 5 uses new password formats. Running that command makes your password compliant for older programs (EqEmu)
Dont think that Mysql 4.1 works, but I could be wrong, it was a off release that not too many people messed with. When 5 come out, there were several reasons to make the switch so people took the time to learn what needed to be done to make it work with the Emulator.
Anyhow, try these two things and see how they work out.
les2212
04-25-2007, 02:21 PM
have tried and also
Set Password For 'eq'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('newpwd')
Set Password For 'peq'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('newpwd')
Set Password For 'root'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('newpwd')
just to make sure but still gettting the same code 1251 about the authentication and upgrading sql. I uninstalled and retried the whole thing over and im at the same place with the same error.
also to earlier on the check. i tried opening the eq@ in mysql and the password is not what i have set. apperantly that has something to do with the files i have downloaded altohugh i dont see how cause i took them from the links in the guide
techguy84
04-26-2007, 02:37 AM
In your original post, at the bottome under the databse information in the eqemu_config.xml file, the <port>3306</port> is right next to the <host> line.
If this is the same way that it appears in your xml file, I dont know if its the probelm, but <port> should be in a line of its own right below it. Like this (excerpt from my config file)
<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>127.0.0.1</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>Mypassword</password>
<db>ax_classic</db>
</database>
Also, what guide did you follow to set up your server. Try to follow the guide in my signature. It's simpler than having multiple Mysql accounts and its pretty much bug free now. Had serveral people get going on first try with it.
les2212
04-26-2007, 01:34 PM
was already on a seperate line and im using this guide
http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=ws992mysql5
from the looks of it, it is a sql problem right and not a router problem ?
techguy84
04-26-2007, 02:48 PM
I dont remember putting in something that made reference to setting up a 'eq' account for mysql. I always use root until I get the hang of mysql, if your not used to using it. Try to to use the root username and the password that you put in when you ran the instance server configuration. By using root, I mean in your eqemu_config.xml file.
Also to note, as I got a pm about this. When you uninstall mysql, you have to also go and remove the files and the directory manualy. In this directory, is a mysql database for itself that contains password and user information. If you do not delete this, and everything else, you will have tons of trouble when reinstalling. So do this, and then remove all the files from your emulator directory. Start back from complete scratch, using only what Is said in my guide, that way you have cut out multiple varibles so it is easier to troubleshoot.
This is just a personal opinion, as you can continue to work at your current set up in hopes of getting it going if you want to.
I know that someone along the lines you strayed from my guide alone as you have the 'eq' username. I know this comes from a early stage 0.7.0 guide as well as older 0.6.x versions. Try to stick with one guide as going between them for any reason is going to cause issues because the writes of the guides use different versions to get the server going. The only guides I recommend used in conjuction with mine are listed in it, and thats the Play Guide at the top, and the minilogin guide at the bottom. With the minilogin guide there are some steps that are not required, and there are some steps that you have to cater to my guide. This is the reason that I suggest using the public login, as there is less varible to look at when there is a problem. Once you get one going with just the basics, you can explore other avenues.
Anyhow, enough with the opinions. Let me know how using the root username goes.
les2212
05-04-2007, 04:48 AM
Yes I Deleted The Whole Mysql Folder When Uninstalling. Every One Of The 5 Times I Had To Do It. At No Time Did I Use Eq Or Input Anything Saying Eq But That Is The Error I Got Starting Off Wich Is Why I Granted Eq Access And Reset Its Password As Suggested By Another Member In This Forum Thread. I Am Going To Guess Its A Firewall Problem. I Have Seen Several Threads About This Issue And Noone Seems To Have A Clue How To Fix The Error. Your Suggestion Has Worked In The Past But Isnt Now.
Balkon
05-04-2007, 06:16 AM
Les, I'mhaving the same exact problem, and I think I finally got passed it, but when you do, you will recieve another error that does the same thing. I hope you get it working man, nothing has worked for me, thanks all for helping guys but I guess ima have to try to figure it out on my own. I thought it was my firewall too, but I have enabled the ports on my router, shut my router firewall off, shut my computer windows firewall off, the works, still the same outcome. What I did to get passed that error was I got the administration tool, went into setup variables, then security, and check marked use old passwords, restarted my server, and then the World server still wouldent start, but it was a new error, which you can see on my thread. I hope that helps you a little, also is there an earlier version of EQ emu that runs for the old crappy EQ classic version? I dont want anything fancy, just an oridinary Everquest world that me and my friends can have fun with, but all I have is EQ trilogy, EQ classic, and EQ Titanium. So if there is a trilogy version or classic EQ emu thats easier to set up? I'd like too do that if anyone knows of it.
techguy84
05-04-2007, 01:11 PM
Les, can you post your eqemu config file once again. Put it in code quotes. Also, what version of Mysql/Emulator and what database are you running.
Also, what did you do when you install mysql, as far as the instance server config. Did you select Support for UTF8, turn off strict mode ect...
Are you using the minilogin. Or just trying to make your server go on public.
les2212
05-05-2007, 11:35 AM
Code:
"<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world> <shortname>WorldServ</shortname>
<longname>Eversmack</longname>
<address>127.0.0.1</address>
<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5999</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>
<key>zone_launcher_key</key>
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>
<database>
<host>127.0.01</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>megamanX</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server> "
Sorry i didnt know how to put it in a code window. I followed the guide to the letter setting up pearl and sql. i noticed for pearl it opened i windows version that i couldnt figure out so i had to find the dos prompt version to install the files you had me install. no im not using the mini login yet. havent even mssed with it although it is in the folder.
les2212
05-05-2007, 11:44 AM
will show both error logs also
-----------------------
[05.05. - 19:45:08] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_debug_world_3460.log
[05.05. - 19:45:08] [WORLD__INIT] Loading server configuration..
[05.05. - 19:45:08] [WORLD__INIT] Log settings loaded from log.ini
[05.05. - 19:45:08] [WORLD__INIT] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.7.0
[05.05. - 19:45:08] [WORLD__INIT] Connecting to MySQL...
[05.05. - 19:45:08] [WORLD__INIT_ERR] Cannot continue without a database connection.
and
tarting Log: logs/eqemu_error_world_3460.log
[05.05. - 19:45:08] Failed to connect to database: Error: #1251: Client does not support authentication protocol requested by server; consider upgrading MySQL client
techguy84
05-05-2007, 01:22 PM
Ok, the buttons in the box where you type a post, at the end you will see a # sign. Highlight the text you want to put into a code box, and then click that little # to put code tags around it.
Anyhow, there is multiple formating issues in your config post, dont know if the forums are to blame, or if it looks like that actually in your file, but here is a exact look of what you should see.
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>WorldServ</shortname>
<longname>Eversmack</longname>
<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<!--<address>Serving Machines IP</address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->
<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>
<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>
<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>
<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>megamanX</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>
Feel free to copy that as it is directly into your eqemu_config.xml file. Cut and Paste to prevent any errors. That is taliored to you so you should have to change anything,
Also, when you put your password in, did you capitalize the X in megamanX also. Did you do this when you ran the
set password for 'root'@'localhost' = OLD_PASSWORD('megamanX');
les2212
05-05-2007, 02:08 PM
Exact same errors
techguy84
05-05-2007, 02:56 PM
Well, im kinda at a loss for words. I sent you a pm yesterday, did you get it. Might be a avenue you want to pursue.
les2212
05-07-2007, 08:46 AM
deleted everything, downloaded all the zips to a folder and followed your guide last night to a tee with even getting the older version of pearl, and im back to the original error. i figured id put as much info into this post to see if we're overlooking something.
operating system- windows xp home addition sp2
files used
ActivePerl-5.8.8.820-MSWin32-x86-274739
EQEmu-0.7.0-992
Maps.tar
new_maps
mysql-essential-5.0.37-win32
WinCvs2_0_2-4
Database - peqdb
for my config you will notice i only changed the password form original script and im sorry i have looked and i dont see the mark to add code for this post.
<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>whatever</shortname>
<longname>Your server name</longname>
<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<!--<address>Serving Machines IP</address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->
<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>
<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>
<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>
<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>megamanX</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>
my start.bat
@echo off
start world.exe
cls
echo Wait for World to finish loading... Press Enter when done.
pause
start eqlaunch.exe zone
exit
and lastly the errors
---------------------------------------------
[05.07. - 04:51:57] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_debug_world_3040.log
[05.07. - 04:51:57] [WORLD__INIT] Loading server configuration..
[05.07. - 04:51:57] [WORLD__INIT] Log settings loaded from log.ini
[05.07. - 04:51:57] [WORLD__INIT] CURRENT_WORLD_VERSION:EQEMu 0.7.0
[05.07. - 04:51:57] [WORLD__INIT] Connecting to MySQL...
[05.07. - 04:51:57] [WORLD__INIT_ERR] Cannot continue without a database connection.
---------------------------------------------
[05.07. - 04:51:57] Starting Log: logs/eqemu_error_world_3040.log
[05.07. - 04:51:57] Failed to connect to database: Error: #1045: Access denied for user 'eq'@'localhost' (using password: YES)
at no point did i put eq in any of the script so im guessing it may be something in the peqdb i patched from wincvs.
les2212
05-07-2007, 08:59 AM
okay figured out problem. there is 2 eqemu_config files
1. eqemu_config --- wich is a xml document
2. eqemu_config.xml ---wich is a full file it says
i was only rewriting the full file before. rewrote the other file and server has apperantly started
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.