PDA

View Full Version : Computer Question

megalomania
07-24-2007, 08:24 AM
I'm contemplating buying a server instead of another desktop machine so I can run another 6-10 instances of EQ. I've never purchased a server before, does anyone have any ideas on what I should look for in a machine?

- M.

Jonathan5
07-24-2007, 08:47 AM
I'm curious about the same thing, but if your wondering what you should look for in a machine they usally make those kind of obvious in servers, lets say because it's stacked with 4gigs of ram and unreal amount of hardrive space. I'm a noob so possibly other stuff like processor speed/bus speed and that stuff. I don't know what you mean by 4-6 instances of EQ... but I'd was curious about this incase a nice server was in the works and they needed someone to host it, I'd be willing to buy a server.

John Adams
07-24-2007, 11:33 AM
I'm not totally convinced this emulator (or it's population levels) requires super power to run. It seems rather sleek, with bandwidth being what chokes most people off. However, owning a real "server class" machine is very exciting. Some of my favorites are: Dell 1950/2950, those are fairly cheap and powerful. HP makes a bunch, too. Head over to NewEgg.com, search for Servers. Best bet (if you really want a server class machine) is to start with a base unit that is expandable... then add to it once you feel you've topped it off. Even then, you're looking at starting around $1500+ I believe.

For those who have a closet full of 20+ machines worth of parts (snicker), I still believe a P4 with some ram and fast HDD can hold it's own. Just split your SQL from your World and Zones... spread the work over multiple machines. Even if you make one machine do all the work, that could defeat the purpose. Most optimum and available server farms are clusters of machines, not a single - uber powerful one.

Hope this helps.

Jonathan5
07-24-2007, 11:48 AM