PDA

View Full Version : I feel bad

Docs
09-08-2007, 10:40 PM
I just realized, i am so far behind the times it isnt funny.

Graduate in college with good grades, leave to become a owner, and ceo of another company, and i havent been doing what i really enjoyed. I am a programmer. Now i am a hacker with 0 languages behind my belt.

I had at one time close to 10 languages (which btw, where the languages) I am finishing up on C, and C++ then i find out 15 years pass? and i havent been able to return to what i enjoy.

Something just isnt right here.

RangerDown
09-09-2007, 08:24 AM
Yeah, as you go up in the ranks you do less of the "task oriented" stuff and more of the general managing (which involves at least as much people management as it does task/project management). And most programmers by nature are task oriented, wanting to "get r done" and leave the big picture management to others.

As more of my hairs turn from brown to gray, I come to realize you've GOT to take a little time every now and then to do what you enjoy. Be that family if you have any, or hobbies like swimming/biking/golf/CHURN OUT A FEW (dozen/hundred/thousand) LINES OF CODE :D

Nice thing about being CEO is you usually don't have a problem getting a personal day here and there cleared with your boss :D

Later
~RD

John Adams
09-09-2007, 08:33 AM
I sympathize on a different level. In the 80's, I was a rising "rock star", as were about 20mil other kids in our 20s :) Music was my life, I lived it, breathed it, ate it, slept it. I barely had a real job because "music was my life" kinda involved. Made some records/CDs, did tons of studio work. End of the 80's, me and my girl decided to get married and have a baby... so that meant real job time.