View Full Version : Quick way to change starting zones with ALTER TABLE?
Dodie
06-15-2009, 01:34 PM
I Just to know these commands, been a wile...
I want to change the starting zone for everyrace to the same one...
Thanks!!
Dodie
06-22-2009, 07:02 PM
Anyone have a clue ? =(
Shendare
06-22-2009, 07:37 PM
If you wanted to set all races, classes, and selections to start in the same zone, it appears that you could use the following SQL command:
UPDATE start_zones SET zone_id=(Zone), x=(x), y=(y), z=(z), start_zone=(Zone), bind_x=(x), bind_y=(y), bind_z=(z);
Change (Zone), (x), (y), and (z) to the values you want to use. You don't need the parentheses.
Everyone would then start in the specified zone at the specified coordinates.
Apparently the zone and coords are in there twice so you can set a player to be bound by default to a location different from the actual starting location, so you don't get too many players popping into the same spot on log-in and death.
Dodie
06-22-2009, 07:53 PM
Ah, Thanks alot for your help :)
Shendare
06-22-2009, 07:55 PM
I recommend doing a little testing, since the meanings of the x, y, and z coordinates can be interpreted differently in different systems. They don't always match up with the order given in a /loc.
trevius
06-22-2009, 08:39 PM
/loc gives Y,X,Z and #loc gives X,Y,Z, so it is always best to use #loc IMO. But, keep in mind that /loc always only gives your location. The #loc command will give the location of your target if you have one and if not, it gives the loc of yourself. Basically, you just need to make sure you have the correct target when using #loc so you don't get bad info.
Capheus
06-22-2009, 10:08 PM
On Rev535 I edited the database as Shendare had mentioned. This did not matter. My start zone was always the tutorial zone until I edited the World:TutorialZoneID rule in the rule_values table. With the addition of SoF it appears that the start_zone table is now obsolete. Maybe it is working in later REV's, but not in 535.
Depending on what version you are running, you are going to want to look at these two rules in the rule-values table:
World:SoFStartZoneID
World:TutorialZoneID
Dodie
06-23-2009, 08:16 AM
On Rev535 I edited the database as Shendare had mentioned. This did not matter. My start zone was always the tutorial zone until I edited the World:TutorialZoneID rule in the rule_values table. With the addition of SoF it appears that the start_zone table is now obsolete. Maybe it is working in later REV's, but not in 535.
Depending on what version you are running, you are going to want to look at these two rules in the rule-values table:
World:SoFStartZoneID
World:TutorialZoneID
Yeah, I actully ran into these. Thanks for help guys.
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.