Log in

View Full Version : Help starting up server correctly.


Zhaar
02-07-2008, 01:28 AM
Hello guys,

I am very new to this, and I am not good with computers. But I will try and explain the best I can.


I am trying to start a public server for everyone to log onto, but I am having some issues. My server doesnt seem to accept connections from outside my LAN. But it does show up on the server list, and I can log into fine on my server host computer and on another computer on my LAN.

I have followed the Techguys guide. but some of the things in the guide did not match what came up on my computer, for instance when I run start the guide says I should get 2 lines like this in my second window

DEBUG] [WORLD__LS] Connected to LoginServer: eqemulator.net:5998
[DEBUG] [WORLD__LS] LoginServer provided XX.XXX.XXX.XXX as world address

I only get: DEBUG] [WORLD__LS] Connected to LoginServer: eqemulator.net:5998 and not the second line.

And when I push enter it only loads ports 7000-7004 on world window, and the other window says 0:sleeping.

And for the ports, I am using a Netgear Router. And I followed a guide on how to forward ports on it. I opened ports 7000-7010, 9000-9100, 3306, 5998.
But when I was opening these ports it asked me for service names for the ports, is something special I need to type in there? Anyways I opened these ports on Inbound traffic and adressed to the IP of the computer I am hosting the server on. But I have no idea what the service name should be so I just typed something in.

And I have turned off my Windows firewall, and I have no antivirus/firewall going.

Here is what my xml says.

<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>C</shortname>
<longname>ZTest</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<address>192.168.0.3</address>
<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>X.X.X.X</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>


When my computer IP is in the Address line the server will only accept connections from the host server itself. and when I change the 127.0.0.1 in the localaddress line to my computer IP 192.168.x.x the server will accept connections from all computers in my LAN but still wont accept connections from outside my LAN.

Anyways I changed the IP back to address:192.168.x.x and localaddress: 172.0.0.1, as it says in the guide. If someone could try and log on for me so I can see if it works now. Server name is ZTest.


I really have no clue what can be wrong, if anyone could help it would be greatly appriciated!

Zhaar
02-07-2008, 01:49 AM
I am also wondering if anyone have some suggestions on Tools to use to alter the DB.

I am currently using Navicat and the newest Peq-pop DB. The peq DB I downloaded with cvs gave me 81 sql files, and when using Navicat and looking in the DB there are alot of variables and values I cannot see, for instance I can't seem to find a way to turn PvP on among other things

And it looks like it is really hard to change/build things thru Navicat, if you are going to manually create items/loot etc by typing all the lines in yourself. It would take like 30 minutes just to create an item.

Or have I got this program completely wrong? haha.


Anyways, are there any better tools out there to create items, loottables and things?

ChaosSlayer
02-07-2008, 01:57 PM
all prise GeorgeS for best tool package around =P

http://66.159.225.58/eqemu/eq.html

AndMetal
02-07-2008, 05:46 PM
<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<address>192.168.0.3</address>
<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>


address corresponds to your public IP address (what the Internet sees) and localaddress is what your LAN sees.

Change the IP in the <address></address> field to your public IP address or domain name (if you have a domain name for your IP address). If you're not sure what your IP address is, go to this website (http://www.whatismyip.com/) to find out.

Then, change <localaddress></localaddress> to whatever the LAN IP address of the server is, which based on the above information, looks to be 192.168.0.3.

Post back if you still have problems.

Zhaar
02-08-2008, 02:46 AM
I got the server to work by leaving those fields blank.

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<address></address>
<localaddress></localaddress>