PDA

View Full Version : Opinions are like...

RCPD0715
02-26-2008, 04:18 AM
Just wanted to get some opinions from some of the programmers and such...I am 30 years old and have always wanted to venture into computer programming and stuff, but I never have. I was wondering what some of the experts would suggest as advice for getting involved it it....as far as schooling or reading or just trial and error lol...its more of just an interest, than anything else. i know that the world of computers is so vast that dreaming of a career in it is slim to none at this point in my life lol...anyways thanks in advance for any responses....Ron

Andrew80k
02-27-2008, 07:00 AM
Hmmm. Been in the industry since the early 90's, mostly self taught but I have had some formal education in Sofware Development. I have degrees in Math and Physics, so no direct degree. I have a LOT of experience in the industry but I don't do a whole lot of development as a programmer any more. I actually do more development as a hobbyist now than I do in my job though I have done a fair amount of scripting and some Java development in the last year. Mostly utility stuff. If you want to learn to do it, the best way is to just do it. Lots of free compilers and information on the web. Just dig in.

Fridgecritter
02-27-2008, 10:25 AM
The best part about programming, or any other software related project, is you can just install the free software and start tooling around with it. When you mess something up (when, not if) you simply reinstall or wipe the project and start over, or change a few bits and bytes of data, and try it again.

The problem I had when diving into programming was it was a lot of redundancy. I like learning the theory of how something works, not the actual application of it. So once I learned how to make a script or snippet fire, I didn't want to put it in 50 other places in the application, even if it only meant copying and pasting. Even when VB auto-completes a lot of functions for you.