View Full Version : #advnpcspawn
jenco420
02-07-2009, 01:26 PM
I've been trying to figure out how to use this command to make use of roamboxes... But i have no idea how to get it to work. The wiki does'nt have anything on it either. Does anyone have any example on how to use this command?
Secrets
02-07-2009, 02:02 PM
It's basically a box.
min_x = west x location
min_y = south y location
max_x = east x location
max_y = north y location
dist = distance it will roam from where it randomly spawns
delay = time before the NPC switches into a random direction
to see an npc roam anywhere, #ai roambox when an NPC is targeted
hope that helps!
jenco420
02-07-2009, 02:38 PM
thanks, will try this out now :P
cavedude
02-07-2009, 05:48 PM
I have to admit I am having a bit of trouble with this as well. For whatever reason, I can't get the NPCs to load their roamboxes from the DB. #ai roambox works fine, but if I give them values in the DB, they just stand there. Is there a trick to it or did I make an error when I merged the code into SVN?
jenco420
02-08-2009, 02:36 AM
I got the roamboxes to work after i let the zone go down and restarted it after i set the npc to roam.
cavedude
02-08-2009, 03:33 PM
Well, at least I know it works.
I'll have to keep playing, even after a reboot the NPCs I assigned roamboxes to won't move. Oh well.
leslamarch
02-08-2009, 03:59 PM
I'm also not having any luck getting this to work, could someone be so generous as to tell me how they are doing this step-by-step? I would really appreciate any pointers you guys have to offer.
Thanks,
leslamarch
jenco420
02-08-2009, 04:19 PM
alright here is how i'm currently using it (nay not be the intended way ;p)
target the mob you want to randomly roam.
#advnpcspawn editgroupbox <spawngroupID> <dist> <max x> <<min x> <max y> <min y> <delay> (as described above by Secrets)
It gives me a message saying GroupID 0 being created. But i hav'nt played around with it much. Only the roamboxes.
<edit> I have to shut down the zone and reboot it to have the mob start roaming also.
I have also been unsuccesful spawning a mob with this command, but i'm sure it's something on my end :P Imma look at the tables this command uses and see if i can get a better understanding.
cavedude
02-08-2009, 04:51 PM
I've been editing the db directly, I'll have to see what the command does to the DB.
ChaosSlayer
02-08-2009, 04:54 PM
I am getting confused as hell by this new system
which DB table does roam box data stored in?
cavedude
02-08-2009, 05:06 PM
spawngroup:
mysql> describe spawngroup;
+-------------+-------------+------+-----+---------+----------------+
| Field | Type | Null | Key | Default | Extra |
+-------------+-------------+------+-----+---------+----------------+
| id | int(11) | NO | PRI | NULL | auto_increment |
| name | varchar(50) | NO | UNI | | |
| spawn_limit | tinyint(4) | NO | | 0 | |
| dist | float | NO | | 0 | |
| max_x | float | NO | | 0 | |
| min_x | float | NO | | 0 | |
| max_y | float | NO | | 0 | |
| min_y | float | NO | | 0 | |
| delay | int(11) | NO | | 0 | |
+-------------+-------------+------+-----+---------+----------------+
9 rows in set (0.03 sec)
jenco420
02-08-2009, 05:08 PM
it seems to be using the X,Y, as a loc for the npc to move there and just chill indefinitly, i'm even more confused now ><
the #ai roambox command seems to be working flawlessly tho, just would like to be able to save them correctly :P
ChaosSlayer
02-08-2009, 05:12 PM
spawngroup:
mysql> describe spawngroup
ah I see I thgout this was made into grid system, this clears a few things up... thanks!
trevius
02-08-2009, 05:47 PM
I know I have successfully used roamboxes. I used them for an event I was working on and they actually worked really well. That event isn't currently running on my server anymore though.
If I was to guess to what might be causing problems, I would think it could maybe be related to the timeleft field being moved into it's own table. I am not positive, but I think timeleft was a field in the spawngroup table. If so, maybe #advancespawn and the roamboxes stuff is failing because it is still looking for that field and not finding it. That is pure speculation though. I haven't done any research into it yet.
ChaosSlayer
02-16-2009, 02:13 AM
Ok I seem to have problem simular to what Cavedude is describing - I have entered data for roambox into DB spawngroup table - and nothing is happening. NPCs just sit there doing nothing.
I have zoned out and zone back in - do I have to fully restart the server for this to take effect?
BTW I still don't get what is the diffirence betwin: dist and delay:
dist - how far npc will travel
vs
delay - how long it will travel?
isn't it kind of same thing for the purpose of roaming around?
jenco420
02-16-2009, 09:54 AM
Ok I seem to have problem simular to what Cavedude is describing - I have entered data for roambox into DB spawngroup table - and nothing is happening. NPCs just sit there doing nothing.
I have zoned out and zone back in - do I have to fully restart the server for this to take effect?
BTW I still don't get what is the diffirence betwin: dist and delay:
dist - how far npc will travel
vs
delay - how long it will travel?
isn't it kind of same thing for the purpose of roaming around?
I had to fully restart my server to get them to start roaming.
cavedude
02-16-2009, 02:03 PM
I know I have successfully used roamboxes. I used them for an event I was working on and they actually worked really well. That event isn't currently running on my server anymore though.
If I was to guess to what might be causing problems, I would think it could maybe be related to the timeleft field being moved into it's own table. I am not positive, but I think timeleft was a field in the spawngroup table. If so, maybe #advancespawn and the roamboxes stuff is failing because it is still looking for that field and not finding it. That is pure speculation though. I haven't done any research into it yet.
That's a great thought. I'll give it a look now.
ChaosSlayer
02-17-2009, 12:14 AM
restarted the server - mobs still refuse to roam. :?
cavedude
02-18-2009, 07:01 PM
I figured it out. Neither dist nor delay can be 0. I've had delay set to 0 and that's what has been causing it to not function for me. (What threw me off is according to the AI command delay is optional.) Also, the spawnpoint must be within the roambox. If it isn't, then the NPC won't roam at all (I am guessing if the distance is further from the roambox than the dist DB value, it won't move) OR, the NPC will use the roambox coords as the spawnpoint and will move to that loc and sit.
dist is the number of clicks the NPC will move at a time.
delay is the amount of time the NPC will wait at each point before moving to the next. This appears to be in milliseconds, so 30000 = 30 seconds.
We need the ability to add some variance to delay at the least like we have for grids. I'll see about getting that and an option for a dist variance in as well.
ChaosSlayer
02-18-2009, 08:24 PM
we need to get George to fix his spawn editor to stop seting roam boxes values to 0 =P
And preferably add roambox values editin to his editor =)
cavedude
02-19-2009, 12:16 AM
Ah, I just use the PEQ PHP Editor. Though, I admittedly am a bit biased :)
ChaosSlayer
02-19-2009, 01:18 AM
Ah, I just use the PEQ PHP Editor. Though, I admittedly am a bit biased :)
well George tools set are very handy when you need to keeps lots of data from varios tables on the screen at once =)
I just hope he gets the setting to 0 errors fixed SOON =)
BTW about what you said before: we could use 2 additional collumns in roamboxes table:
delay_type:
0 - full delay
1 - half delay + random up to full delay
2 - random delay from 1 to delay specified
(just like in pause in grid)
and same for distance traveled:
dist_type:
0 - full distance
1 - half distance + random up to full
2 - random distance from 1 to full
so each mob inside a roambox can travel variable distance per trip and stop for variable pause.
Arcaan
02-19-2009, 02:43 PM
I know I have successfully used roamboxes. I used them for an event I was working on and they actually worked really well. That event isn't currently running on my server anymore though.
If I was to guess to what might be causing problems, I would think it could maybe be related to the timeleft field being moved into it's own table. I am not positive, but I think timeleft was a field in the spawngroup table. If so, maybe #advancespawn and the roamboxes stuff is failing because it is still looking for that field and not finding it. That is pure speculation though. I haven't done any research into it yet.
Ahhhhh the Turkeys...almost went insane
Dibalamin
04-23-2009, 09:23 PM
It's basically a box.
min_x = west x location
min_y = south y location
max_x = east x location
max_y = north y location
dist = distance it will roam from where it randomly spawns
delay = time before the NPC switches into a random direction
to see an npc roam anywhere, #ai roambox when an NPC is targeted
hope that helps!
Ok, I hate to disagree with someone that is proven to know more than me, but this isn't quite correct. Regardless of direction, the smaller number goes in the min. Took me almost 5 hours to figure out what was wrong with my roam boxes =o. Now, this may work with #advnpcspawn, but it doesn't work for direct DB editing.
Yeormom
07-02-2009, 01:25 AM
I figured it out. Neither dist nor delay can be 0. I've had delay set to 0 and that's what has been causing it to not function for me.
You win the prize for this note.
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.