View Full Version : error unable to load eqtime.cfg
audioblivious
03-07-2008, 12:20 PM
how do i fix this?
Congdar
03-07-2008, 03:44 PM
create a text file called eqtime.cfg and put it in your c:\eqemu folder. Put this in the eqtime.cfg file:
1000
4
26
1
2
1600930
1196215337
RamsiMage
03-07-2008, 04:38 PM
I used this same file and it worked fine. But can someone break down what each number refers to?
Thks.
audioblivious
03-08-2008, 02:31 AM
ok thanks alot not one more question is there a way to auto load zones where i dont have to start them manually?
Congdar
03-08-2008, 04:42 AM
you shouldn't need to manually load a zone. your start.bat file should have a line:
start eqlaunch.exe zone
and in your database the table: launcher should have name=zone and dynamics=5 and this should be all you need. This will have all your zones be dynamically loaded when you zone to them. If there are particular zones that you want to be running at all times (static zone) then enter them into the table launcher_zones for example the Plane of Knowledge zone would be: launcher=zone zone=poknowledge and port=0
audioblivious
03-08-2008, 01:14 PM
i just want to have it load the zones auto
Sabyre
03-20-2008, 04:59 AM
create a text file called eqtime.cfg and put it in your c:\eqemu folder. Put this in the eqtime.cfg file:
1000
4
26
1
2
1600930
1196215337
What do these numbers represent?
Congdar
03-20-2008, 05:51 AM
dunno, I copied them from another post about eqtime.cfg. It does seem to set the date and time but it never changes or updates so it's always the same time at server startup.
AndMetal
03-21-2008, 06:57 AM
It looks like support for eqtime.cfg was added back in 0.3.13 (http://www.smithysanvil.com/topic_eqemu.html#pub_198375300):
Time of day now saves in a file (eqtime.cfg).
I just checked mine, and this is what it looks like:
1000
1
9
0
1
3100
1202280602
So it looks like it does change (mine shows last modified a few days ago, possibly when the server was last restarted).
In-game, the time is showing as Sunday, January 01, 3100 - 3PM. So, the 3100 (6th line) seems to correspond to the year. I would assume that the first row is the binary form of the day of the week, and the 2nd & 5th rows are the month & day. Everything else I'm not sure about.
The best thing to do would be change some values & restart the server. Worse case scenario, you have to change it back :-)
Congdar
03-21-2008, 07:31 AM
my file hasn't changed since december 2007 when i created it. how is yours getting updated?
Sabyre
03-21-2008, 07:38 AM
I have also noticed that the time will change depending on the zone you are in. I have seen 3100 and I have also seen 0000.
I wish this could be clarified as I would love to see the time system work properly.
AndMetal
03-24-2008, 04:04 PM
I did a little poking around the source, and discovered there is actually an eqtime.h (http://eqemulator.cvs.sourceforge.net/eqemulator/EQEmuCVS/Source/common/eqtime.h?view=markup) & eqtime.cpp (http://eqemulator.cvs.sourceforge.net/eqemulator/EQEmuCVS/Source/common/eqtime.cpp?view=markup). The header doesn't really help, but I did find this:
eqtime.cpp (http://eqemulator.cvs.sourceforge.net/eqemulator/EQEmuCVS/Source/common/eqtime.cpp?view=markup)
138 bool EQTime::saveFile(const char *filename)
139 {
140 ofstream of;
141 of.open(filename);
142 if(!of)
143 {
144 LogFile->write(EQEMuLog::Error, "EQTime::saveFile failed: Unable to open file '%s'", filename);
145 return false;
146 }
147 //Enable for debugging
148 //cout << "SAVE: day=" << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.day << ";hour=" << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.hour << ";min=" << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.minute << ";mon=" << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.month << ";yr=" << eqTime.start_eqtime.year << ";timet=" << eqTime.start_realtime << endl;
149 of << EQT_VERSION << endl;
150 of << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.day << endl;
151 of << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.hour << endl;
152 of << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.minute << endl;
153 of << (long)eqTime.start_eqtime.month << endl;
154 of << eqTime.start_eqtime.year << endl;
155 of << eqTime.start_realtime << endl;
156 of.close();
157 return true;
158 }
In short, this is the format of the eqtime.cfg file:
EQTime Version (should be 1000)
Day
Hour
Minute
Month
Year
Actual Time (Unix timestamp)
Actually, after diving into the forums, I actually found this post (http://eqemulator.net/forums/showthread.php?t=18171):
Quick EQ time tutorial:
/* The minutes range from 0 - 59 */
// The hours range from 1-24
// 1 = 1am
// 2 = 2am
// ...
// 23 = 11 pm
// 24 = 12 am
// The days range from 1-28
// The months range from 1-12
//year is just a number
format of eqtime.cfg:
version(1000)
day
hour
minute
month
year
unix_time
I did notice a few odd things with the time while seeing if all of the zones (which are all currently dynamic) keep the same time. I started out in cabeast, and the time was showing Sunday, January 01, 3100 - 9AM (9:35 am according to #time). I then zoned to tutorial and the time showed Friday, November 06, 3102 - 8PM (8:34 pm according to #time). When I zoned back to cabeast, the time corresponded with what I was seeing in cabeast, and same when I zoned back to tutorial. I'm not really sure what the deal is, but it seems like the zones are seeing the correct time.
I wonder if this means instead of using quest to handle spawn changes for different times of the day (http://www.eqemulator.net/forums/showthread.php?t=24122), if the spawn_events table (http://www.eqemulator.net/wiki/wikka.php?wakka=EQEmuDBSchemaspawnconditions) in the DB can actually be used.
Sabyre
03-25-2008, 09:11 AM
Any confirmation that the time is updated in the config file so that upon reboot all EQ time is not lost. Has anyone tested with static zones?
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.