Log in

View Full Version : No one but me can log into my server


Cryptic_Nova
12-19-2008, 11:23 PM
I have recently set up a server...and I believe everything has been installed correctly. Me, and the people helping me test it are all using fresh installs of titanium that we purchased from the store a while back when they were released.

I have set the server up correctly, and everything checks out. I get no errors, I run it, and the server shows up on the server list.

I can log into it. I can make a character, I can run around and do anything I want to.

However, no one else can join. I have friends that try to come in, and after they choose "play everquest" it just pauses there for about 15 seconds, then boots them back to log in, once they log in again, the game gives them a message about needing to run the most recent update patch.

It's not an issue with their versions or anything, as they can log into most other servers fine, but not mine. And I can log into my server, and others.

I am using no firewalls, nor a router. I think it may be an issue with ports or something, or some kind of localhost loop.

Any suggestions that may lead to a solution are appreciated. Here is my config file:



<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>da</shortname>
<longname>DA-Test</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. (read: You don't) -->
<!-- <address>Some address</address>-->
<!-- <localaddress>localhost</localaddress> --> <!-- Loginserver information. Defaults shown -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Server status. Default is unlocked -->
<!--<locked/>-->
<!-- <unlocked/> -->

<!-- Sets the ip/port for the tcp connections. Both zones and console (if enabled). Defaults are shown -->
<tcp ip="localhost" port="9000" telnet="disable"/>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>some long random string</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. Defaults are shown -->
<http port="9080" enabled="false" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Chatserver (channels) information. Defaults shown -->
<chatserver>
<host>channels.eqemulator.net</host>
<port>7778</port>
</chatserver>

<!-- Mailserver (in-game mail) information. Defaults shown -->
<mailserver>
<host>channels.eqemulator.net</host>
<port>7779</port>
</mailserver>

<zones>
<defaultstatus>20</defaultstatus>

<!-- Sets port range for world to use to auto configure zones -->
<ports low="7000" high="7100"/>
</zones>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. Defaults shown -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>XXXX</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>

<!-- Launcher Configuration -->
<launcher>
<!-- <logprefix>logs/zone-</logprefix> -->
<!-- <logsuffix>.log</logsuffix> -->
<!-- <exe>zone.exe or ./zone</exe> -->
<!-- <timers restart="10000" reterminate="10000"> -->
</launcher>

<!-- File locations. Defaults shown -->
<files>
<!-- <spells>spells_us.txt</spells> -->
<!-- <opcodes>opcodes.conf</opcodes> -->
<!-- <logsettings>log.ini</logsettings> -->
<!-- <eqtime>eqtime.cfg</eqtime> -->
</files>
<!-- Directory locations. Defaults shown -->
<directories>
<!-- <maps>Maps</maps> -->
<!-- <quests>quests</quests> -->
<!-- <plugins>plugins</plugins> -->
</directories>
</server>

trevius
12-20-2008, 01:00 AM
You most likely have a port issue, or some other blocking causing your problem. If you are completely certain that you don't have any firewalls or blockers running on your PC (including windows built-in firewall), then your issue is probably with ports (most common cause of this).

If you are not using a router, then are you connecting directly to your modem, or are you somewhere that has a wireless network or a lan port on the wall that you plug into (like a college dorm or something)? If you aren't connected directly to your modem, then most likely you are going through a proxy and it is blocking the ports. If so, there isn't anything you can do about it.

jtcoyle
12-21-2008, 10:16 AM
I was having a similar problem. I loaded all the server stuff on a seperate computer than my titanium was loaded on.

I found a post that if one user is logging in and the host is set to localhost for that user, it locks the server and no one else can login.

This is my config file.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<server>
<world>
<shortname>Server 1</shortname>
<longname>A Test eqm server</longname>

<!-- address has to be specified for minilogin to work -->
<address>192.168.254.133</address>
<localaddress>192.168.254.133</localaddress>

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>Server 1</host>
<port>5999</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>sdgsdgsdgsdgsdgsdgsdgsdgsdgsdgsdgsdgsdg</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service -->
<http port="9080" enable="true" mimefile="mime.types"/>
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini -->
<database>
<host>192.168.254.133</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>XXXXXX</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>

</server>


You will now need to add an entry into your mysql user table. Create another root user with the host field set to your server's IP address.

Also make sure that you have added your friends accounts into the peq accout table adding their ip addresses into the host field.

Hope this helps. I am still having one issue regarding not being able to load my character because the traps will not load. If anyone has any suggestions to fix this, I would be much appreiciated for it.

Best regards

Joe

thrice_451
12-23-2008, 12:27 PM
I've removed almost everything from my config file. Here it is (you'll see that I removed almost everything. Try changing your http port enabled="true" instead of false. Also try putting a string for your <key></key> just in case.

Lastly, what does your root directory look like. I noticed in this build it has eqemu\default. Make sure you copy the files contained in eqemu\default\* to eqemu\*.
____________________________

<?xml version="1.0">
<server>
<world>
<shortname>serverwideda</shortname>
<longname>serverwide.da</longname>

<!-- Only specify these two if you really think you need to. -->
<!--<address>Serving Machines IP</address>-->
<!--<localaddress>127.0.0.1</localaddress>-->

<!-- Loginserver information. -->
<loginserver>
<host>eqemulator.net</host>
<port>5998</port>
<account></account>
<password></password>
</loginserver>

<!-- Sets the shared key used by zone/launcher to connect to world -->
<key>12315415315</key>

<!-- Enable and set the port for the HTTP service. -->
<http port="9080" enabled="true" mimefile="mime.types" />
</world>

<!-- Database configuration, replaces db.ini. -->
<database>
<host>localhost</host>
<port>3306</port>
<username>root</username>
<password>imahomo</password>
<db>peq</db>
</database>
</server>

trevius
12-23-2008, 12:34 PM
If traps aren't loading, that means you are running a different version of EQEmu code than what your database is at. You need to make sure to run the required SQL stuff if you haven't already. All of the new SQL stuff is stored in a file(s) that comes with the download.