PDA

View Full Version : Basic DB changes / I'm lost


RamsiMage
03-10-2008, 08:36 AM
Ok so I got my server up and running. I can log in, get exp, etc. I got my account GM flagged and started playing with some of the GM commands.

Now I want to make some basic changes to the DB and learn how to create a custom server. I guess the most basic would be EXP to 2x 3x etc.. After searching around, I found a line of code for the mysql> prompt and the GUI option for MySQL Server.

So I got MySQL Server 5.02 and the GUI tools installed. Open up MySQL Query Browser and connect to my DB. NP yet.

Inside I find on the right a list under the Schemata tab, included in that list is my DB called peq. I click on the "yellow oil barrel" called peq and it drops down a list of ??tables??. I scroll down to ZONE and right click EDIT TABLE.

Inside the table the first tab "Columns and Indices", I scroll down to ZONE_EXP_MULTIPLIER and change it to something crazy like 9.0 Click APPLY CHANGES and close MySQL. Start up the server and log in with a normal (non-gm) toon and kill a few things. No noticable changes.

I know there's another method of using mysql> prompt and typing in the change variable line, but I would much rather this method if its possible.

Thoughts?

Grawill.

trevius
03-10-2008, 08:55 AM
Try using Navicat. The interface is clean and easy to use and change. Setup instructions for it are in the Wiki.

Also, try using GeorgeS tools in the dev/tools section. They help make things much easier in almost all cases.

kiirdiir
03-10-2008, 10:20 AM
It looks like you tried to change the default value of a table.

Instead, try this:


Double left click the table. (This will place a command, similar to SELECT * FROM peq.zone z; in the execute box.)
Press the green 'Execute' button.
Toggle the 'Edit' button on the bottom.
Double left-click any field to edit.
Press 'Apply Changes' when you are finished.


Check out the (contents of the) 'variables' and 'rule_values' tables, too. Best of luck.

RamsiMage
03-10-2008, 10:45 AM
I got a hold of a full version of Navcat and it makes things super easy.

I'm gonna work a few things and see what I can do. My first two goals are exp mod and base run speed so gmspeed wont be necessary.

QUESTION:
If I make changes in the DB, most of the time, I wont need to reboot the server right?
If its a zone specific change (like exp mod for a specific zone) can I just reboot that zone?

Grawill

jnovo
03-11-2008, 08:36 AM
I think it depends. If you change anything in the Rules table, the server will have to be reset for the changes to take place..

As far as changes to the individual zones, I'm not 100% sure. I just got a server up and running myself this past week. I think a zone restart would suffice, because its not a server-wide change.


*Edit* I read somewhere, I think the release notes, that the variables table is being used less and less

trevius
03-11-2008, 12:16 PM
The only things I change that I am sure can be updated without a server restart are mob stats, and quests. You can use #questreload after you make a quest change in a zone to load the current quest changes into that zone. And if you change mob stats, you have to #repop for the changes to take effect.

If you create any new spawns or change the spawn2 tables, you will need to leave that zone and do a #zoneshutdown <zonename>

Other than that, most other changes require a reboot. If you edit items or change loot tables or rules or many other things, you have to reboot for the new changes to load when the server starts.