Log in

View Full Version : EQ closes when zoning into Podisease


Randymarsh9
02-01-2009, 05:21 PM
When I will zone into plane of disease, the entire game will just shut down. This isn't good since podisease has custom content it. Then when I try to log back on, I will get disconnected right when I click enter world or enter tutorial.

Randymarsh9
02-01-2009, 05:28 PM
I had someone else try to zone in, and It did the same thing. Zone.exe says unable to find group id, char not found! and then disconnects them.

trevius
02-01-2009, 05:31 PM
Your zone must have something in it that causes the crash. Check your spawn IDs and make sure they aren't a number that is extremely high. If that isn't it, you should review all other custom changes you made and see if anything stands out when you compare it to another zone that works. You probably have something set to an ID that is out of range of the client/emu, or possibly a quest script that is causing a crash.

Randymarsh9
02-01-2009, 05:43 PM
I have one custom mob whose ID is 1215 and his quest is as follows. I think it might be his ID actually. I have been having problems with that zone since I spawned him.

#Gives an archtype specific item after killing Grummus, Gyrme, Aramin
sub EVENT_SAY {
if($text=~/Hail/i){
quest::say("There is nothing to be joyous about when speaking in a [land] such as this.");
}
if($text=~/land/i){
quest::emote("sighs deeply");
quest::say("This land, Plane of Disease, is a most sickening place. I wish nothing more than to have it annihilated. It's very existence makes me disgusted. Perhaps, you and some other adventurers will be able to [purify] this land forever.");
}
if($text=~/purify/i){
quest::say("There are three foul [beings] that reside here. I am certain that with them dead, no more filth will be able to survive here.");
}
if($text=~/beings/i){
quest::say("For the sake of Norrath, destroy Gryme the Crypt Guardian, Aramin the Spider Guardian, and finally kill Grummus. Bring to me an item that will prove they are dead.");
}
}

sub EVENT_ITEM {
if (plugin::check_handin(\%itemcount, 51624 => 1, 1563 => 1, 1568 => 1)){
quest::say("My mind can be at ease knowing those fiends are no more.");
quest::emote("pulls a gleaming weapon out of s bag.");
quest::say("Take this weapon. I am sure you will be able to make use of it.");
if($class eq 'Warrior'){quest::summonitem(1569);}
elsif($class eq 'Cleric'){quest::summonitem(1582);}
elsif($class eq 'Paladin'){quest::summonitem(1577);}
elsif($class eq 'Ranger'){quest::summonitem(1569);}
elsif($class eq 'Shadowknight'){quest::summonitem(1577);}
elsif($class eq 'Druid'){quest::summonitem(1582);}
elsif($class eq 'Monk'){quest::summonitem(1579);}
elsif($class eq 'Bard'){quest::summonitem(1569);}
elsif($class eq 'Rogue'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Shaman'){quest::summonitem(1582);}
elsif($class eq 'Necromancer'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Wizard'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Magician'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Enchanter'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Beastlord'){quest::summonitem(1579);}
elsif($class eq 'Berserker'){quest::summonitem(1577);}
}
}

leslamarch
02-01-2009, 05:52 PM
also while your looking, make sure you dont have any NPC with names that are really long.

Randymarsh9
02-01-2009, 06:06 PM
the only mob I added is named Vinius the Pure. Is it possible to change his ID to something else? I think that might be the problem

trevius
02-01-2009, 06:44 PM
Try deleteing the NPC from your database and see if that lets you zone in. If so, then the issue is with the NPC. I have heard of issues where NPCs that are named the same as a player can cause odd zone crashes for some reason. I don't know exactly what causes it, but I think Zeb may have had a similar problem with an NPC in their custom Kael zone. They had an NPC that spawned via a quest and everytime it would spawn, the zone would crash. The ID number you have for that spawn should be ok, unless it is a duplicate ID number. Your best bet would be to delete the NPC completely and create a new one either using the in game #spawn command or using GeorgeS NPC Loot Editor. If the problem happens again, maybe you should try renaming the NPC slightly and see if that helps.

Yeormom
02-01-2009, 07:12 PM
I have had this issue occur several times before. In my case, it has always been a quest trying to load which causes the crash.

trevius
02-01-2009, 07:18 PM
If that is the case, try renaming the quest file so that it doesn't load. If that corrects the problem, the only part of the quest I think may cause a problem is this part:

if($class eq 'Warrior'){quest::summonitem(1569);}
elsif($class eq 'Cleric'){quest::summonitem(1582);}
elsif($class eq 'Paladin'){quest::summonitem(1577);}
elsif($class eq 'Ranger'){quest::summonitem(1569);}
elsif($class eq 'Shadowknight'){quest::summonitem(1577);}
elsif($class eq 'Druid'){quest::summonitem(1582);}
elsif($class eq 'Monk'){quest::summonitem(1579);}
elsif($class eq 'Bard'){quest::summonitem(1569);}
elsif($class eq 'Rogue'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Shaman'){quest::summonitem(1582);}
elsif($class eq 'Necromancer'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Wizard'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Magician'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Enchanter'){quest::summonitem(1581);}
elsif($class eq 'Beastlord'){quest::summonitem(1579);}
elsif($class eq 'Berserker'){quest::summonitem(1577);}

Try removing that part from the quest and try using the quest again and see what happens. You can also turn more logging on by editing the log.ini file so you can see more info to help you catch the cause of the problem.

Randymarsh9
02-01-2009, 08:13 PM
Ok I deleted the NPC. After I deleted him, the zone loaded fine. I made a new NPC and just shortened his name and it worked. BTW what is wrong with the quest? I tried it and it isnt giving an item.